We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great views” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Marquis of Dufferin Seaside Inn

Save Saved
You added Marquis of Dufferin Seaside Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Marquis of Dufferin Seaside Inn
25658 Hwy. 7 | Marine Drive, Port Dufferin, Nova Scotia, Canada   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 hotels in Port Dufferin
Barcelona, Spain
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Great views”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2010

This motel is very basic and clean but also in deep need of some renovation (furniture, linen, etc.). Anyway, more than fine to spend the night. We had dinner at the restaurant and this was definitely the best experience there, we had a great meal and the view was fantastic at sunset. By the way also the irish coffee was excellent! Staff were helpful. We left a jacket in our room and they shipped it back to us to Spain.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

39 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    24
    9
    5
    0
    1
See reviews for
8
25
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Hamburg
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
52 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
133 helpful votes 133 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2009

Again we had a wonderful time at the Marquis of Dufferin. The lobster (fresh from their own dock) was delicious, could not have been any better. Views to die for, great Eastern Shore hospitality...what more could we ask for? See you next year, Marquis...

Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2009

The seafood chowder was the best my wife and I had in Nova Scotia. In three weeks of travelling in the province and sampling chowders along the way the chowder at the Marquis of Dufferin was by far the best. Loaded with seafood, not too many potatoes, not too much cream, it is to die for! The room we had provided and excellent view and was adequately furnished. If you pass by do not miss the chowder!

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
winnipeg
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2009

My wife and I were travelling from Winnipeg on our way to Fortress Louisberg and wished to stop for lunch. Being former residents of Halifax, we were craving a lobster dinner and this establishment was recomended to us. Although lobster was not on the lunch menue, when the cook heard of our request he offered to prepare a full dinner for us, but advised it would take a while as nothing was prepared. After about 20 minutes we got to see him select our lobsters from the trap at the end of the dock and dinner was ready shortly after. AND WHAT A MEAL!!! I can honestly say that we never tasted a meal so beautifully prepared with fresh vegetables, fresh home made rolls and of course the freshest of lobsters done and prepared perfectly. Our waitress was a delight and very efficient. We could not believe our good fortune to have found such a wonderful establishment by chance.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paw Paw, MI
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2009

We stayed at Marquis of Dufferin Seaside Inn for one night as we began our trip in Nova Scotia. The drive along the Eastern Shore was just gorgeous, don't skip it and take the highway to Cape Breton. This is it of an unusual property. There is a main house where Pat Bennett cooks wonderful meals, then a hotel type building where all the rooms are. The rooms all have view of the water however the decks are so tiny and in need of some upkeep so it wasn't inviting to sit out there. The rooms were very basic but tidy and spotlessly clean. The bathroom was bright and looked like it was newly redecorated. Great place to crash for the night with a pretty view, but not fancy at all. You pull your car right up to the door.

Breakfast was fairly priced and great quality food prepared with care. The smoked salmon eggs benedict was amazing. Pat Bennett was a very pleasant host. I recommend this spot, just don't expect a luxury room. Dock area is pretty, you can sit out there and read, etc. Take a hike along the road out front of the property up past the church and into the beautiful old graveyard that sits on a bluff overlooking the bay. Very interesting, many graves from Scottish born folks.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2009

We had a great stop over on our way to Country Harbour, we stopped for a quick snack, and ended up with a feast! Delicious Seafood chowder, and great company from the host and chef, we will definitely be back.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
minneapolis
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2008

The Marquis of Dufferin, located 1 hr east of Halifax and Dartmouth was amazing. After being disappointed with lodging as well as restaurant quality the entire trip, the Marquis really was and surprise & so impressive. Great location along the coastline, fabulous restaurant - by far the best meal we had. Award winning chowder, & lobster roll. Warm, clean and friendly. We travel for biz almost 175,000 miles a year so we tend to be jaded. This hotel / restaurant was truly delightful.

  • Liked — The beauty / location, cleanliness and friendly service
  • Disliked — no comment
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Still looking for a hotel?
Also consider these accommodations in or near Port Dufferin
Sherbrooke Village Inn 4.5 of 5 stars 17 reviews
Show Prices
View all 1 hotels in Port Dufferin, ranked by popularity

Been to Marquis of Dufferin Seaside Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marquis of Dufferin Seaside Inn

Address: 25658 Hwy. 7 | Marine Drive, Port Dufferin, Nova Scotia, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Nova Scotia > Halifax Regional Municipality > Port Dufferin
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 hotels in Port Dufferin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ocean front motel. Every room has private balcony and unrestricted view of the islands and the Atlantic. Clean, quiet and comfortable. Breakfast box with muffins,fresh fruit and yogurt provided. Coffee maker in the room with coffee, a selection of teas and hot chocolate. Situated on the ever-changing Atlantic Ocean, the landscaped grounds invite you to take a quiet stroll or just enjoy "sea-gazing". Private wharf and boat ramp. On the road less traveled, Nova Scotia's Marine Drive, offers world class kayaking and hiking opportunities. Excellent sites for bird watchers, artists and photographers. Less than 2 hours from Halifax or Antigonish or PEI ferry. We want to make your stay not only comfortable but memorable. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Marquis of Dufferin Seaside Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marquis Of Dufferin Seaside Inn Port Dufferin, Nova Scotia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Marquis of Dufferin Seaside Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.