We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wish i had discovered it sooner.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of La Tonnellerie

La Tonnellerie
Chemin des Quais, 16120 Chateauneuf-sur-Charente, France
0545651072
Website
Improve this listing
Price range: $1 - $40
Cuisines: European, English, French, Continental
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romance, Large groups, Doing business, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Ipswich, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Wish i had discovered it sooner.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

We visited La Tonnellerie on the final night of our holiday and our only disappointment was that we had not discovered it sooner.
It is very rare that to find a restaurant that you would consider perfect and I cannot praise this little gem enough. The food was fresh, interesting without being overcomplicated and fussy and incredibly tasty. The menu was varied with something for everyone and the daily specials reflective of what was purchased that day from local markets.
A family run business and they couldn't have been more accommodating and went the extra mile to ensure we had a wonderful evening. I pretty much wanted everything off the desert menu and they very kindly made me a cafe gourmand with samples of the deserts I could not choose between. Needless to say it was all amazing but the homemade macaroons with fresh raspberries were particularly good.
It has beautiful views over the river and was so peaceful and relaxing . I would thoroughly recommend this to anyone of any age. It certainly makes me want to revisit the area.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

90 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    42
    31
    9
    6
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Steyning, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“First night on the Charente”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2013

This was a nice meal - the only criticism was that the portions were too large, there was the unusual inclusion of a jacket potato as the vegetable with the main course, and there was a little less than expected attention to detail.

I would not say that I would not eat there again, however, it would not be my first choice.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Great setting and good food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

The owner of our B&B recommended this restaurant and sitting on the terrace looking out across the river and eating very tasty food we could see why. The restaurant is owned by an English couple and we realised that some of the dishes are French versions of English pub classics, but the food was very good. The service was brilliant to begin with, but pudding took a long time to come, as did the bill, and it was dark by the time we left.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great Service and Good Food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2013

Visited the restaurant which is located over looking the river. The staff were very nice and spoke english and served great food. The plait du jour was very reasonable and included a half carafe of wine of your choice red rose or white for 14 euro's. The service was very quick. It looked a very nice place to visit for evening meals.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Lovely river setting and food, but quite expensive”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2013

very nice service in an absolutely wonderful river setting from tables on a very nice terrace. the menu and wine list is extensive and good, but some main courses run to E25. We throughly enjoyed our evening.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Tonnellerie also viewed

Chateauneuf-sur-Charente, Charente
Chateauneuf-sur-Charente, Charente
 
Chateauneuf-sur-Charente, Charente
 

Been to La Tonnellerie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Tonnellerie, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.