We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Visit to Santiniketan & Stay at Metali Homestays” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Mitali Homestays

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Santiniketan
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Mitali Homestays
Phuldanga | off the Taltore Road, Santiniketan 731235, India   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 13 Santiniketan B&B and Inns
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Visit to Santiniketan & Stay at Metali Homestays”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2014

We stayed at Metali Homestays during our recent visit to Santiniketan. We were a family group of 12 people; 8 of our group was from Kolkata and rest from overseas (Indian too). I have stayed in homestays in other countries but it was my first homestays in India. Mr Krishno Dey has reminded me of his 'homestays' few times before our visit, may be to tame our expectation.
I have read almost all the reviews about Metali before our stay and until the time I am writing this review. Regarding the facility I can agree with some comments (good and not too good) of most traveller.
Mr Krishno dey and Mrs Sukanya is very friendly and polite host. All email and phone communication before our stay was very prompt and detailed. Payment option was acceptable with me (by Pay Pal) though credit card facility was not working. Advice about local area trip was perfect. Other nice things about our stay was presentation of a birthday cake, on my wife's request, on my birthday and "Bawol" song and dance program organised by the host during one of the evening.
It is a facility in India and run by a well-travelled Indian at a special rural place. This business looks like operating in a sellers’ market.
We paid for our stay in full several months before our stay. Communication about meal preferences was spelt out in advance very clearly along with composition of our group and their background expectation. We had all 5 main meals at Metali. Rate asked Rs400/- flat per meal per person. We were quite happy with the price, taste and variety of the food. Mrs Sukanya is an excellent cook herself. But the way food was served and their quantity was very unsatisfactory. My local quests were not at all impressed.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

55 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    42
    8
    2
    3
    0
See reviews for
27
13
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Gurgaon, India
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2014

I may have a slightly different view than what most of the travellers have mentioned. Could be an expectation mismatch. I had gone their with my in-laws and my family.

There is absolutely no doubt that Mr Dey and Ms Sukanya has been great hosts and have tried their best to ensure that everyone feels at home. The location is also great and has a good green cover. Overall , the location and the host get an 'A'

However, it is important to get some of the expectations clearer

- Cleanliness could be a concern , specially the bathrooms.
- The linen and crockery looked quite spotty and definitely needed a clean. You need to specially inform if you need cleaner linen and bed spread. The attention to details for cleanliness is a clear miss.
- It is important to remember that this is a B&B and hence you should be very clear of what to expect in terms of food. Though they have been great hosts to organise food of our choice both during Lunch and dinner , but anything during the day or evening may need an early reminder / agreement before you get in.
- I think they are completely understaffed . Service is almost non-existant as the staff are not very well trained.
- Finally whenever we picked up a point the hosts mention that it is not a hotel and hence we should not be expecting everything as hotels provide... Wish the same could have been applicable on the Tariff rates ( we generally do not pay at home) :)

Overall OK, probably could have been better .

Room Tip: Please ensure that you have spoken with the hosts and conveyed your requirements very clearly. I thi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ulysses28, Owner at Mitali Homestays, responded to this review, January 18, 2014
Let me start by agreeing with the general comment of "needs improvement", or in line with an earlier review, "but can improve", since we wish to strive continually for improvement through guest feedback. We are particularly sensitive to two areas of deficiency pointed out by some: "cleanliness" and "service" and we spend as much time as possible with our staff who come from modest households in neighbouring villages to guide and train them daily in their new functions, so that they can raise their performance standards to the high expectations of urban residents and international travelers. Their limited communication skills are a major challenge, and when we sometimes lose them for reasons beyond our control and have to start afresh, we almost despair! Yet we are encouraged by their unfailing enthusiasm and willingness to learn, given the enormous jump they have to make from their 'survival' backgrounds to the relatively high income levels of the guests they have to deal with. On the guest side, however, we occasionally note a limited ability to go beyond uniform hotel measurement criteria applied to big cities and typical tourist resorts, gauged against room tariff rates that are driven by high costs, certainly in our case. For them there are no compensating advantages from experiencing heritage-type "homestays", which is why there is such a gulf and mismatch of expectations. We will have to try to make our inherent shortcomings clearer in future before bookings are finalised, so that there is no sense left of being 'shortchanged' by their time in Mitali.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kolkata (Calcutta), India
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2014

We spent two days at Mitali from the 21st to the 23 rd December..one of the busiest time at shantiniketan considering poush mela starts by then. This vacation was planned much earlier by us and the booking happened long before in October.
If you are in a deep desire to take a step back and relax..this place plays the catalyst or in some cases would force you to stop and smell the flowers.
You need to get down at prantik station which is after Bolpur and the hosts can send an ambassador which is chargeable at Rs.150 ,but we opted to come by rickshaw which is available at plenty, since we had time and also wanted to soak in the rural setting.It costs us Rs.40 and about 15 mins time of time.
We stayed at Tara which is this amazing room and what makes it amazing is collection of books it has. the bed and the sheets were clean ...the room leads to a small passage which then leads to the bathroom which is a good size and clean. What caught my attention is the thoughtfulness of the hosts for little things..like a small vase a flower on top of the wash basin in the toilet or a quirky lamp shade in the bedroom...and just made the room have its own personality and style.There was both hot and cold running water.Also there was a caram board which we made full use of.
The main building itself has a lot of artistic stuff and is very interestingly placed .The property has a huge lawn an organic garden a nice swing ..on which i spend some good quality time with a book.
The food was good..we have Bengali breakfast the first day which had luchi, brinjal fry and alur dum with tea/coffee and the second day we have English breakfast which had omelette,,bread..bananas and some good ol' home made grapes and orange jam.
the first day lunch was c complete affair again tasty..the dinner was Chinese, and the following dinner was again Indian,which stuffed parathas and chicken and curry along which gondhoraj sorbet.Now when you are in at home stay you have to accept the fact that not always your choice of meal will be made and the larger groups interest are taken in to order.But I'm sure if one has specific need the host would surely make that. Each meal is charged at Rs.250 per person approx.
Both Krishno and Sukanya are really nice and friendly genuinely i felt and not out of a commercial interest.. We had long talks on social,global and political affair and since Krishno is a well traveled man, was quite interesting listening to him.We found them really warm and caring.
I read an earlier review regarding the bill and the 5% panchayat tax-for us we were given a handwritten amount written on a letter head,and it not a bill that you would get out of a normal hotel, but really its not our head ache unless you want it re-imbursed later by office or anywhere else because then it wont do or in case you are on a official trip as that bill will bot get accepted,as far as we were concerned we had a good stay and good company and that's what mattered.
I would suggest in a place like mitali make a 3 day visit at least coz that would help you to soak in the environment and really ease you out from your busy schedule.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kolkata (Calcutta), India
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2013

We just returned from Mitali Homestay after two night stay. It was truly wonderful ... great ambience, excellent food, warm hospitality and personal care makes the stay really memorable. The added attraction is large collection of books on various interesting topics. We thank Mr. Krishno Dey and Sukanya for creating such wonderful experience.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kolkata
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2013

Just returned from Mitali Homestay, had a really wonderful time there with my parents. Beautiful place, warm hospitality, Excellent food...Mitali Homestay has it all.When I booked a room (Gautam) in Mitali for 2 nights, I had really no idea what was waiting for us. To be frank.... I was litte bit confused about this place.
But when we reached the place on 22nd November,2013, the whole thing got changed. Mr.Krishno Dey and Ms. Sukanya Roy was waiting for us with a big smile.What you will realize after coming here is that......there is nothing to do after you reach. And that is the best part of this place. Inspite of that you have to do a lot.....
Relax in your bedroom.....go through old magazines.......relax in the garden looking at the open sky.....take a sip of fresh tea....read you fav book in the garden.....

We would definitely love to visit again.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kolkata (Calcutta), India
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2013

We stayed for a day in Mitali between 23-24 November. The location is a huge plus point; it is calm, serene and scenic in its own way. My elderly parents and young daughter particularly enjoyed the stay.

A couple of improvement points: Based on the homestays we have been to, particularly in southern India, the kitchenette adjoining the room needs to have tea bags, coffee powder, sugar, milk powder without the guests having to ask the in-house help help. There could be more pots and pans. Appreciate the fridge and induction stove that were available.

The help, in this case Santosh, needs to be more trained on basic etiquette. For example, when told that 3 of us would have one type of breakfast and the other two the other type (both of which were available) he bluntly told us that we can only order one type and that too a limited quantity.

The food was ok but the quantity served on the table was not generous automatically making us eat a bit less to ensure the rest of us had enough. A more generous offering would be more appreciated. However, I must mentioned that the hosts were generous to ensure that my daughter had enough milk and food and I did not have to look for alternative options.

The Vishwabharati campus was close by and the hosts were helpful to guide us to nearby places that we could visit.

If you love books and would like to laze with one in your hands, you will be spoilt for choice. The libraries are a treasure trove.

The property is well-maintained and comes with many of the modern amenities. I will recommend the hosts to update their website, which is very interesting and sleek, with the route maps from Panagarh as well as via Ghushkara, for first-timers like me.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
India
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2013

Yes, I can call it my home, that's how comfortable our stay was at Mitali's. Great ambience, great price, great hospitality, great food.....and beautiful nature. You just feel at peace. Can't thank Krishno and Sukanya enough for the care they extended.

If you are planning to visit Shantiniketan, stay there at least once. Rest, as they say, will be history!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Mitali Homestays? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mitali Homestays

Address: Phuldanga | off the Taltore Road, Santiniketan 731235, India
Location: India > West Bengal > Santiniketan
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 13 B&Bs / Inns in Santiniketan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This is an exclusive property (villa) in the Shantiniketan area and guests receive highly personalised attention and service in spacious, natural surroundings. Dining is a speciality, and all meals with accommodation are also available. The emphasis is on maintaining a peaceful and unpolluted base for relaxation. As a Homestay with the owners in residence, care is exercised with the process of guest admission. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mitali Homestays, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Mitali Homestays to your Saves list