We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food and beer.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Little Crown Inn & Restaurant

The Little Crown Inn & Restaurant
Elled Road | Wainfelin, Pontypool NP4 6DR, Wales
+44 1495 763148
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 37 Restaurants in Pontypool
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $12 - $47
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Description: Here at The Little Crown Inn we pride ourselves on making your visit as enjoyable as possible, whether you’re just popping in for a quick bite to eat, or staying for a 4 course meal and a relaxing night in one of our 5 en suite guest rooms. . Located in the heart of the valleys and situated next to the cycle track, we are ideally situated for cyclists and ramblers, and are able to cater for large groups as well as small parties. The pub boasts a large bar area, with a restaurant and function room, and is equipped with a pool table and dart board. We’ve themed the corridor leading to the new restrooms on a mine shaft, equipped with real miners’ lamps and gas masks! It’s definitely worth a look! For more information, why not follow us on Twitter or Facebook, or please visit our webpage!
Pontypool, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Good food and beer.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2013

Visited the restaurant on the spur of the moment early on a drizzly Thursday evening. The food was freshly cooked, plentiful and tasty. The service was efficient and friendly. There is a good range of dishes on offer for vegetarians and meat eaters and prices are reasonable. The Inn is a little bit out of the way,but worth seeking out. I would think that buying off the daily specials board is a good idea if you are in a hurry, but the ambience in the restaurant is comfortable, the music is not too loud and there is a good choice of drinks on offer to enjoy with conversation while you wait for your chosen food to be freshly cooked.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LittleCrown, Front Office Manager at The Little Crown Inn & Restaurant, responded to this review, June 19, 2013
Hi Lynne

Thank you for taking the time to review The Little Crown Inn on Trip Advisor! We welcome all feedback as we are constantly trying to improve on our service to our customers.

It's fantastic when we receive a review such as yours, as it's what we aim to achieve every day and it makes the long hours worth it to hear that you had such a lovely time!

We hope see you again in the near future!

Many thanks

Emma
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

126 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    96
    20
    6
    4
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Pontypool, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
“highly recommended”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2013

We have been here on a few different occasions and always found the food fantastic. Staff are welcoming and helpful and the pub is clean and nicely decorated.
we would recommend this for anything for an informal meal with friends to family celebrations - will not disappoint.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LittleCrown, Front Office Manager at The Little Crown Inn & Restaurant, responded to this review, June 11, 2013
Hi!

Thanks for taking the time to write your glowing review of The Little Crown Inn...

It's so lovely to hear not only that our customers loved the food, but that you appreciated the service you received as well...

We hope you visit us many more times and continue to enjoy dining with us!

Best wishes,

Emma
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pontypool, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“home cooking”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013

visited the little crown as they do a very good early bird menu with lots of variety and choice for around £6,there is also a specials board for the day and a regular menu.I ordered off the earlybird menu and opted for the miners pie even though I wasn't entirely sure what it was but was I glad I did fantastic ,my other half opted for the venison burger off the specials board which was also good home cooking at its best,i would recommend this restaurant but only if you want top class food at a great price.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LittleCrown, Front Office Manager at The Little Crown Inn & Restaurant, responded to this review, June 11, 2013
Hi Nicola

Thank you for taking the time to review The Little Crown Inn - we love to hear what our customers think so that we can improve on our high standards!

We're so pleased to hear that you enjoyed our Miner's Pie - it certainly is a favourite with the regulars!

We'd love to welcome you back in the near future...

All the best,

Emma
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cwmbran, United Kingdom
1 review
“great value home cooked food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2013

I have visited The lIttle Crown Inn several times.I organise social groups as part of my work we have had a group of 35 and pre ordered. The food is great quality proper home cooked food which is great value for money. Service is good and and i feel the Manager and the staff go the extra mile to ensure dining at the little crown is a good experience and for a large group it has all been very efficient and we cant wait to go again in June Anne Carpenter

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LittleCrown, Front Office Manager at The Little Crown Inn & Restaurant, responded to this review, June 11, 2013
Hi Anne

Many thanks for your lovely review of The Little Crown Inn... We welcome all feedback as it helps us to continuously improve our services.

We're so pleased to hear that you enjoy the occasions that you celebrate here at The Little Crown Inn, and look forward to welcoming you back many times in the future.

Best wishes,

Emma
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
“Fantastic!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2013

Local business that serves amazing home cooked food. Good value for money with daily specials! Highly recommend paying a visit!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LittleCrown, Front Office Manager at The Little Crown Inn & Restaurant, responded to this review, May 20, 2013
Hi Nikki

Many thanks for taking the time to review The Little Crown Inn, we welcome all feedback as we are constantly trying to improve on our standards.

We're so pleased that you enjoy our home cooked food (I'll make sure to pass your compliments onto the kitchen team!) and we hope to see you again in the near future!

Kindest regards

Emma
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Little Crown Inn & Restaurant also viewed

 
Pontypool, Torfaen
 

Been to The Little Crown Inn & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Little Crown Inn & Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.