We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Andechs” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Andechs Monastery

Andechs Monastery
Bergstrasse 2, 82346 Andechs, Bavaria, Germany
49 08152 376 0
Website
Improve this listing
Book ahead on Viator
Private Tour
$86*
and up
Private Tour: Munich Sightseeing Including...
Ranked #1 of 1 Attractions in Andechs
Type: Architectural Buildings, Religious Sites, Breweries, Cultural
Attraction details
Lincoln, Nebraska
Top Contributor
145 reviews 145 reviews
22 attraction reviews
Reviews in 79 cities Reviews in 79 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
“Lovely Andechs”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2013

I'll admit, we went to Andechs for the bier(an absolute must if you're in Munich) but we enjoyed the beauty and serenity of the monastery. Because so many locals visit the brewery, Andechs offers a view of the Bavarian lifestyle and camaraderie.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

512 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    321
    147
    40
    3
    1
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Wonderful half day side trip from Munich”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

We took the S8 line to the terminal station Herrsching. Cross the road to the Info office and get a bus timetable from there. From Herrsching, can take bus 951 (free if you have the Munich day pass) or a taxi (13 Euro) to Andechs Monastery. Beautiful church, surroundings, gift shop with good quality souvenirs, and best of all, excellent beer and food. A good change from the Munich cityscape. I loved the peace and beauty. From the monastery, catch the same bus back to the train station. Having the timetable for the bus is really important to avoid wasting time waiting for the bus.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Hampshire
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Andechs”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

My husband and I very much enjoyed the experience. It is about a 5 minute hike up a steep cobblestoned hill and alot of people when you do get to the food court. The food is simple but delicious. Don't miss the church in the monestary - outstanding !!

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mbehjh
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
17 attraction reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“beautiful monastery”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013

We showed up here on a Sunday Morning and had a chance to see the church in action. Beautiful church, beautiful surroundings, wonderful organ music, very magical experience.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wiesbaden, Germany
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
24 attraction reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“The view is stunning from the tower”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2013

The Monastery reminds me more of a church. It has beautiful statues, angels and gold. It is the typical kind you find in Bavaria. It is well kept.
From the outside it's hard to believe, but you could climb the tower for 1Euro which is totally worth it. I have not seen many towers like it. It is all made out of wood inside. But be careful oly to go up is you are slim because it becomes very narrow, I cannot believe that they do not warn you downstairs. I am sure that many people couldn't make it up, or somehow had to squeeze there way up. From above you have a stunning view of the Ammersee, the Alps and the surrounding landscapes.
Of course you should then check out the Andechs Beer garden which is one of the most famous ones. They have the best pork knuckles ever!

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Andechs Monastery also viewed

Herrsching am Ammersee, Upper Bavaria
 
Munich, Upper Bavaria
Munich, Upper Bavaria
 

Been to Andechs Monastery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Andechs Monastery, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.