We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A friendly hotel with great food” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Bijou

Save Saved
You added Hotel Bijou to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Bijou
Piazza Carrel 4, 11028 Valtournenche, Italy   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 7 hotels in Valtournenche
Sheffield
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“A friendly hotel with great food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2014

This is a lovely, friendly family run hotel that we have been to many times. It is set centrally in the village of Valotournenche and commands the square in which it is sat. The brothers who run the hotel, Ivo and Luigi really cannot do enough for you. They will drive you up to the ski lifts in the morning and transport you back at the end of the day. They will arrange taxis, provide local signposting and are just so friendly and they seem to want you to have a good time. The rooms are clean and comfortable. There is free use of the swimming pool next door after a long days skiing. The food is excellent with seconds and thirds coming round so you can have a taster of everything!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

92 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    59
    28
    3
    1
    1
See reviews for
22
31
1
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2014

We have been back twice with two families. Nothing is too much trouble for Ivo and Luigi. The New Years Eve feast was a truly amazing experience and we are sure to return a third time. We couldn't recommend this modestly priced family hotel more highly.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hadleigh, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2013

Could not do enough for you and the half board option was really good for the money. The rooms are small but clean and as I was snowboarding, I only needed somewhere to rest my weary body. Easy parking outside. Would use again!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Utrecht, The Netherlands
Top Contributor
172 reviews 172 reviews
64 hotel reviews
Reviews in 75 cities Reviews in 75 cities
92 helpful votes 92 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

we stayed here one night on a skiweekend trip. We had a room for 3 persons, but room is small. Luckilly we could spent an hour or so sitting in the sun on the balcony with a glass of wine. Bathroom with small bath with shower. Bed not so comfortabel. Just like other hotels in the area I noticed that bedroom/bathroom are very small everywhere. Room was clean and the owners are very friendly. Breakfast was also good, a lot better than other hotels we stayed in, we even had fried and boiled eggs. Only a few kilometers from Valtournenche skigondel. Easy to walk in to the village to restaurants. Hotel has also a restaurant but we didn't eat in that restaurant.

Room Tip: front rooms have a balcony in the sun in the afternoon
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2013

We had not booked a hotel in Valtournenche prior to arrival and The Bijou was one of the available hotels suggested by the Tourist Information Office. We were so glad we picked it. Food was excellent, I am a vegetarian and was well catered for my only complaint is they kept trying to give us too much to eat. We stayed in a 3 bedded room which gave us plenty of space. Staff could not have been more helpful with daily reports about the conditions on the slopes. My friend and I are not early start skiers but at whatever time we were ready the shuttle bus was available within 5 minutes to take us to the Lift Station. As we were driving the large car park in front of the hotel was a bonus for loading and unloading luggage.
We would certainly stay tin this hotel again and feel confident in reccommending it to friends

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

This a perfect place for skiers and non skiers alike. For the skiers, there is a storage for boots and skis, a sports shop just over the road that gives you discount if you ask and a free shuttle bus from the hotel to the main cable car up to Valtournenche ski area. For the non skier, (and maybe the returning skier at the end of the day!), there is a beautiful quaint village, cafes, restaurants and a swimming pool right next door to the hotel which is free to use once you get your little slip of paper from the friendly hotel reception staff.
The hotel itself is very friendly - Ivo and Luigi deal with any requests with a welcoming smile - nothing seems to faze them! The notice boards are full of useful information - piste maps, local bus times to Cervinia, ski bus timetables, local sights and things to do.
The rooms are big enough for all the gear you need to take to a ski resort but also big enough for an eleven strong gathering before dinner to chat about who had done what that day! The rooms are cleaned and checked over twice a day and the whole hotel has the feeling of being cleaned and cared for. The food is just out of this world. You are asked to choose what you want for dinner at breakfast and when the foods comes in the evening, there seems to be lots of "seconds" coming round so you can try other dishes too. Diets and choices are taken into consideration easily.
We will definitely return.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antibes
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

We went to Valtournenche for a quick last minute weekend trip and Hotel Bijoux was the best value that also included breakfast. It is also only a quick 7minute drive to the main ski lift. The room was clean [bar 3 flies in the bathroom] and comfortable enough. The bath was small but still great for after the mountain. The front desk service was very friendly and he spoke english. The breakfast was great, great value for money. Only strange thing was our power did not worj the one morning but we were heading up the mountain so didnt need any power anyway. I would not hesitate staying there again, it was a great weekend.

Room Tip: We had a three bed room and it was comfortable with a double bed and one single!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Bijou? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Bijou

Address: Piazza Carrel 4, 11028 Valtournenche, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Valle d'Aosta > Valtournenche
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Ski-In / Ski-Out
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 7 hotels in Valtournenche
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL and Booking.com so you can book your Hotel Bijou reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Bijou, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.