We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cosy, not so cheap” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Albergo Grandes Murailles

Albergo Grandes Murailles
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Albergo Grandes Murailles to your Saves list
Albergo Grandes Murailles
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Roma 78, 11028 Valtournenche, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in Valtournenche
Certificate of Excellence 2014
milan, italy
Top Contributor
133 reviews 133 reviews
133 hotel reviews
Reviews in 85 cities Reviews in 85 cities
120 helpful votes 120 helpful votes
“Cosy, not so cheap”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013

I can see that cosy is the returning word for this hotel right in the middle of Valtournenche, a small village a few kms from the much more glitzy Cervinia. And all the previous reviewers are right, because the 3-starred Grandes Murailles is a nice little hotel with a warm atmosphere. Rooms (and related bathrooms) may vary and some of them are not so large. The afternoon snack is a nice touch, but you have to consider the not cheap rates for b&b (around 140-150 euros a night during the weekends): but Val d'Aosta is an expensive skiing area, so be prepared. Parking not easy, because the hotel has just a few spots.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

70 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    42
    20
    3
    2
    3
See reviews for
19
29
Solo
0
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013

We visited in January and were immediately struck but how warm and welcoming this delightfully traditional hotel is.

Guiseppe worked so hard to help us make the most of our experience - and succeeded!

Valtournenche is a much more interesting place to stay than Cervinia. Leave the main road and explore the pedestrian only alleyways which link most of the old chalets and barns. The Bar des Guides and other little treasures tucked away are well worth fossicking out.

The hotel room was beautifully furnished with a homely feel (and comfortable bed).
Unusually for a hotel this size there is a lift which made taking luggage up to the third floor.

Breakfasts were very good and set us up for the day.
The buffet dinners provided in half board are simple but excellent - served early evening only. We should have got the soup recipe!
Spa and steam room are fabulous! Such a treat to have them to ourselves after a long day's skiing!

Thank you to both Guiseppe and Lilly for a wonderful week!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2012

Just returned from our short skiing trip in Valtournenche , very enthousiastic about our stay in albergo Grandes Murailles We could not have whished for more, lovely atmosphere, spacious tastefully decorated rooms, very welcoming host Giuseppe, who made us feel at home not hotelguests. Very good breakfast and althoughe promised in critics and at booking sites, the tea with cakes, cheese, fruit and warm snack was a still a surprise when returning home from work on the snowy pistes.
Nice fireplace at night , good wifi connextion in the lounge and breakfast room. Absolutely value for money.
We will return certainly, thank you giuseppe.

Room Tip: we stayed at the third floor , great rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2012 via mobile

It was not easy to find a descent hotel at resonable price in Cervinia. It took several hours spent in internet so I want to make it easy for others. You do not need to look any further! The Staff of the Grandes Murailles hotel have made our 5 days vacations just perfect. Comfortable rooms, great breakfasts, afternoon snacks which appeared to be small feasts :-), Giuseppe (the owner of the hotel) and his great Land Rover assuring free and full of fun transportation to the ski station, the fire place at the lobby and sofas available for unlimited time for guests :-), friendly staff taking care for every small detail - all of this was just perfect addition to the great skiing experience we had. Dear Giuseppe, THANK YOU for such a great time. If I ever have a chance to come back to Cervinia, I will for sure stay at your hotel. Tomasz.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prague, Czech Republic
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2012

Great small hotel with nice atmosphere and friendly stuff. Went there with my girlfriend just for two day ski trip. We had a romantic room on top floor, nice breakfest, the owner is helpfull advising on skiing etc. 800m from ski area in Valtournenche. Definitely recommend.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surfers Paradise, Australia
Top Contributor
109 reviews 109 reviews
47 hotel reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
99 helpful votes 99 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2012

This is not a hotel, it is more like a home. Warm and cosy with a generous and caring host, in Guiseppe. Absolutely loved the atmosphere. Great breakfast and substantial afternoon tea each day. We had two rooms. We had a spacious room on the top floor and our daughter had a smaller room on a lower floor. Two shortcomings that should be mentioned are that the walls are thin and if you had noisy neighbours, as my daughter did, you may be disturbed. Also bring your own hairdryer as those in the room, were useless. However everything else about the hotel more than compensated for these minor irritations. We stayed in the hotel for one week and although the skiing was not great with bad weather, we had a very relaxing and enjoyable time in Valtournenche. I would highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barcelona
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2011

We have been very lucky and happy for choosing this hotel for a week long ski holiday in the Italian Alps. The hotel is managed directly by its owner, Giuseppe, a charming person that looks after each guest with a genuine interest. Breakfast and tea time are excellent, with very high quality local products. The rooms are very spacious, clean and well appointed. Maria and Lili are very nice, always ready to help and to anticipate your needs. The hotel is beautiful, it truly feels like home. With so many choices, it is always difficult to repeat a destination, but we would not hesitate to go back to Grandes Murailles and Valtournence next year!!!

Stayed March 2011, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Albergo Grandes Murailles? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Albergo Grandes Murailles

Address: Via Roma 78, 11028 Valtournenche, Italy
Location: Italy > Valle d'Aosta > Valtournenche
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in Valtournenche
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Albergo Grandes Murailles 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Albergo Grandes Murailles reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Albergo Grandes Murailles, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.