We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A nice find!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Marquis of Dufferin Seaside Inn

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Port Dufferin
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Marquis of Dufferin Seaside Inn
Save
You added Marquis of Dufferin Seaside Inn to your Saves list
25658 Hwy. 7 | Marine Drive, Port Dufferin, Nova Scotia, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Port Dufferin
Queensbury, New York
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“A nice find!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2014

What a quaint little spot. Owners are doing a lot of rehab and the rooms are nicely setup. It stilt doesn't appear fancy from the outside, but wait til you open the door in your room and see the view! The view to the water from all nine rooms with private balconies is gorgeous. We walked around the building and found a stone walkway that lead to a tiny bridge to cross over to the water. There we walked out onto the dock and sat in the cute colored chairs and listened to the water for a while. Very windy but So peaceful! Breakfast was in our room for the morning in a cute little to-go box with yougart on ice in the icebucket. We made our coffee, sat on the balcony and ate our breakfast looking out onto the amazing water view. The owners have taken the time to set up a binder in your room on the amenities on site and restaurants and things to do locally. Very very detailed and also includes the local history. Hubby called it "a real sweet spot". I definitely agree.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SeaLull, Owner at Marquis of Dufferin Seaside Inn, responded to this review, July 13, 2014
I know what you mean. I never tire of the view.
I try to do some upgrades each year to make the motel a more comfortable place to stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

55 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    30
    18
    6
    0
    1
See reviews for
12
32
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Ottawa, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2014

Everything here is A-1- host Pat-friendly and helpful; room- sparkling clean, updated, thoughtful details, tastefully decorated; the view from the delightful private veranda to the cove and beyond- picture- perfect. Only 9 rooms- run don't walk to book. This is a wonderful place from which to tour the undeservedly less visited Eastern Shore. You won't be disappointed.

Room Tip: If you need only a queen bed- ask for # 9 on the end.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SeaLull, Owner at Marquis of Dufferin Seaside Inn, responded to this review, July 13, 2014
I didn't expect to see you back the next week. I'm sorry you had to take refuge from power outages in the valley after tropical storm Arthur, but I'm happy you chose to take refuge here.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilmington, Delaware
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2014

Our stay was perfect, Pat was the best host anyone could ask for. The view was spectacular, fog in the evening and morning. Property was well maintained, just a beautiful place to stay..
Kevin and Robin. Delaware

Room Tip: I would change nothing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SeaLull, Owner at Marquis of Dufferin Seaside Inn, responded to this review, July 13, 2014
Thank you. I hope you didn't get too wet on the trip home.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
midlands
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2014

We stayed here in the rain but it was still a wonderful position looking out to sea.The rooms were comfortable and a verandah to sit out on. Free wi fi.
No Bar or restaurant.
we had a take away from the variety store down the road. That was fine as long as you want pizza or fish and chips etc.

Room Tip: All rooms are the same
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SeaLull, Owner at Marquis of Dufferin Seaside Inn, responded to this review, July 13, 2014
I'm so happy you enjoyed your stay, in spite of the rain.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cranbrook, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2014

Clean and spacious accommodation. Beautiful setting. Wonderful host. Close to services in Sheet Harbour where dining at the Henley House Pub is a must and just a short walk from the motel is a pizza house/variety store if you don't want to "go into town". We enjoyed our stay.

Room Tip: Just ask Pat, the owner, and I'm sure she will help with this although it is a small and friendl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SeaLull, Owner at Marquis of Dufferin Seaside Inn, responded to this review, July 13, 2014
I hope you find your piece of Nova Scotia paradise, as I have found mine.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2013

My husband and I spent one night here. Pat was very kind and pleasant to deal with, very friendly. The area is quiet and peaceful which is exactly what we were looking for. Clean, the room was very clean and the private balcony was lovely. Taylor Head Provincial Park is nearby for some beautiful hikes. I would recommend this place for sure!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thornbury, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2013

We only stayed one night because we were travelling, but it was superb. Nice big room, matching linen, 2 pillows each. Pat was very helpful and her breakfast was healthy! The view was truly wonderful. We did a short walk up past the church just to stretch our legs. No need to look for an evening restaurant, the local grocery/deli store did take aways. Thoroughly recommended.

Room Tip: The end room would be marginally quieter, I guess.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Marquis of Dufferin Seaside Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marquis of Dufferin Seaside Inn

Address: 25658 Hwy. 7 | Marine Drive, Port Dufferin, Nova Scotia, Canada
Location: Canada > Nova Scotia > Halifax Region > Port Dufferin
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Port Dufferin
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ocean front motel. Every room has private balcony and unrestricted view of the islands and the Atlantic. Clean, quiet and comfortable. Breakfast box with muffins,fresh fruit and yogurt provided. Coffee maker in the room with coffee, a selection of teas and hot chocolate. Situated on the ever-changing Atlantic Ocean, the landscaped grounds invite you to take a quiet stroll or just enjoy "sea-gazing". Private wharf and boat ramp. On the road less traveled, Nova Scotia's Marine Drive, offers world class kayaking and hiking opportunities. Excellent sites for bird watchers, artists and photographers. Less than 2 hours from Halifax or Antigonish or PEI ferry. We want to make your stay not only comfortable but memorable. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Marquis Of Dufferin Seaside Inn Port Dufferin, Nova Scotia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Marquis of Dufferin Seaside Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.