We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A wonderful escape from the big smoke of London town” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Pacifae Golden Village

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Pacifae Golden Village to your Saves list
Pacifae Golden Village
3.0 of 5 Small Hotel   |   along Mounda Bay, Katelios 28082, Greece (Formerly Doumas Hotel)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 7 Katelios B&B and Inns
London, United Kingdom
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“A wonderful escape from the big smoke of London town”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2012

My boyfriend and I spent 2 weeks at the Pacifae in August and had the most wonderful time. We both have very hectic jobs in London and wanted to escape to somewhere quiet for a long awaited break - our only requirements were to have a quiet beach, good fresh and local food and a pool ( no big resort, English bars or Chinese restaurants) and a self imposed no phone, blackberry or Facebook rule.

The Pacifae was all that we could have hoped for. Sakis and his family were wonderful hosts and really made us feel at home. We spent most days lying by the pool, playing chess and enjoying the home cooked food and cold beer. We stayed in one of the self catering bungalows which was basic but cleaned daily and quite acceptable (who spends anytime inside when you are somewhere as hot as Greece?) and as for the aircon we are not fans as its cold enough in England but it is available if you want it. We didn't hire a car but made use of the local cab and water taxis service to Skala on a couple of occasions but really only to get cash as we preferred the quiet life of Katelios. We also took a trip to Ithaka but be warned it is a 2 hour transfer both ways to the ferrry and by the end of the day we had had enough of sitting on a coach.

Make no mistake, life is quiet in Katelios, so this isn't the place for anyone looking for loud night life, shopping malls, or the dreaded Golden Arches but it is ideal for anyone, like us, who wants to escape and properly chill out.

We tried pretty much all the taverna's on the sea front and the fresh fish was superb. Persa's, just down the hill from Pacifae, was also great. There is also a fantastic little beach bar in the middle of the 'strip' run by the wonderful Dinos who now knows how to make a mean Espresso Martini!

Pacifae is about a 15/20 minute leisurely walk to the beach and main village but this didn't bother us at all - I guess it just depends on what suits you and how averse you are to a little light exercise.

We had a really wonderful time in Katelios and are definitely going to stay at Pacifae again. I really can't understand some of the negative comments that have been posted by other reviewers - I guess we always expect to be treated by others as we treat them, and we hit it off with Sakis and his family strait away...

And as for the gardens - it was 40 degrees when we were there and wild fires were a daily occurrence. If you want manicured gardens and lush grass maybe this isn't the place for you but it is traditional Greece and for us it was just perfect

Thank you Sakis and sorry it's taken us so long to post this review :-)

Best wishes Naomi and Danny xxx

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

152 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    91
    40
    12
    5
    4
See reviews for
45
71
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
Felpham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2012

We returned early September after a two week stay. After reading the good reviews we were expecting something special that expectation dissolved away as soon as we arrived. No friendly welcome like others have described but a blunt "sit down". This was our first introduction to the owner we were then called into the bar to be checked in by Sakis, the miserable son. He showed us up to our room on the 1st floor, put the key in the door and told us "this is not your room" asked him to explain and he said our room was not available and anyway, this room is better it has a extra bed I said we have specifically booked a double room with double bed he said if you don't like it you can have the room downstairs which is a twin! He then added if you take this room with the double bed I may have to move you into a twin bedroom later. We took the double unpacked and then started to look for the safety deposit box which didn't exist. I had previously emailed him to ask if there were safety deposit boxes in the rooms and he assured me they were in all rooms.
First night after travelling we decided to eat there and try out the "owners restaurant" father served us and offered us chicken or pork souvlaki and if we didn't like that spaghetti bolognese. No menu!
Food ok nothing to write home about. Not a great start to our holiday.
Breakfast was boring and badly organised, one table with everything on it but nowhere to put your plate while you tried to select what you wanted not that there was a lot of choice, nowhere to put your cup down to make tea or coffee.
Olympic described this place as having lush gardens as you will see from the photos attached, not true. It looked like scrub land and majority of plants dead & withered not looked after at all.
The father and son lived up to their reputation (see previous posts) and were the most unfriendly hosts we have ever met in 23 years of travelling the Greek Islands.
To put the records straight the distance down to the beach and tavernas is 1.3km not 800m, so a return trip is 1,6 miles, I measured it in the hire car.
We met up with two other couples who felt exactly the same as us so cannot understand why this place keeps getting good reviews!
Katelios is nice quiet little place but because of the atmosphere of this hotel our holiday was disappointing.
Would not recommend it and wouldn't return in a million years.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
familydoumas, General Manager at Pacifae Golden Village, responded to this review, September 30, 2012
Dear guest,
thank you for your review but you are lying,and i dont understand why there is so much hate.
Before you see the room that you stayed i asked you to decide what you prefered so you stayed happy.
I personally told you that there is double room on the ground floor with double bed not single as you described or a triple room much bigger than the one you booked without extra charge an with much better sea view,since its higher.
i told you that because you stayed for two weeks the second week might be a change to move you in your normal room in case i receive a reservation for this room since it was much more expensive and it was the last room i had.
you talked with your partner and you told me it is okay we will stay here since it is much spacier and bigger and thank you very much.you stayed there for two weeks without nobody cause you problem and i think you should thank instead of writing bad words here.
Its very bad that some people write and wait to go home to ask for money back or write bad reviews in case they think there is a problem and they dont solve it anyway,i am talking about the safety boxes.you could have asked where is the safety box?since you have asked as you said in a previous emal and then i would have tell you that because the place and the island is very safe and we never had a problem all those years,we have them on request now.i could give you one and for free if you have asked like others did.
About the food,there was no restaurant here for this year,thats why there was no hb option.
The Food we have every evening is one or two greek specials or even more... in the oven,catsarole etc and the grill that has 6-7 choices.plus the salads snack etc.
Taking consideration that everything you eat here is always fresh and that might take some more time to be cooked you see why there was no menu/limited choices,we dont like the idea of a restaurant that they might have food for many days and serve it because somebody want that specific food..sorry if the meal we have is not made the same day i will not serve it..thats is why you see many people leave here so many good comments because they know how to appreciate things and because we say the truth either it is about food either it is about rooms or weather or something..it seem you havent appreciate that i tried to put you in a high floor room for free either that that the food was super and fresh..yes every summer loads of people are coming here and somebody will leave a bad review,you are the first for this season.i am sorry bad 30 positive comments this year and one negative it means something since you talk personally about me being miserable and i am feeling very bad now that people are here pretend everything is fine,keeping their thoughts inside them and when they go back they write the worst things they can.you even put low score about the cleaning ...even people that put 3 stars score this year they all say everything was very clean.
anyway thank you for your opinion but you are overreacting and next time please state the whole subject as it is.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Globetrotter
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2012 via mobile

We stayed here during the final week of September 2012 and consequently the hotel was no more than half full. We had booked a 'suite' which had a large livid area, fridge and two balconies with sea view. The room was spotlessly clean, and there was never trouble getting a sun bed round the pool. Towels were replaced daily and the cleaners seemed to take great pride in making the room nice each day.

The hotel is owned and run by a Greek family for whom nothing was too much trouble. On the slight downside, breakfast whilst adequate, could have had more variety and sometimes we had to ask for more boiled eggs, but not a major problem inthe grand scheme of things. Also there was little inthe way of entertainment at the hotel in the evenings, which perhaps reflected that it was end of season.

Katelios itself is a quiet but charming little resort with a handful of excellent local tavernas that specialise in good quality local seafood and traditional Greek dishes at fair prices. The resort itselfnis quiet and whilst not the best, the beach is perfectly adequate although better beaches can be found elsewhere on the island. We hired a car for the week which proved to be good value and cheaper than pre paying for airport transfers. The roads are quiet and driving roundthe island at our own pace suited us better than a coach tour. Fiskardo in the north is well worth a look as is Myrtos beach, whilst in general the scenery in kefalonia is lovely and for this reason alone the island is worth exploring.

Mich quieter than other Greek islands we have visited, but if all you want is a quiet week to relax and get away from it all this is a great choice, especially as the weather is so good late in September

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
familydoumas, Manager at Pacifae Golden Village, responded to this review, November 2, 2012
Hello,thank you for your review.
For year 2013 we will have some new stuff and better organised.
Half board,will be possible.
Some evening greek nights,new gardens,AIR CON FREE TO ALL ROOMS AND FOR ALL COMPANIES,new furniture on the bb and sc rooms.
Thank you and if you need something please ask,at the reception.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enfield, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2012

Our second visit to Pacifae in August and again we felt like we were part of the family!!! We had everything we needed and ate most evenings in the restaurant. I agree with some other reviews that Jerry Elliniko is overated and we preferred Persas.
I would recommend a hire car as Kefalonia is a beautiful island to explore.
For a quiet relaxing holiday with lovely hosts, go to Pacifae

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Battle, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012

A fabulous safe and happy family run hotel, where nothing was too much trouble!! Mum is at the helm with her two sons and is a real character. The hotel has been refurbished and everywhere is lovely and clean. It has beautiful views across to the sea but is up a slight hill 0.5km away from the restaurants and beach. There was cooked omelette or eggs for breakfast with the usual array of ham, cheese fruit, yoghourt and cake. Meals were available in the evening but we preferred to walk to the stunning fish restaurants on the front. There is a beautiful 3km sandy beach which can be driven to by road but we walked to the front and climbed the rocky path each day to reach it. We also on two occasions walk around the coast to Skala but there are some tricky areas to negotiate on route, so shoes with some grip are required. Alternatively the water taxi does a daily return trip there. Be aware that there are no ATM machines in Katelios, the nearest one being in Skala (7km) and there is a preference for cash in the current climate. Car hire is reasonable, we hired a jeep for 60 euros per day. The island is absolutely stunning and very unspoilt and the beaches clean and safe. The one small downside is that the air conditioning is advertised in the information but actually costs 7 euros per day, and this was advised by email at the last minute.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012

We have just recently arrived back from a 7 day trip to Katelios, staying at The Pacifae Golden Village and can say this is an average to good hotel. When we arrived, we were greeted by one of the owners, who showed us to our room. On booking, we were under the impression that there was a safe in the room, or a safety deposit box? This was not case and the owner did not seem bothered, or concerned that we wanted to protect our valuables. The first room they gave us, was on the ground floor and the blind would not stay up, although the room was very clean and had a kettle. The next day, they moved us to an up floor room, which was better, but no rooms have safes! You also have to pay 7 euros per a.c. unit, per day. I understand that most hotels in the greek islands charge for air conditioning. Moving on, the breakfast was average for me, not a huge selection, but will suit a lot of people. Another thing, if you are going on a tour before 8am, you will not be able to have breakfast and the owner was reluctant to let you have breakfast before then. They open at 8am for breakfast. I think they should let you have something to eat, as after all you have already paid for it. The swimming pool is huge and quite nice but very cold! Not really practical for children, although there is a small area that is very shallow for small ones! The village is set in a very lovely area and the surroundings are very pleasing to the eye, with the sea in view. Please also be aware that this is not the place if you have difficulty in walking. You may require a car, especially to venture around and it is safer than walking along the roads. The area has some nice Tavernas, one we really loved: Persas, which had an extensive menu and they were really friendly. They have a waterfall in the grounds, which is very nice. We also went to a bar, called Mythos, which is very nice and the staff are lovely. I would like to stress, I only speak as I find and I didn't find the owners of the golden village that friendly, almost as if they did not want you there. May be it is because it is near the end of the season. However, they did change our room, on the second day, without us asking. Going back to the rooms, there are very clean and serviced to a very good standard. The sheets were changed nearly every day. The towels were changed too! The beaches: Katelios and Skala are not as clean as I have experienced in other countries, or any of the Greek Islands I have visited. I did love Kefalonia though. We had a good trip around the island which was very interesting, with a wonderful and knowledgeable guide. Please visit Zakynthos, if you are starying in Kefalonia. It is a boat ride away. I holidayed there last year and preferred it to Kefalonia. But, like I say everyone is different and Kefalonia is a beautiful and colourful island. Bon voyage! Lisa Marie and family

Room Tip: It is best to book an apartment, if available. Higher floors are better there.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
familydoumas, Manager at Pacifae Golden Village, responded to this review, November 2, 2012
Hello,
i dont agree to your response specially about the breakfast but everybody has their personal opinion.
I wanted to let everyone know that all air-conditions will be free of charge for all companies and tour aperators for year 2013.
Also there will be new gardens and much better furniture in most bb and sc rooms.
thank you all
and be well
sakis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012 via mobile

My boyfriend and I stayed here for two weeks in August/Sept 2012. We came back totally recharged and chilled out. The family who run the place are lovely. It's a beautiful view from the hotel plot (we had a sea view) and there is a lovey feeling of space around the pool (it's not all crammed in like some other hotels on the same road). It's by a road but it's very quiet and it takes no more than 10 minutes to walk to the beach (very gentle slope) and the town centre. There's a mini mart 5 mins away in the same direction. We went to quite a few beaches and decided that katelios beach (if you turn left when you reach fhe beach from the main road into town) is one of the nicest we went to. The food around the pool is great for lunch. We had a really lovely time and we'd definitely go back if we went to katelios again.

The only issue we had was that we were told by our operator (co-op) that air con was included. In the summer moths you definitely need it! But it's only 7 euros a night.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Pacifae Golden Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pacifae Golden Village

Address: along Mounda Bay, Katelios 28082, Greece (Formerly Doumas Hotel)
Location: Greece > Ionian Islands > Cephalonia > Katelios
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Katelios
Hotel Class:3 star — Pacifae Golden Village 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Venere, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Pacifae Golden Village reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pacifae Golden Village Hotel Katelios

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pacifae Golden Village, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.