We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly hotel and peaceful” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Magnolia Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added The Magnolia Resort to your Saves list
The Magnolia Resort
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   The Magnolia Resort | Katelios, Katelios 28082, Greece   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Katelios
Darlington
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Friendly hotel and peaceful”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2013

My husband and I have just returned back from a lovely holiday at the magnolia. The owner was there to greet us and they were always around if you needed to speak to them. The hotel, pool and rooms were spotlessly clean. There was a lift to the 1st floor and where the steps were, the floor was none slip especially around the pool area. There was only one thing that was abit misleading. In the brochure it said that there was tea and coffee making facilities. So we thought ,(that's great) Tea every morning when we get up in the morning. WRONG. They only provide tea and coffee for the 1st night. After that you have to supply your own. Good job I took my own tea bags.

Room Tip: All the rooms are equally as good. All rooms face away from the pool so it is quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

341 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    275
    48
    12
    4
    2
See reviews for
19
267
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (134)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cheshire
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

We were warmly greeted by Nota then taken to our room by Julia, who explained all the amenities to us.
No door keys needed, no charge for the safe or air-con but the biggest *plus* for us, as far as the room was concerned, were the fly screens !
No worries about pesky insects creeping or flying into the room......not that we saw any outside of the room either !
The pool, loungers and pool bar were delightful...although, on a minor note,
flowers and potted trees / plants could have added colour.
All staff were very friendly and happy to chat.
Hollis and the Filoxenia evening were fantastic and a real must-do !
If you look up the meaning of filoxenia it will tell you exactly what the owners of this hotel feel about the Magnolia
Katelios is a lovely Greek village and the food at the local taverns is delicious.
.......if you're still pondering about booking a holiday at the Magnolia Resort, ponder no more.....book it now ;)

Room Tip: All rooms face away from the pool area ensuring a private feel to your balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridgeshire
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

We stayed last week of June & first week of July, traveling with Thomas Cook. Private taxi transport meant we had a quick and hassle free transfer from the airport. Weather was great - and not so hot to be unbearable. The hotel lived up to our expectations; a lot of thought went into the design and the overall finish of the buildings and fittings is first class. Our ‘standard’ rooms were really comfortable and beautifully decorated. As previously mentioned the air conditioning, mosquito screens and key coded doors all helped make the stay relaxing. The maids work hard to maintain high standards and it’s a pleasure to return to find a spotless room with fresh towels and clean sheets. This was our first holiday in Greece and so we probably didn’t actually appreciate the “bathroom plumbing” as much as we should have– plentiful hot water and flush toilets just like at home  I think it deserves its 4* rating.
The pool area is spacious and well equipped -plenty of good quality sunbeds and umbrellas so you don’t need to worry about trying to reserve beds (even when the hotel is full!). We appreciated the pool towel service - changed as and when you need. Do remember to bring you own beach towels as you shouldn’t take the pool towels off site.
The atmosphere is very relaxed and the family who own the property really do try to make guests feel welcome.
Most reviews mention the staff who are all really good and do their best to ensure everyone has a good holiday. Few have mentioned Pavlos who works tirelessly in the restaurant? He was friendly, professional, witty and a huge asset to the Magnolia – he has an amazingly positive attitude and speaks near perfect English. We all thought he was fantastic and certainly helped make our holiday so memorable.

As we were traveling with our 2 grown up daughters we had chosen half board basis which worked well for us whereas the majority of guests seem to opt for B&B. The Restaurant looks over the pool and has opening glass walls which were ideal – you can choose to eat alfresco or inside.
Breakfast was simple but plentiful and the staff always trying to please – what was lacking was fresh fruit? We had initially wondered if there was a shortage on the island – but that isn’t the case. The hotel will provide an individual fruit basket pre ordered but for additional cost.
Quality of food in the restaurant was very good, homemade and tasty – the only comment would be that on a half board basis a little more choice would have been welcome and additional charges for bread and butter or a scoop of ice-cream seemed unnecessary? The desert choice was limited but tasty – probably not a problem for a 7 night stay but a challenge for 14 nights. The 'live music' night hosted on Friday evening was a huge success – very reasonably priced at 14Euros per couple with salad/garlic bread followed by either a fish or meat platter ( both of which were excellent!¬)
The bar area is tastefully decorated and happy hour was ever popular – although it actually covered limited drinks each evening. Local wine and beer is really good and reasonably priced.
We took one organised coach trip of the island which was good value and then hired a car for 3 days – we recommend that you do as the island is easy to navigate and well worth exploring.
I was one of the few guests who made use of the gym? Adequate equipment considering the size of the property and mostly I had the space to myself.

Top tips include:-
Try the milkshakes in the bar during the daytime – they are AMAZING and certainly owe something to the Canadian influence of the owners!
Do bring supplies of tea, coffee, toiletries and sun products ( the latter seemed to be significantly more expensive than in the UK).
The local supermarket is small but well stocked and the room fridge large enough for milk, water and drinks.
The entertainment programme is limited but we thoroughly enjoyed each of the ones we attended
This is a peaceful and calm hotel – perfect for reading and relaxing – do not expect lots to do!
We had an excellent holiday at the Magnolia and would highly recommend it!

Room Tip: All of the rooms seemed to be of excellent quality :-)
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Consett, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2013

We have just returned from a two week stay at the Magnolia Resort, and have thoroughly enjoyed the whole experience. When we arrived we were welcomed by Ektor and other members of the family and immediately felt at home.Our suitcases were taken to our room and we were given a clear explanation of how the safe, door key pad, air conditioning etc worked. Incidentally there was no local charge for the safe or the air conditioning.
Throughout our holiday the family were around at all times of the day, never intrusive but always ready to give you a wave or engage in conversation. The whole resort is extremely clean and well decorated, the pool area spacious and never any problem finding a sunbed.
We were there on Bed & Breakfast basis but had a few evening meals in the restaurant, these were well presented & very tasty. All of the staff in the resort were courteous, polite and very hard working. We enjoyed walks in the lanes around the hotel and once again the family were most helpful in directing us.
We have thoroughly enjoyed our holiday and hope to return again soon.
Val & Jeff P

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunholme, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

We stayed at the Magnolia from 15-25 Jun and had a fantastic holiday. We loved the hotel, room, resort, weather and we were made to feel totally at home and comfortable the whole time. The family and staff were fantastic and ready to do everything they could to make the whole experience trouble free and for that and the friendship they built up with us we thank them.
Dependent on what you are looking for, It is an ideal place for totally relaxing, enjoying the evenings either in the hotel or down by the beach, or hiring a car and exploring the island and doing whatever you want to do - we will be back.
Can't praise it enough - but hey keep it quiet as we need to make sure it stays just as it is!!
Sue & Steve - Lincolnshire Poacher.

Room Tip: upgrade if you can, we enjoyed the treats everyday
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

My partner and I are just back from a 2 week stay at The Magnolia Resort, and could not be happier. The fantastic service started before we even arrived. I had emailed the hotel with a couple of questions and was really not expecting much if any of a reply. But instead I got a response very quickly with some very honest answers.

When we did arrive at the hotel we were met at the front door by Ektor who brought us to our room and explained how everything worked. The room was bright, airy and lovely size. The beds are comfortable, the air con was a god send and free! Plus the hotel has modern plumbing which is Greece is very uncommon.

The pool was lovely with plenty of sun beds and umbrellas . The pool bar serves lovely lunches and ice cold drinks. The restaurant at night serves lovely food although we did eat out most nights as it would be a shame to go somewhere so stunning and not leave the hotel.

All in all we loved it and will be returning!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2013

We were at the Magnolia between 18-27 June, and we have to say that it was even better than we thought it would be. Total relaxation, comfortable rooms and well worth the 4 star rating. Ektor met us at the reception and took our bags to the room whilst we had a drink at the bar. Great service which continued throughout the entire holiday. The rooms are spotless and tastefully decorated. The showers are amazing and after a hot day around the pool or returning from the beach, they are a very welcome sight. Ektor has really got the place just right. He knows that people go to Katelios for relaxation, great food and friendly people. The hotel adds a bit of class and comfort, but remains very Greek. It is also child free, which is simply fantastic as there's no screaming, shouting, crying etc to upset your holiday. It's just a shame that there's no adult only flights to Kefalonia. We would definitely pay for that privilege! The pool area is lovely and the bar is pretty well stocked. We couldn't wait for happy hour as Ektor and the guys would create cocktails for you at 4.5 euros each. We didn't have an evening meal there as we like to get out and about. I did hear from other guests that the meals were excellent though. The breakfast was fine. We aren't big breakfast eaters on holiday so the bacon, eggs, cereal etc provided was ok. If you want a relaxing stay in a small, modern family run hotel with a bit of class then this is your place to go. If you want Bingo, karaoke and all that Benidorm rubbish then stay away, and stay away from Kefalonia please. Ektor you are a star and we will see you next year mate. Ps I hope you are looking after Tracey and Rob :)

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Magnolia Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Magnolia Resort

Address: The Magnolia Resort | Katelios, Katelios 28082, Greece
Location: Greece > Ionian Islands > Cephalonia > Katelios
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Katelios
Hotel Class:4 star — The Magnolia Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Magnolia Hotel provides 4 star luxury and comfort at reasonable room rates. We have 50 rooms modern rooms, that have just recently been designed and built. Each and every room has air conditioned comfort, the security of a safe, the convenience of access to wifi internet, and television. Spacious bathrooms with many amenities, Large balconies to enjoy the glorious weather that is Greece. Clean rooms are not the option but are the norm. A beautiful pool awaits you in the center of the hotel, beyond simple beauty this pool is large and functional, as a kids pool is available. Easy access to a well stocked and stylish bar is just steps from the pool area; A few more steps and you will be enticed by the delicacies prepared at the rosebud bistro. The Rosebud Bistro is staffed by a trained Chef and his staff. The amenities, facilities, and aesthetics of Magnolia resort rival anything any other 4 star hotel may offer in the Mediterranean, what will set Magnolia apart for her guest is the attention given to customer care. The Stroutzas family has been in the boutique hotel business for over a decade, and has been in customer service for over 30 years. We want to make your stay pleasurable, and to leave you with great memories. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA and Despegar.com so you can book your The Magnolia Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Magnolia Hotel Katelios

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Magnolia Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.