We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“wonderful mountain hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Bellevue

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Bellevue to your Saves list
Hotel Bellevue
Rue Grand Paradis, 22, 11012 Cogne, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 16 Hotels in Cogne
U.K.
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“wonderful mountain hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2011

This is the most delightful place to stay if you like walking, eating and admiring the views.The hotel is absolutely charming, Beautifully appointed rooms, impeccable service, superb gourmet food, and friendly enthusiastic staff. What more could one want. Situated at the edge of the village is boasts the most spectacular views of the valley floor of the Parco Nazionale di Gran paradiso. For walking enthusiasts there are many beautiful trails and waterfalls to explore.

Room Tip: Room 108 is very comfortable and has wonderful views
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

284 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    240
    33
    7
    2
    2
See reviews for
50
187
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tromso, Norway
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2011

My wife and I stayed here for 5 nights. We had ordered a junior suite, but were upgraded to a full suite. The hotel is held in a local country style. Personally I'm not a big fan of this way of decorating hotels and restaurants, I find them often to be a bit artificial and "over the top". But this was tastefully done and felt right. Staff was friendly and helpful. As is usual in Italy they did not speak perfect English, but they did their best to try to understand, and this was no problem. There are two restaurants in the hotel, one them have a Michelin star, and it is deserved. The other restaurant serve local food, and we found this also excellent. The hotel also runs a third restaurant in the village of Cogne, but we did not try this.
There is a spa in the hotel and it was a pleasure to use that. My only complaint is that the sauna was a bit chilly for a Scandinavian.
The hotels surroundings and view add to the good experience.
The only downside was that the pianist playing in the restaurant did not keep the same standard as the rest of the hotel.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2011

This is a great hotel, nice and cozy. Very helpful staff in particular Laura, she is exceptionally good. Restaurants serve good quality food. We ended up dine in the hotel restaurants for all three nights and one lunch. Lots of walking trails within the vicinity with beautiful scenery. A very relaxing holiday indeed.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlottesville VA
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2011

This lovely old chalet style inn has been in the family for four generations. It runs like a Swiss clock and every detail is perfect. The dining room is excellent. Extraordinary breakfasts as well as very fine dining in the evening. The staff is beautifully trained and very pleasant despite working so hard. Flat screen TV, free Wi Fi, and a spa (being expanded this year). A surprising and useful feature are the electronically adjustable beds. I especially appreciated this because I am asthmatic and need to sleep in an elevated position. The setting in the Gran Paradiso National Park is truly spectacular. Walks and hikes of all sorts easily accessible. Very European clientele and many young families as well as couples. We only saw on other American family. Advise the demi-pension plan for best value and its the best restaurant in town anyway.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, CA
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2011

This hotel is sited near the end of a beautiful drive along a long valley south of the Aosta Valley. The town is small and definiitely walkable. The hotel could not be better sited--on the edge of the large meadow looking toward a glacier, and rimmed by mountains. It's absolutely beautiful.
This is a luxurious place. Stunning views, excellent service, decorations fitting to the locale and folk heritage, a terrific kitchen. Our first visit was two to three years ago, and just remains perfect.
The setting begs for walking or other sports-oriented activity, although the spa might provide enough to do for those wanting to be pampered, eat and gaze at really fabulous views. (We haven't made it to the spa yet--too many things to do in Cogne/Aosta valleys.)
The one drawback is--if you visit in May, when we do, some of the restaurants in town are closed since this is between their high winter and summer seasons.
But for us, it doesn't matter. The hotel, view, and ibex/chamois sightings keep us coming back.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cogne, Italy
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2011

The Hotel Bellevue is one of the nicest hotels in which we've ever stayed. Ask for room 404 and you'll have everything you've ever dreamed of in one room: Dry/steam Sauna, shower, Jacuzzi Tub, fireplace, balcony with great view, computer or writing desk with benches, couch, huge double and a single bed, mini bar, frig. double sink, etc. etc.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2011

Italian perfection : service quality, decoration, food (une * Michelin) and discretion.
We spent an unforgettable moment there : walking in the moutains, swimming pool, massages, dinner every night in the * Michelin restaurant.
I visited the "cave à fromages" and could not resist testing each of them every evening !!!
I tested both a room in the hotel (2nd floor) and a little "chalet".
Tea time every day at 5 PM in a quite living room with a fire place and classical music.
I am afraid my future journeys in ski resorts will not stand the comparison. But I'll try :o)

Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Bellevue? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Bellevue

Address: Rue Grand Paradis, 22, 11012 Cogne, Italy
Location: Italy > Valle d'Aosta > Cogne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Cogne
#2 Romantic Hotel in Cogne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Number of rooms: 32
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Bellevue reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bellevue Hotel Cogne

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Bellevue, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.