We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“it is what it is” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Gema Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Gema Hotel to your Saves list
Gema Hotel
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Cabo estaca de Bares, 11, 03724 Moraira, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Moraira
london
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
“it is what it is”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2013

The Gema hotel is a nice 2 star hotel the rooms are clean, heated in winter. The walls are paper thin and you can hear whatever is going on in adjoining rooms. The breakfast which is included in the price is very acceptable. The staff are always very helpful.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

40 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    7
    14
    15
    2
    2
See reviews for
8
17
3
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Taichung, T'ai-wan, Taiwan
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here while having work done on my house nearby. Staff great & room just fine. Breakfast was good & value is excellent. Location is superb with tons of places to eat. You can walk into moraira very easily from here & there is supermarkets everywhere. Be careful if the police in this area they go out if the way to justify their own existance.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dartmouth, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2012

No air conditioning but a quiet ceiling fan did the job. Breakfast, although just a continental, was quite comprehensive. Rooms and public areas were kept very clean. Free Wi-Fi only available in the lobby. Lovely swimming pool in the grounds. Plenty of on site parking. Poor selection of TV channels. All the staff were extremely pleasant. Lots of local bars and restaurants within walking distance as is the sea and beach. Very little, if any, public transport but only £5 by taxi, (just under a mile), to the centre of Moraira for the market and numerous dining places. In summary, the Gema gives a better standard in every way despite its 2 star official status..

Room Tip: Higher floors have a better view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calpe, Spain
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2012

We spent two nights in this hotel. We found friendly and helpful staffs. Room was clean and they changed bath things. Break fast was fresh and many different. We enjoyed natural view from hotel balcon. We will be back.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorkshire
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2012

On visiting Moraira for just one night on a work related matter I decided to try and keep travel and accommodation costs to a minimum. I therefore did not expect the usual four or five star treatment or surroundings. The room was quite large with a bigger than usual ensuite with shower and corner bath. Everything was clean, especially the bed linen and towels. Breakfast was to an acceptable standard with a good selection to choose from. I would stay here again if my journey was short and work related but not for a family holiday. Thank you though to the staff who are most definitely friendly and helpful. The hotel has great promise if upgraded.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
spain
Top Contributor
115 reviews 115 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
114 helpful votes 114 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2012

My husband and I spent a night here whilst visiting friends in the area. The room was spacious and spotlessly clean. The breakfast was continental but plenty of variety. The staff were extremely helpful and loaned me a phone charger as I had forgotten mine and when my hairdrier tripped the electric, fixed the problem instantly. We paid a great rate for the room and I would recommend it to anyone.

Room Tip: Ask for a front facing room for a little glance of the sea!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
javea
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2011

Its only a basic hotel but its clean, friendly and efficiently run. Our room was spacious and comfortable. Lovely pool area. Just a nice , happy place to be.

Room Tip: balcony is lovely
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Gema Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gema Hotel

Address: Cabo estaca de Bares, 11, 03724 Moraira, Spain
Location: Spain > Valencian Country > Alicante Province > Costa Blanca > Moraira
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Moraira
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Gema Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 39
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Despegar.com, HostelBookers, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Gema Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Gema Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.