We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Sant'Orso

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Hotel Sant'Orso to your Saves list
Hotel Sant'Orso
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Bourgeois, 2 | 11012, Cogne, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 16 Hotels in Cogne
new york
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Nice hotel”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2013

The Sant' Orso is a nice hotel with a great spa. The rooms are clean with an old fashioned rustic. It is incredibly conveniently located in town and the staff are nice. A solid good hotel. The breakfast was good---service particularly good at breakfast.

Room Tip: Get a room facing the Gran Paradiso--the views are spectacular.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

130 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    68
    40
    11
    5
    6
See reviews for
44
60
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Steamboat Springs, Colorado
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2013

We just enjoyed two nights at this wonderful hotel in the quaint village of Cogne in the mountains. Everyone on the staff made us feel as though it was our home. Louisa at reception was amazing, assisting with a smooth check in, parking, luggage and information about things to do and see in the area. She is a treasure. The hotel has been family owned for generations. The owner is on site ensuring his guests are well cared for, and the place is immaculately clean.

The hotel has parking underneath, a convenient lift to all floors, a large and warming lounge area, an additional lounge area for movies or relaxation, terrific restaurant and incredible mountain views in all directions. Breakfast was in the top three of all during our current three month driving trip in Europe with eggs to order, freshly made croissants, and likely anything you might want, served in the restaurant with full mountain views. There is also a spa, sauna and indoor swimming pool.

The rooms are adequately sized with very comfortable beds and equipped with refrigerators and plenty of closet space. Cogna is off he beaten path and that is the point of the place as the setting is beautiful and the surrounding recreation endless. You can spend more for accommodations in this area, but we are not sure your stay would be any more satisfying.

Room Tip: Room 206 is an end room with beautiful mountain views in two directions and a large large wrap aroun...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johnstown, NY
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

We discovered a slice of heaven in Cogne, Italy, an enchanting village in the Italian Alps. The moment we arrived at the Sant'Orso, a charming, well-appointed, and cozy hotel, the owner and manager, Filippo Gerard welcomed us as if we were family. After we settled into our rooms, Filippo personally gave us a guided tour of Cogne, an ancient, quaint village and gateway to the Parco Nazionale del Gran Paradiso. The setting is stunning! While nestled at the base of the Gran Paradiso snow-capped mountains, the Sant'Orso Hotel is conveniently located in the heart of the village. Filippo is an attentive host. He and his staff give personalized care to their many guests. Filippo visits each table and takes his guests' dinner orders while describing the featured menu choices for that evening. The menu offers three new and enticing choices each night. Nearby vinyards provide superb wines which are produced in small quantities for local consumption.

We were in Cogne in late summer/early fall and the weather was delightful. There were outdoor activities including hiking, shopping and excursions to the Medieval city of Aosta known as the "Rome of the Alps." There is ample snow in winter for alpine and XC skiing, snow shoeing and a variety of outdoor activities.

A visit to Cogne in the Gran Paradiso National Park and a stay at the Sant'Orso Hotel is a must!

Room Tip: Every room appeared to have a balcony offering exquisite views of the surrounding mountains and vill...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

It is hard to imagine that this hotel is not number 1 in the Cogne Valley. We stayed in June/July 2012 for a wedding. The owners were above and beyond accommodating of all of our needs. The rooms were great- spacious and clean- and overlooked a phenomenal mountain range. Amazing playground for children. Surrounded by spectacular hiking trails. Without a question, we will be back. During our stay, owners were constructing an indoor pool. Looking forward to it when we return.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rensselaer, New York
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

We were very pleased with this famiily run hotel. The rooms were very comfortable with balconies that overlooked the mountains. Fillipo was the manager and owner. He was very concerned about our comfort and did everything possible to make our stay exceptional.
The food service was also of very high quality and delicious.
Cogne is a small village and one can take evening walks through its charming streets. We would enjoy visiting again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Switzerland
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2012

My wife and family - three young children - and I had a wonderful lunch here, at very reasonable prices, while on holiday in the region. The food was delicious, the service attentive and the views from the restaurant stunning ! My only complaint was that there was one young lady waitress who clearly could not care less, didn't know how to smile and who simply should not have been in the job...

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nelson, Nelson, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2012

Recently we took over the entirety of the Hotel Sant'Orso for my sister's wedding. I was expecting a village pension with long tables set up on a lawn, bowls of pasta and loaves of bread, "Antonia's Line"-style. Instead what we found was a casual-but-rich alpine lodge, upscale but downright cheap, which put on one of the most exquisite wedding feasts I've experienced in 50 years. Make sure you eat in the restaurant when you're there. The setting at the base of the village is ideal, with breathtaking alpine views and hiking trails outside the hotel door. The hosts, led by Phillipe and Ilenia (disappointingly not a couple :)), bent over backwards in every conceivable way. We were treated like dignitaries. The very best in hospitality is characterized here. The rooms are sizable and fresh and new with all amenities; the bathrooms too, and sparkling clean. Put yourself in the hands of this hotel and your visit to Cogne will remind you of being left with your favorite babysitter when your parents went away for the weekend.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Sant'Orso? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Sant'Orso

Address: Bourgeois, 2 | 11012, Cogne, Italy
Location: Italy > Valle d'Aosta > Cogne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Cogne
#8 Romantic Hotel in Cogne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Sant'Orso 4*
Number of rooms: 27
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Venere, Agoda, Priceline, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Sant'Orso reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sant Orso Hotel Cogne

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Sant'Orso, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.