We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It's all we needed” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Copamarina Beach Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Copamarina Beach Resort to your Saves list
Copamarina Beach Resort
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   Rte 333 Km 6.5 | Caña Gorda Beach, Guanica 00653, Puerto Rico   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Stay 2 & the 3rd is Free
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Guanica
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Concord, NC
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
89 helpful votes 89 helpful votes
“It's all we needed”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2012

My wife and I just spent four days at Copamarina, along with my two young adult daughters, and had a great time. The resort has everything you need - great restaurants, a nice private beach, two pools, boats to the island. The rooms are roomy and clean, although a bit rustic. We had two Ocean Vifew rooms on the second floor, with a balcony, and everything was as we expected. The rooms are not soundproof, with bathroom windows to the breezeway, and connecting doors in most rooms, but this wasn't much of an issue for us. We were concerned about the beach after reading some negative comments on this site, but it is really quite nice with plenty of shade, and calm, shallow water. The public beach is within sight, and an easy walk, but why would you want to? We ate at both restaurants, and the only complaint would be that depending on the length of your stay, you will go through the menu at Las Palmas pretty quickly. Alexandras was outstanding, but unfortunately closed on Sundays. Service at the front desk, beach shop, bar and restaurants was friendly and helpful. We really don't have any complaints. We ventured out to Ponce, San German, and La Parguera, but were disappointed in all those places and just found ourselves wanting to be back at Copamarina. On a side note, if you are driving from San Juan to Guanica, don't miss the lechoneras in Guavate. This was one of our favorite experiences of the entire trip.

Room Tip: Ocean View on the second floor for a bit moer privacy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

966 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    478
    301
    116
    46
    25
See reviews for
277
362
19
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (179)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Juan, Puerto Rico
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2012

A perfect place to stay so you can disconnect and be without worries. Great dinning options. Beach and pool facilities.Less than 30m from Ponce or Mayaguez,but the place is so beautiful you would not like to go out. I will visit it again soon. Beautiful gardens,spa,gym and tennis court.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bayamon, Puerto Rico
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2012

Stayed for five days during a busy week. Rooms and bathrooms are big, clean and elegant. Sea view is excellent. LCD TV with satellite channels, but we never found a channel list. AC worked like a charm. WIFI available resort wide. Small fridge is a big plus but we missed a microwave. Patios and the beach-side landscaping are religiously maintained. Staff is friendly and polite. Food is excellent but pricey; Same with alcoholic beverages (there was no tropical beverages menu). Breakfast buffet is excellent (Luis is the best!). Guilligan Island trip is a must; fare charged is very reasonable. Pools and jacuzzis are available in the beachfront side for children (3' deep) and adults (6' deep). Live music each night in the Cafe, but just for relaxing; don't expect danceable or tropical music, even in the pools. You may find this in the Cafe during the day but sometimes they switch to quieter music genres like Jazz or Easy Listening. Parking spaces are available but limited; you may think it twice before considering going out to check other attractions. Check for the all-inclusive plans but keep in mind it doesn't include any alcoholic beverages.

Room Tip: Rooms from buildings 400 and 500 are quieter but far from reception desk and restaurants.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guaynabo, Puerto Rico
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2012

We just came back from a four-day stay at Copamarina. The last time we visited was around 1997.... we had wonderful memories of summer vacations there with our then-small children. We were not disappointed this time around! It retains its rustic charm and the views of the Caribbean Sea are lovely. The trip to Gilligan Island on the resort's ferry was very enjoyable. Although Gilligan was very crowded, it is well worth the visit. Lots of families enjoying the clear water and abundant marine life.
The resort is well kept and very clean. Service personnel were polite and always helpful. The food was excellent and the sangria and mojitos were great. Not inexpensive, but then again much better priced than at any hotel in Condado.

The manager was here, there and everywhere! We had the chance to meet him and he was very attentive and concerned with the quality of service for the guests.

There are quite a few sights to enjoy in nearby Yauco (Volkyland Museum) and San German (Porta Coeli, of course), but we recommend mostly staying close by and enjoying Copamarina. We will certainly go back and recommend it to our friends.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Jersey/NY
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2012

Taking the two hour drive from Bayamon and a break from visiting family, Copmarina is more than I expected. The drive down was really beautiful through the mountains. The ridiculously awesome rate that we got from a discount website was too good to pass up. We were not disappointed.

I don't have anything different to say than most travelers. The sand flys kept us (2 adults and a 3 yo) from the beach for a few hours, but the pool did the trick. The water was very calm which allowed our son to play at the waters edge w/o having to be knocked down by a wave. The water is grassy and shallow, not making for the best swimming experience - but not a deal breaker.

The restaurants are a bit pricey, but nothing more or less than you'd expect in San Juan. However, the food is much better. The service was great and the fish was fresh, coffee hot and banana pancakes - the best I've ever had. Town isn't too far with many fast food options and a Walgreens.

The rooms were clean, spacious with a patio area of table, chairs and lounge chair.

The resort does offer all inclusive, but without alcoholic beverages. (What's the point?) Beach waitress services were available, but we're hit or miss. I only saw them twice.

There is a public beach down the road, but crowds are non existent during the week. We've been to Gilligans Island a couple of years ago and didn't feel the need to go back.

Next time we'll bring more people to enjoy the solitude that Copamarina provided us for a couple of days.

Room Tip: Request a room closer to the villas if you want to be closer to the pool. First floor allows you to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2012

I just took my family to the copamarina last week for a short vacation and all I can say is "WAO". We stayed at copamarina four nights and i can not think of anything negative that happend while we were there. The staff was great and very friendly, the rooms are very clean and the view is priceless. The kids fell in love with the place and asked if we can go every year. I can honestly say, that was the best vacation we ever had!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham,AL
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2012

Spent 3 nights on a Destination Wedding weekend at he Copamarina. Had a great time, the staff was very friendly and helpful, the rooms well appointed and clean, the food very nice and the grounds very well kept. The wedding was on the grounds in front of the beach at sunset and the reception that followed on a private reception area on the grounds. I highly recommend it for a family reunion or wedding or just as a relxing getaway.

Room Tip: Rooms on the second floor have a nicer view of the ocean since the trees don't block the view an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Copamarina Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Copamarina Beach Resort

Address: Rte 333 Km 6.5 | Caña Gorda Beach, Guanica 00653, Puerto Rico
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > Guanica
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Guanica
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Copamarina Beach Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 106
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
On Puerto Rico's undiscovered Southwestern coast is one of the Island's best-kept secrets. This beautifully landscaped, 20-acre tropical resort is situated on an isolated 3/4 mile crescent of Caribbean beachfront. The resort offers the finest in relaxation, dining, diving, sailing and eco-tourist wonders to create the perfect vacation experience. All inclusive package available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Caribbean Online Mgt Corp., Orbitz, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Copamarina Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Copamarina Beach Hotel Guanica
Copamarina Beach Resort All Inclusive
Copamarina Beach Resort Puerto Rico/Guanica

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Copamarina Beach Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.