We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Better off booking elsewhere” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Burwood East Motel

Save Saved
You added Burwood East Motel to your Saves list
Burwood East Motel
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Burwood East Motel
3.5 of 5 Motel   |   355 Blackburn Road, Burwood, Monash, Victoria 3151, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 3 hotels in Burwood
Sydney, Australia
1 review
“Better off booking elsewhere”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2011

Managers behave like the motel is a guest house. 0/10 for privacy, the rooms are open and you can hear everyone in the immediate area outside or rooms next door. Special rooms are kept for "special" guests at the same rate.
Rooms are not cleaned by staff properly (multiple night stay). Television and utilities not suitable for the younger demographic.
Basically you can obtain far better accommodation for the same price, nearby, or even in Melbourne itself!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul I, Manager at Burwood East Motel, responded to this review, October 10, 2011
Mr. Thomas
You stayed at Burwood East Motel for nearly 2 months, each day you refused room service by placing a "do not disturb" sign on your door, even though we strongly suggested that it should be done daily.
All rooms are equal at Burwood East Motel with no favourites or favourite guests.
It is a pity that we could not use the room after your departure for a week due to the state of it.
We endeavour to provide a friendly, clean environment and as by you placing a "do not disturb" sign on your door we also maintained your privacy and did not enter.
The only time we will enter a room is when a guest elects to upset other guests , a guest smokes in a room or causes damage to property.
If your stay was so unpleasant why did you stay for nearly 2 months and leave when asked by management for the reasons known to you.
It is a shame that we are not able to present the facts to counter your accusations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

24 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    5
    12
    4
    2
    1
See reviews for
5
9
7
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
49 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
125 helpful votes 125 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2010

I stayed two nights because I was delivering a seminar at the amazingly close Deakin University. Paul and his wife were so kind in getting me some bread and cheese late at night after a harrowing journey from Sydney (should have been easy, I know, but it wasn't). The motel is situated wonderfully close to a shopping mall that is being rebuilt as well, and it represents good value for money. There is even a pool! For a self-funded business trip or anything connected with Deakin's Burwood campus, I can wholeheartedly recommend it.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berwick
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2009

Basic very clean motel, excellant value for money and under $100.00

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2009

Had to stay here as other family members in group organised it and they don't care where they stay as long as they think it's cheap. This place is OK but just a basic suburban motel and a bit old. Bathroom wasn't very good. I wouldn't stay here again - you can find something nicer in a similar price range and I'd pay a bit more anyway and stay somewhere else.

  • Liked — Location was close to other family, that's all
  • Disliked — Bathroom and rooms were small.
  • Stayed February 2009, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
melbourne
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
68 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
131 helpful votes 131 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2008

We stayed here for 4 nights whilst having home renovations.The rooms were basic but CLEAN.The staff were all helpful and really friendly and went out of there way to be hospitable.The breakfast was hot fresh and tasty also.For a budget motel this exceeded our expectations.I would stay again if the need arises with out a doubt.Great value

  • Liked — Cleanliness and staff
  • Disliked — for the price nothing
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Burwood East Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Burwood East Motel

Address: 355 Blackburn Road, Burwood, Monash, Victoria 3151, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Greater Melbourne > Monash > Burwood
Amenities:
Free Parking Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 hotels in Burwood
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Burwood East Motel 3.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Tingo, Expedia, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Burwood East Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Burwood East Motel Greater Melbourne

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Burwood East Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.