We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“BEST INDIAN FOOD ANYWHERE” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Himalaya Tandoori

Himalaya Tandoori
Carretera Moraira Calpe, 03724 Moraira, Spain
+34 965 74 54 59
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #27 of 140 Restaurants in Moraira
Cuisines: Indian, Nepali
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Description: Himalaya Tandoori is a Nepalese Indian Restaurant established over 10 YEARS.We are opposite THE tourist information office in The centre of Moraira.We serve traditional Indian and Nepalese food,using only the freshest ingredients and spices.WINTER OPENING HOURS:TUESDAY TILL SUNDAY:LUNCH:12.00 TILL 15.30 DINNER:18.00 TILL 23.30(MONDAYS CLOSED FOR STAFF REST).
ABERDEENSHIRE
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“BEST INDIAN FOOD ANYWHERE”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2012

6 of us went out on the last night of our holiday. What a treat!! The food was fantastic, 6 different starters and 6 different mains - to die for. We all agreed we had never had such good Indian food anywhere!! Superb value for money. Lovely restaurant, great service. Thank you very much.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

170 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    100
    44
    8
    10
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Delicious”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2012

Had been told they had moved from a small place from round the corner, well I think they needed it as it was so busy.
The chicken Tikka was superb and the lamb curry ,
Spotlessly clean and very very nice staff.
Prices quite good for the town centre.
Lovely decor, could smell it walking down the road.
Well done

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pedreguer, Spain
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Great Nepalese food in the Costa Blanca”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

The Himalaya Tandoori recently relocated to a new site in Moraira and has lost nothing in quality, hospitality and atmosphere in moving to a much bigger restaurant. The staff are helpful, courteous and always willing to advise and to suggest different dishes to try. They like to ensure that the food you order is exactly to your taste. I have eaten in many "Indian" restaurants all over the world and The Himalaya Tandoori is certainly the best in the Moraira area and indeed in the Northern Costa Blanca that I have been to. You will not be disappointed!!

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Indian Food with excellent presentation”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2012

This restaurant moved earlier this year from much smaller and very cramped premises to this new and more prominent location in Moraira. It now has etremely comfortable seating, is spacious and the menu must surely rate as one of the best in the area. Not only that, even the Chicken Tandoori came beautifully presented on a bed of chicory leaves for decoration. The food is top drawer and the staff could not be more amenable.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
““Disappointing Food””
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2012

We expected to love himalaya since it is rated Indian - Asian restuarant on Trip adversor guide . Many time we enjoyed good food when it was in old location at el portet.
We loved the attentive service; we did not love the food. Great Indian cuisine offers a complexity of layered flavors with fresh ingredients used skillfully. Himalaya does not come close to this.
I ordered Jhal fish curry with rare spices and coconut milk. What arrived was dried & sweety bellow average of spices poorly prepared - it was salty with no hint of coconut milk. It was so bad, that I made my wife eat it as I just could not get it down. The other courses were better, but not great.
This is not great Indian food despite the wonderful service.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Himalaya Tandoori also viewed

 
Moraira, Costa Blanca
Moraira, Costa Blanca
 

Been to Himalaya Tandoori? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Himalaya Tandoori, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.