We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“solo per pochi” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Comtes de Challant

Save Saved
You added Hotel Comtes de Challant to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Booking.com Expedia.com
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Comtes de Challant
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Frazione Chez Sapin 95, 11020 Fenis, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 hotels in Fenis
Milan, Italy
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“solo per pochi”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2012

I have been in this nice and little hotel for 5 days, end June 2012.
Great position, just out from Fenis village, walking, and in front of a nice antique castle, that you can see from your room...... The hotel is nicer than it appears in the pictures. Very large garden area with big sun umbrellas where you can relax drinking something and enjoying fresh breeze.The rooms are not very spacious, but well constructed, good furnished and very comfortable. All over the hotel is perfectly cleaned.
The restaurant: Excellent quality, good menu; it is also very elegant, spacious, and sunny. Perfect and discret service.
Most of dishes are prepared with the ingredients of their garden, the cheeses and salami are of great quality. Jams are home made and are really delicious.The family (Owners) is very kind and you can feel there like a particular guest.
I suggest this little hotel to kind, polite, people which can appreciate quiet, special good food and much care by the Owners.
It was a pitty not to have in the rooms air conditioning during these days, too warm all over Italy (in the dining room it was activated and fresh).
If the Owners will decide to construct a little swimming pool i nthe future, I think guests will pass more days there, enjoying fully the place.
Marilena- Milano- Italy

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

75 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    49
    25
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
11
38
2
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Milan, Italy
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2012

Me and my wife spent four days in Fenis, Hotel Comtes de Challant, to partecipate to a meeting of Alfa Romeo Club....and we discovered a really nice place to stay even for a week. Fenis is in Val d'Aosta just below the crown of the west Alpes, were the scenery by itself is something unforgettable.
The Hotel is a three stars (West Europe standard) very clean, elegant and family-managed with a superb service, close to some of the most famous places of the region, like Courmayuer and Saint Vincent. But the best surprise is waiting for you when you enter the dining room: the top of regional taste with spectacular dishes of rice, pasta, meat and "polenta", well supported by white and red wine in a very elegant environment in front of the medioeval castel of the Counts of Challant.
Easy to travel because of the motorway, is a perfect place to discover this west-north part of Italy, and to go back at home with and excellent perception, looking at the calendar to find the best period to come back.

Room Tip: First floor south (In front of the Castle)
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2012

Fenis is very pretty and the views would be spectacular in winter with the snow.
Our room was large with a balcony with views. The bathroom was also big. The service and staff were great and dinner was very good and not expensive. Breakfast was amply and if you wanted anything that was not there they would cook it. The only problem was a very noisy group.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with views and a balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wollongong
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2012 via mobile

Lovely family run hotel. Meals excellent. Staff friendly. Walking distance to Fenis castle which was a nice place to visit

Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2011

A lovely hotel in a beautiful location. The hotel is very well looked after and the rooms are a decent size and very clean. The staff are extremely friendly and if you do not speak Italian, they will do their outmost to try and speak English! We had a dinner at their restaurant and the food was absolutely beautiful. At breakfast you have a lot of choice and the staff ensures you have fresh coffee/tea. You can have an access to an underground car park but we were more than happy to park outside where parking is available as well. The location is stunning - you are surrounded by mountains and the little fenis village is picturesque. I would hightly recommend this hotel!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampshire, UK
Top Contributor
113 reviews 113 reviews
54 hotel reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
140 helpful votes 140 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2009

This is a very comfortable & welcoming hotel with loads of character in a quiet village just off the autostrada near Aosta.

The staff were very friendly and helpful. When I explained that I could not speak much Italian one of them started to teach me some basic phrases.

I parked in the hotel’s underground car park, free of charge; very secure and it kept the car out of the evening sun.

Our triple room was spacious, with a balcony overlooking the castle and hills/mountains opposite. Rooms at the back overlook the hills/mountains on the other side of the valley.

There is a large outside terrace where you can enjoy the sun or a drink. Prices in the small & cosy bar were quite sensible. Breakfast was included in our room rate and comprised a cold buffet – plenty to set you up for the day. We had dinner in the restaurant – excellent food & excellent service.

There are a couple of bars and a small restaurant in the local village, but they looked like real “locals” places. I am sure visitors would be welcome, but as we spoke very little Italian and had never been to Italy before we didn’t feel comfortable going in. If you are more experienced in Italy’s ways and language you might feel more confident.

All in all, this hotel was an excellent find and a big improvement on the chain hotels we often stay in when travelling in Europe.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Comtes de Challant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Comtes de Challant

Address: Frazione Chez Sapin 95, 11020 Fenis, Italy
Location: Italy > Valle d'Aosta > Fenis
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 hotels in Fenis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Comtes de Challant 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Venere, Travelocity, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Hotel Comtes de Challant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Comtes de Challant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.