We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best in the Caslano area” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Albergo Gardenia

Albergo Gardenia
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Albergo Gardenia to your Saves list
Albergo Gardenia
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Valle 20, Caslano 6987, Switzerland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Caslano
Certificate of Excellence
Guildford
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Best in the Caslano area”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013

I regularly stay at this hotel when doing business in Caslano. I have always found it to be very comfortable and well maintained, with immaculately presented rooms. The breakfast is excellent and service from the staff is always friendly. Some pointers for fellow travellers, firstly there is no restuarant for lunch or evening meals. This isn't a problem because the hotel is 300m from Lake Lugano where there are a number of restaurant options as well as being opposite the Grotto Valle which serves excellent food. Secondly the regular rooms have no airconditioning, but the windows are large and there are integral window blinds to block out the sun's rays.

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the immaculate gardens at the rear. Some have balconies allowing you to e...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank James G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

40 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Perthshire
Level Contributor
35 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

This is a lovely house with beautiful gardens complete with swimming pool. There is an amazing collection of contemporary art adorning the walls. The bedrooms are fine but rather lacking in atmosphere - more than adequate though. Be aware that the hotel only does bed and breakfast but there are several nice restaurants close by and it is a lovely stroll down through the old village to the edge of the lake. For the money, we though the breakfast was pretty mediocre and although there was fresh fruit available, the actual fruit salad was tinned. Not good enough for the high price we were paying.

The owner speaks very good English but you somehow get the feeling that running the hotel is a bit of an inconvenience and he would much rather be playing golf!

Although only 6kms from Lugano, it is a 60 euro taxi fare but there is a small station in Caslano which has a train into Lugano every 15 minutes or so. It is a 10 minute walk from the hotel to the station but if you are not up for that, a car really is a necessity. If you do have a car, it is a very short distance into Italy where food and drink are much much cheaper.

Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank PerthshireClare
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Level Contributor
22 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2011

The hotel looks exactly like what you can see on the pictures. The surroundings are beautiful, we discovered flowers and trees in the hotel's garden we have never seen before. The hotel has a nice swimming pool, and within walking distance you'll find the lake of Lugano (which both are a good choice for summer).
Very useful for a business traveller like me - the hotel offers free (!!) W-LAN access so staying connected with the office via VPN is very easy. The TV's small and not a flat-screen but works (and who's going to Caslano to only watch TV?).
The hotel's parking lot has enough space for your car.
The rooms are very calm and quite and some have a bathroom with a window to open which is nice in summer. The hotel and all rooms and renovated parts are made from superb and outstanding good quality materials. Nothing looks cheap, used or worn-out. As another reviewer wrote, the hotel is equipped with many different art paintings and the owner can tell something to every painting you'll see.
The hotel staff is very friendly, knowledgeable about places to see and always available to help and support.
Please be aware that the hotel has no restaurant (they only serve breakfast in the morning) or room service. If by car, I'd recommend having dinner in Italy rather than dining in Caslano.
The hotel is part of the "Swiss Golf Hotel" association.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank reiseschreibmaschine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
103 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2009

This hotel was recommended by a local when we were visiting in the area. It is a former convent, beautifully decorated full of modern art. Our room was large, the beds comfortable topped with duvets and fluffy pillows. There was a swimming pool and a lovely breakfast offered in the morning. It is a short walk from lovely Lake Lugano where Caslano sits. I loved this place.

Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank lpennin104
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Caslano
1.9 mi away
Albergo Ristorante Stampa
0.8 mi away
Tresa Bay Hotel
Tresa Bay Hotel
#1 of 1 in Ponte Tresa
4.0 of 5 stars 88 reviews
3.3 mi away
Villa Principe Leopoldo
Villa Principe Leopoldo
#13 of 44 in Lugano
4.0 of 5 stars 417 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
Hotel Delfino
Hotel Delfino
#8 of 44 in Lugano
4.0 of 5 stars 160 reviews
4.1 mi away
Lugano Dante Center Swiss Quality Hotel
1.8 mi away
Caroline Hotel Brusimpiano
Caroline Hotel Brusimpiano
#1 of 1 in Brusimpiano
4.0 of 5 stars 65 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Albergo Gardenia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Albergo Gardenia

Address: Via Valle 20, Caslano 6987, Switzerland
Location: Switzerland > Swiss Alps > Canton of Ticino > Caslano
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Caslano
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:4 star — Albergo Gardenia 4*
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Venere and Priceline so you can book your Albergo Gardenia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing