We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Magnolia Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added The Magnolia Resort to your Saves list
The Magnolia Resort
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   The Magnolia Resort | Katelios, Katelios 28082, Greece   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Katelios
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Fantastic”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2012

We stayed here last summer ( June 2011) and it is fantastic, and the facilities and area were top notch as was the location. The food on site was cheap (apart from dinner) however it was all cooked to perfection. As a suprise for my birthday the hotel provided a cake free of charge as a gift. Will 100% be going back.

The hotels owners are all lovely people and rely connect with their guests, we even got to meet their dog Zeus who was a real cutie.

If you are looking for some R and R in a quiet tranquil location here is the place to go, it is a fair walk to the beach, however it is walkable but dont let this take the shine of a wonderful place

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

342 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    275
    48
    12
    4
    3
See reviews for
19
268
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (134)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dorset
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
78 helpful votes 78 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2012

We stayed here in the middle of August and had a wonderfully relaxing stay. All the positive comments left by previous contributors are fully justified so no real need to add any more except to say that the family who own and run the hotel are the most charming and helpful hoteliers I have ever come across, it is true to say that nothing is too much trouble.
It would improve the breakfast if there was fresh fruit on offer but that is only a minor quibble. It should also be noted that although there are tea making facilities in the rooms the hotel only supplies a couple of tea bags/sugar for arrival, after that you need to supply your own, but is is a bonus to have the facilities at all, most Greek hotels don't. As for the comment left by one contributor that you need to reserve a sun bed, we did not have any trouble getting a sunbed, whatever time of day it was (and this was in peak season).
As mentioned in other reviews the hotel restaurant is excellent with prices probably slightly lower that local tavernas. Again this hotel is different to most hotels in that they offer genuine Greek food with a good choice of starters and main courses. There are no menus in the room and they didn't leave any menus on display so you do need to 'seek' out a menu so that you can see what they have to offer, I think some guests didn't realise what was on offer.
There are about half a dozen tavernas in Katelios, we particularly liked Persas and Blue Sea.
We hired a pre-booked car from the airport and we were glad we did as some guests who waited until they got to the resort found there were no cars available for a few days. A hire car is a must if you want to see the island although there is a tour company in Katelios called Panem who arrange excursions, we particularly recommend the tour to Ithaca, although it does mean a 7am start. Incidently if you ask the hotel they will supply a buffet breakfast to have in your room.
We would love to go back someday, even though the hotel has only been open 2 years we met some guests who were on their 3rd visit.
Katelios is a very quiet village and except for the occasional Greek or quiz night the hotel doesn't put on any entertainment so it mainly appeals to couples.

Room Tip: Room are arranged in 3 blocks around the pool, mainly 2 floors. Block 1 faces the mountains and is w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salisbury, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2012

A beautiful room with lovely mod cons and attention to detail and a beautiful relaxing resort. We have never stayed in such a lovely room in Greece.The only thing that was not four star about this hotel was the bed (which was very hard) and the breakfast which was a real shame. Hector - please sort that out and we will be back! Tinned fruit and sliced bread is not a four star experience (depsite the cooked eggs and bacon). Otherwise, a lovey place with a few lovely tavernas down the road which we really enjoyed. Definitely a couples holiday - don't take your kids!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2012

We loved this place so much! Ideal for that much needed cheeky week away from it all for a bit of R&R but with the luxury and extra little touches that come as standard. The atmosphere is more 'chic boutique' than a resort as it only has about 50 rooms and most guests are couples. The welcome from Alex and Young Alex was fantastic - their parents should be very proud of these two very likeable and polite young men. Everything is stylish and understated and a real oasis of calm and tranquility. The family work tirelessly to keep it that way. Such a pleasant suprise to have very efficient A/c included at no extra cost, mini fridge AND tea & Coffee facilities in the room. Furnishing are of a high standard - although there was no bath, the walk in shower was more than adequate. The one an only down side was the bed - uncomfortably very firm, if this could be addressed this place would be heaven on earth! Looking forward the the next part of the hotels development - corner suite altready earmarked for our next visit!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cumbria
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012

The hotel is inviting and looks beautiful. The rooms do look like the website/brochure photos! They have great amenities in the room including a door locking keypad mechanism which means no keys or keycards need to be carried around. A fridge/kettle/hairdryer/aircon/electric window shutters etc. Felt like home from home and joy of joys you can flush paper down the toilet - a bonus in Greece! The family who run the hotel and their staff have created a lovely atmosphere, we felt welcomed and they were very helpful and informative regarding the island/car hire etc. Food was lovely. A very relaxing holiday. The tavernas in katelios are also great to eat at and soak up some of the greek atmosphere. There are a few local buses/trips but if you hire a car it is an easier way to see the beauty of the island. Would definately recommend the hotel.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exeter, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012

The Magnolia resort was amazing. We will be returning! It was a tranquil peaceful retreat. Great for couples wanting to relax like us.

When we arrived the owner warmly welcomed us and a couple returning guest on our transfer told us how lovely it is. The facilities were brilliant. The staff (family run) were so friendly- we felt so welcome.

The resort rooms were excellent, just as advertised! Elegant and stylish. I loved the overhead shower. Luxury! The aircon was effective- had a sleep mode which was quiet at nighttime.

The resorts food was the best Greek food we've ever had! Large varied menu, very affordable. The breakfast includes lush bacon and scrambled egg and beans alongside continental. Showing that they have responded to customer feedback.

The location is excellent. Close to a lovely quaint beach with taverners. We made use of the water taxi, with a friendly captain, to Skala for shops. The beach extends to a quieter one if you want the ultimate relaxation experience; the sea was beautiful for swimming.

One more thing to mention, we found Jerry's garden restaurant in Katelious did the most amazing food, (especially liked the Beef bekri mezze). We will be returning and we will strongly recommend this resort.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2012

From start to finish we enjoyed our holiday here, the family run hotel is just perfect. They work so hard to make your stay perfect and my goodness they succeed. The rooms are the best you could wish for with AC/ safe/ fridge all as standard. Very comfy beds and the shower had two options of power shower or traditional overhead. Decor was pretty and tasteful with good furnishings and all rooms had a balcony with comfortable furniture. Electric shutters really helped to keep the intense heat out during the day also. The rooms were kept clean daily to a very high standard. The pool area was amazingly thought out, ie all the hotel is around the lovely pool area but not in an intrusive way, and a nice touch is it is all non slip around the pool so safety is priority. Plenty of sun loungers and parasels (although to be sure get your towel on the ala German way!) We ate dinner in the restaurant on a few occasions and found the food to be of a very good quality but sometimes let down by a slow service. Breakfast was as breakfast is enough said. Snacks are available in the poolside bar and again are good but during busy times you may have to wait because they prepare the food in order of when your table orders it. As other travellers have commented there are rules to this hotel but we felt as these were set out at the very offset you knew exactly where you were and at the end of the day they were mostly common sense anyway. Above all don't pass this hotel by..... they are not available everywhere. Well done to The Magnolia Resort we will return one day soon.

Room Tip: All rooms are centre to the pool area and so get sun all day long on their balconies.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Magnolia Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Magnolia Resort

Address: The Magnolia Resort | Katelios, Katelios 28082, Greece
Location: Greece > Ionian Islands > Cephalonia > Katelios
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Katelios
Hotel Class:4 star — The Magnolia Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Magnolia Hotel provides 4 star luxury and comfort at reasonable room rates. We have 50 rooms modern rooms, that have just recently been designed and built. Each and every room has air conditioned comfort, the security of a safe, the convenience of access to wifi internet, and television. Spacious bathrooms with many amenities, Large balconies to enjoy the glorious weather that is Greece. Clean rooms are not the option but are the norm. A beautiful pool awaits you in the center of the hotel, beyond simple beauty this pool is large and functional, as a kids pool is available. Easy access to a well stocked and stylish bar is just steps from the pool area; A few more steps and you will be enticed by the delicacies prepared at the rosebud bistro. The Rosebud Bistro is staffed by a trained Chef and his staff. The amenities, facilities, and aesthetics of Magnolia resort rival anything any other 4 star hotel may offer in the Mediterranean, what will set Magnolia apart for her guest is the attention given to customer care. The Stroutzas family has been in the boutique hotel business for over a decade, and has been in customer service for over 30 years. We want to make your stay pleasurable, and to leave you with great memories. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Despegar.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Magnolia Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Magnolia Hotel Katelios

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Magnolia Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.