We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great gardens - the best scones @ the cafe” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Blue Mountains Botanic Garden, Mount Tomah

The Blue Mountains Botanic Garden, Mount Tomah
Bells Line of Road, Mount Tomah, New South Wales 2758, Australia
+61 2 4567 3000
Website
Improve this listing
Type: Gardens, Outdoors
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The Blue Mountains Botanic Garden, Mount Tomah, Australia’s highest botanic garden. The Blue Mountains Botanic Garden is on a 1,000 metre basalt-capped peak in World Heritage-listed Greater Blue Mountains. Beautiful landscaped gardens with spectacular mountain wilderness views and a world class collection of 48,000 cool climate plants. The Garden also offers the Jungle Lodge accommodation for secluded stays with access to the Garden after hours. The Garden includes the historic ‘Jungle’ area of conserved pristine Blue Mountains rainforest and a wilderness area in total encompassing 252 hectares. The Blue Mountains Botanic Garden is the largest tourist attraction on the northern side of the mountains and is an important historical site.
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
15 attraction reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Great gardens - the best scones @ the cafe”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013

We nearly didn't stop here, but we are so glad we did. As it was autumn the bulb plants wer just starting to flower, daffodils, jonquils nerines, etc. they were beautful, but best of all were the autumn colours of the trees. The view was spectacular and were very very fortunate to see this on a lovely clear day, as the next day there were planning a burn off and the visibility would be zero. We spied the cafe which has a beautiful outlook over the valley underneath some very old wisteria vines. As it was mid morning we ordered coffee and scones - I am a scone conissuer - they are my all time favourite - and the scones here are to die for, light and fluffy and obviously made on site, with lovely jam and cream. This was the highlight of my trip to the blue mountains.
The cafe was lovely and very helpful, we found it to be very enjoyable and would recommend this to our friends

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

85 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    50
    23
    6
    1
    5
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
230 reviews 230 reviews
31 attraction reviews
Reviews in 59 cities Reviews in 59 cities
142 helpful votes 142 helpful votes
“Avoid the Cafe - Beautiful Gardens”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2013 via mobile

The Cafe at the Tomah Botanic Gardens needs a separate post as it's a privately leased business, and nothing to do with the Garden management.

Sadly, the cafe is a potential trap charging way too much for tiny portions, of inconsistent quality food. Some meal were good but tiny. Patchy unprofessional service. One lady server was lovely, the others need training or replacing.

We did complain and the owner/ manager palmed us off and was dishonest saying he would talk to 'the Owner' ( he was a 50 % owner). He was also shabbily dressed and over all unprofessional. A legitamate complaint not handled well.

Very disappointing.

Now, the gardens are beautiful set up high with lovely panoramic views.

There is a treasure hunt type activity for kids which ours enjoyed.

All gardens are nicer in Spring and Summer and autumn.

Perhaps take a picnic and enjoy the gardens.

Worth a visit, just plan to eat elsewhere.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katoomba
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Great spot”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2013

Mt Tomah is a very lovely place to visit and well worth it if you have a spare day in the mountains, as a local its nice just to head over for a picnic and enjoy the different season. My only fault would be the map and signage, there seemed to be a few little tracks not fully marked on the free map from the information center which made finding some things hard, along with not a whole lot of signs around the place pointing to things. I was very impressed with the amount of signage on the trees how ever this made identifying them very easy. Also a very nice gift shop area with loads of books at reasonable prices.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Come for the Gardens & the View not the food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2013

Mount Tomah Botanic Gardens are truly beautiful and the guides, tour and exhibitions are always interesting. I live locally and love bringing friends here for the gardens and the fantastic views - the disappointment is the cafe.

Food choice is limited and the pricing verging on 'gouging' eg $6.50 for a small cup of apple juice - in the apple growing area of NSW where a litre of locally pressed apple juice is $5, $20 for a small skillet of brisket pie and $19 for a 'salad' - 5 leaves, 1 egg and half a golden beet.

My advice is visit the gardens but eat elsewhere - there is plenty choice within 5-10km eg Pie in the Sky, Lochiel Cafe, Blue Cafe

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
37 attraction reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“A Great Fun Attractions”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2013

I visited today and I was amazing. The views were delightful and even the visitor's centre is informative and breathtaking. The downside is that the restaurant is so expensive and not inviting at all! I still recommend this place as the gardens are beautiful.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Blue Mountains Botanic Garden, Mount Tomah also viewed

Faulconbridge, New South Wales
Kurrajong Heights, Hawkesbury Valley
 
Blue Mountains National Park, Blue Mountains
Mt Wilson, New South Wales
 

Been to The Blue Mountains Botanic Garden, Mount Tomah? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Blue Mountains Botanic Garden, Mount Tomah, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.