We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Plenty of Chocolate” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Alprose Schokolade-Museum

Alprose Schokolade-Museum
Via Rompada 36, Caslano 6987, Switzerland
+41(0)916118888
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 3 things to do in Caslano
Attraction details
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
27 attraction reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
“Plenty of Chocolate”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2013

We saw the website for the Alprose Chocolate Factory visit and thought it would be a good place to take 2 young boys. Lugano is only a 40 minute drive from Laveno where we were staying on Lake Maggiore in Italy. It costs a couple of Euros to get in and the first thing you see is a chocolate fountain from which you are given a biscuit stick coated in warm chocolate. The museum itself is very small and not particularly interesting but the factory was fascinating with a mixture of automation and intensive human input. As the factory does not operate at weekends, you really must visit during the week.
From the factory you go into the shop where there are plenty of different types of chocolate to sample (free) and you then spend much more than you had planned to, buying chocolate.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

107 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    9
    30
    41
    21
    6
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lucerne, Switzerland
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Total Waste of Time”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2013

My mother and, hoping to enjoy some chocolate, arrived at this museum on a weekday, (and well within the opening hours.) We walked up to the museum, only to find the entrance corded off. There was a cash register there, but there was no staff member to greet us or to take our entrance fee money. We waited there for several minutes. We could tell the museum was open, because every so often a guest would pass through down the hallway a few rooms away from us. It was a hot day and this place was definitely not air-conditioned. After a long wait and no staff appearance, we decided to go outside into the courtyard to have a cool drink. No such luck. Even the vending machine at this place was broken. At this point we just decided to leave, deciding that if they were going to ignore us then they didn't deserve our business. The whole place looked run-down, and when you compare what is actually there to the website, it is totally misleading. I'd say, if you are looking for a fun time for the family in Ticino, definitely don't bother with this place.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Delicious chocolate”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2013

We visited this while on holiday in Luino. It was very cheap as it only cost €2 for an adult and €1 for a child. The museum was a bit dull but the factory was interesting to see.

The museum was very dull and not much to see in it, it was very small too. When you enter there is a big chocolate fountain where you get a free sample of a biscuit wrapped in the fresh melted chocolate to taste (which is amazing). You then get to walk around the tiny, dull museum which has a few glass cabinets with objects in them which weren't great interest.

You can then take a walk round the factory on a raised corridor. All the machines were running when we went and it was very interesting to see the process involved in making chocolate. It was amusing seeing the amount of chocolate produced.

Once you exit the factory you can go into the shop and there are 4 buckets containing chocolate and you just help yourself free of charge. The chocolate is delicious and I did go back a few times to take more handfuls. There are lovely gifts to buy to such as lovely decorated mugs filled with individually wrapped chocolates wrapped up beautifully too. Then at the tills there are these wee chocolates which contain vodka and red bull.

Overall it was well worth a visit and we're glad we did it. I would recommend anybody to visit it on a cloudy day.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rugby England
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
“Tasty chocolate”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2013

Since I visited Rowntrees in York as a young girl it has been my desire to visit a proper operational chocolate factory. While Alprose is quite small I wasn't disappointed. Once again you get to eat as much chocolate as you want and that is without paying the small fee to look around the production of the chocolate. However, we did that as well and it was fascinating to see how seriously they take quality control, taking bar after bar off the production line because it was under weight, no wonder there was lots to eat, delicious!!! The museum was a bit pathetic but as I hate museums anyway, who cares. My 3 year old grandson was glued to the short video they show about the making of chocolate even though it was in German! As a family aged between 3 and 66 we thought it was a good stop on our way to Lugano.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Australia
Top Contributor
312 reviews 312 reviews
175 attraction reviews
Reviews in 105 cities Reviews in 105 cities
164 helpful votes 164 helpful votes
“Interesting visit for chocoholics”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2013

The factory was running during our visit and I found the processes quite interesting. We also watched a short film on chocolate making. There is the inevitable "shop" for chocolate purchases. Prices were much cheaper than in normal shops and a good place to stock up for gifts for chocolate loving friends and family.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Alprose Schokolade-Museum also viewed

Lugano, Canton of Ticino
 
Melide, Canton of Ticino
Lugano, Canton of Ticino
 

Been to Alprose Schokolade-Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Alprose Schokolade-Museum, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.