We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“birthday” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Horse and Jockey

Horse and Jockey
Usk Road,, Pontypool, Wales
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #19 of 37 Restaurants in Pontypool
Cuisines: British
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“birthday”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2014

visited this restraunt for my partners birthday i had the 24ounce mixed girl woooow wa a meal all off us had a fabulas meal and will b going back for seconds amazing and good prices this restraunt is very very good

  • Visited February 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

69 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    22
    15
    9
    13
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Pontypool, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Busy atmosphere”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2014

Came here twice due to work related night out. Nice meals but a little bit long waiting around for staff.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sunny wales
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“it used to be good buttttt....”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2014

not any more... had 2 quite pricey steaks with chips n peas,, although cooked for medium was soooo chewy i couldn`t eat mine after a good try but nothing was said when the plate collected so not impressed.. i rarely have need to complain but would have been courteous to ask.... hubby ate his ok but wont be going back. The pub itself should be a lovely cosy warm and welcoming place to be and up to the minute decor but now is very TIRED and SHABBY looking, so is very bland.... enough said..¬¬¬¬¬¬¬¬¬¬¬

  • Visited November 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
195 reviews 195 reviews
101 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 66 cities Reviews in 66 cities
124 helpful votes 124 helpful votes
“Ideal for casual dining and big groups”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2013

We visited the pub as a party of nine and we were very well looked after. Staff are friendly and attentive. The food is pretty standard 'pub-grub' but is well-priced. There is an extensive menu with a variety of cuisines to try.

The pub could probably do with a bit of a re-fit as it is quite tired.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maidstone, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“After using the toilet It should have warned me.”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2013

I am a 64yr old man, with my daughter and boyfriend we visited this place in september 2013. the quality of the food was apalling, I ordered mussels for a starter, 6 shells had not opened, I easly detected these come out of a supermarket flat pack because of the content and lack of liquer.I ordered a chicken madrass for a main course, the chicken must have been ripped from the bird, the first time the chicken had seen its sauce was when it come out of the jar and put in the microwave.The service was appalling, the waiting staff just stood round in a circle talking, to get service you had to call for them. to cut this horrible experience short, because i have never had to write a review before, i will conclude.With drinks our bill was almost £70, we did leave a tip of £5,i dont know why? but I am diabeticand needed to go and sit in the car to take my 2 injections, whilst my daughter and boyfriend smoked a cigarette outside.A couple of minutes later they were questioned about the bill by a waiter, who then returned for a second time, we left perplexed, and vowed never to return. my regards to the microwave who worked very hard. We were on holiday from kent.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Horse and Jockey also viewed

Pontypool, Torfaen
Pontypool, Torfaen
 
Pontypool, Torfaen
 

Been to Horse and Jockey? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Horse and Jockey, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.