We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous boutique hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Albergo Gardenia

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Albergo Gardenia to your Saves list
Albergo Gardenia
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Valle 20, Caslano 6987, Switzerland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Caslano
Certificate of Excellence
Daventry, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
92 helpful votes 92 helpful votes
“Fabulous boutique hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

I stayed one night at this hotel and in a way was sorry my stay wasn't longer. It's in a beautiful quiet location just a gentle stroll from the lake edge. My room was large, well furnished with a lovely big bathroom. Bed was exceptionally comfortable and a good shower. Breakfast was great, lots to chose from. Sadly it was wet so had to have breakfast inside but I believe mm nice days you can eat outside.
The hotel has a small but nice pool, towels are provided in your room.
The hotel doesn't do dinner but there are a few within walking distance.
If I am needing a hotel in the area again I will certainly come back as it was a pleasure staying here.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

35 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    19
    14
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
7
19
1
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Guildford
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013

I regularly stay at this hotel when doing business in Caslano. I have always found it to be very comfortable and well maintained, with immaculately presented rooms. The breakfast is excellent and service from the staff is always friendly. Some pointers for fellow travellers, firstly there is no restuarant for lunch or evening meals. This isn't a problem because the hotel is 300m from Lake Lugano where there are a number of restaurant options as well as being opposite the Grotto Valle which serves excellent food. Secondly the regular rooms have no airconditioning, but the windows are large and there are integral window blinds to block out the sun's rays.

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the immaculate gardens at the rear. Some have balconies allowing you to e...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perthshire
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

This is a lovely house with beautiful gardens complete with swimming pool. There is an amazing collection of contemporary art adorning the walls. The bedrooms are fine but rather lacking in atmosphere - more than adequate though. Be aware that the hotel only does bed and breakfast but there are several nice restaurants close by and it is a lovely stroll down through the old village to the edge of the lake. For the money, we though the breakfast was pretty mediocre and although there was fresh fruit available, the actual fruit salad was tinned. Not good enough for the high price we were paying.

The owner speaks very good English but you somehow get the feeling that running the hotel is a bit of an inconvenience and he would much rather be playing golf!

Although only 6kms from Lugano, it is a 60 euro taxi fare but there is a small station in Caslano which has a train into Lugano every 15 minutes or so. It is a 10 minute walk from the hotel to the station but if you are not up for that, a car really is a necessity. If you do have a car, it is a very short distance into Italy where food and drink are much much cheaper.

Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2011

The hotel looks exactly like what you can see on the pictures. The surroundings are beautiful, we discovered flowers and trees in the hotel's garden we have never seen before. The hotel has a nice swimming pool, and within walking distance you'll find the lake of Lugano (which both are a good choice for summer).
Very useful for a business traveller like me - the hotel offers free (!!) W-LAN access so staying connected with the office via VPN is very easy. The TV's small and not a flat-screen but works (and who's going to Caslano to only watch TV?).
The hotel's parking lot has enough space for your car.
The rooms are very calm and quite and some have a bathroom with a window to open which is nice in summer. The hotel and all rooms and renovated parts are made from superb and outstanding good quality materials. Nothing looks cheap, used or worn-out. As another reviewer wrote, the hotel is equipped with many different art paintings and the owner can tell something to every painting you'll see.
The hotel staff is very friendly, knowledgeable about places to see and always available to help and support.
Please be aware that the hotel has no restaurant (they only serve breakfast in the morning) or room service. If by car, I'd recommend having dinner in Italy rather than dining in Caslano.
The hotel is part of the "Swiss Golf Hotel" association.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
96 reviews 96 reviews
59 hotel reviews
Reviews in 60 cities Reviews in 60 cities
88 helpful votes 88 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2009

This hotel was recommended by a local when we were visiting in the area. It is a former convent, beautifully decorated full of modern art. Our room was large, the beds comfortable topped with duvets and fluffy pillows. There was a swimming pool and a lovely breakfast offered in the morning. It is a short walk from lovely Lake Lugano where Caslano sits. I loved this place.

Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Albergo Gardenia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Albergo Gardenia

Address: Via Valle 20, Caslano 6987, Switzerland
Location: Switzerland > Swiss Alps > Canton of Ticino > Caslano
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Caslano
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Albergo Gardenia 4*
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Hotel.de and Odigeo so you can book your Albergo Gardenia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Albergo Gardenia, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.