We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“DIABOLICAL” 1 of 5 stars
Review of The Cott Inn

Save Saved
You added The Cott Inn to your Saves list
The Cott Inn
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Cott Inn
Cott Lane, Dartington, Totnes TQ9 6HE, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 5 Dartington B&B and Inns
Devon
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“DIABOLICAL”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2009

Went with a group of friends for dinner at this well known, locally, inn. I believe that the ownership/management must have changed recently since the meal was inedible, the service akin to the worst exigencies of Fawlty Towers in it's heyday. Can't go wrong with rib-eye steak can you. Oh yes you can for the poor relation that was served, after being returned to the 'chef'' to staunch the blood flowing from a 'medium to well done steak', apart from being too tough to eat, bore little resemblance to any rib-eye steak of my acquaintance - apart that is from the price. When We complained the less than interested waitress replied 'I'll bring your bill' - no apology or mention of desserts, coffee etc. Totally disinterested. Even paying the bill (which strictly speaking we shouldn't have done) was a dilemma for the staff who took some considerable time and finger-counting to arrive at a result near the truth. By the way they don't accept credit cards. The kitchen closes early about 9 o'clock and even if you wanted a dessert or coffee, whatever, tough - you ain't getting it alright. This is one place that I will not be returning to - even if the food was free.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

129 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    85
    26
    6
    3
    9
See reviews for
19
71
2
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Stourport on Severn, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2008

We booked this hotel after being let down on a booking for a different one at the last minute. As it was a Bank Holiday weekend we booked it as soon as we saw there were rooms available.

Checking the reviews on Trip Advisor after booking made us wish we had not bothered, but in fairness it was not as bad as we were led to believe. The hotel is certainly old, and has a charming exterior with its thatched roof, stone walls and hanging baskets. Inside it is exactly as you would expect a building from the C14th to be. Ceilings are low, floors are uneven and there is quite a dingy feel to the atmosphere. The welcome was more efficient than warm; nothing you could actually complain about, but we did feel as if we were a bit of an incovenience.

Our room was functional, but certainly nothing special. While it was quite clean, it was shabby and certainly in need of a freshen up. This is a comment that could be applied to the whole of the hotel actually.

We ate in the hotel restaurant on the first night. The food was reasonable, although we waited 45 minutes for our starters and a further 30 for the main course. There was quite a good choice on the menu, and also some interesting specials on the board.

In summary I would say that the hotel was reasonable value for money. It is certainly better than some of the previous reviewers would have you believe, but some of the points made are fair enough.

  • Liked — Location and period charm
  • Disliked — Shabbiness, slow service
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
warminster pa
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2007

I was surprised to see the reviews on this property. We were charmed by the look and feel of this 13th century Inn. The bar was exceptionally charming and the bar staff was very friendly. We stayed in the family room and have no complaints other than not having a shower. Haven't had to use tub hoses since I was a kid. But we found this entertaining not bothersome. Our dinner and breakfast were excellent. The gentleman owner seemed a bit uptight but addressed any needs that we had. I would definitely recommend this hotel, especially
for US tourists, like ourselves that cannot have this experience at home.

  • Stayed November 2007
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, UK
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2007

I stayed for one night at the Cott Inn, despite having read the reviews on this site. I found the staff friendly and the service good, and my evening meal was excellent - asparagus, salad and a home made beef pie. The room was in desperate need of redecoration, but it was clean and the bed was comfortable. The en-suite also old and poorly decorated (no shower) but everything worked. I ignored the TripAdvisor warnings on this occasion because I had a meeting very close to the pub the following day, and the pub was recommened by a colleague who lives in the area. The pub does enjoy a good reputation locally for food. The breakfast was huge, well cooked and with good quality bacon, sausage etc. Overall I am pleased that I stayed there, I enjoyed good food and found the whole thing far better than staying in a characterless hotel. I suspect that if I had turned up without having read these reviews, I would have been quite disappointed by the condition of my room.

  • Liked — The pub
  • Disliked — Decoration
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tiverton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2007

Poor value for money - the inn actually quoted us £10 less than we paid online but refused to allow the lower price. Bar staff were pleasant but barman was not especially welcoming. Evening meal nothing special in taste or presentation. Room basic and comfortable but rather shoddy condition (window latches broken, en-suite extractor fan not working, light fixture not working; unable to comment on shower as the lights fused and we were unable to use the bathroom at all in the morning!). Breakfast OK but nothing special. Overall not worth the £80 we paid for a double – at this price, cannot recommend this place.

  • Liked — The view from the outside (once you look beyond the carpark!)
  • Disliked — Poor service and tatty state
  • Stayed May 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
n. yorks
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2007

Was recommended by another hotel we have stayed at before, can only assume they have not actually visited!
This place was terrible, room not cleaned properly with sticky marks and un-washed cups. Bathroom a mess and we were told not to use the shower as it soaks table 17 in the restaurant below!
Food was ok but service a joke, it took 1hr 40 mins to order a desert and were told the following evening that no food could be served as a coach trip was due!
Its a lovely picturesque property to look at but don't stay unless you fancy the Fawlty Towers experience.

  • Liked — leaving
  • Disliked — everything
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dundas, Canada
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2007

Very poor value for money. We stayed for 3 nights. The Inn was cute from the outside, after all it had been an Inn since 1320 - this was why we booked to get a bit of Olde England. It was in a quiet location but unfortunately the rooms overlooked the pub entrance and car park - it could be quite noisey. The room was tired looking and the bathroom had no shower - just a very grubby water stained bath. On our first attempt to have a bath there was no hot water. The next day the water was so hot it was dangerous. On our last morning the water was cold again so we complained at breakfast and the innkeeper said the furnace had gone out and would re-light it so we could bathe after breakfast - this was done. The breakfasts were as expected - a lot of food which we could never finish. We had dinner at the Cott on our first night - it was of poor quality, overcooked and again huge - again a lot of waste. I guess some would think that is good value but we prefer quality over quantity.

  • Liked — Old world appearance
  • Disliked — Everything
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Cott Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Cott Inn

Address: Cott Lane, Dartington, Totnes TQ9 6HE, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Totnes > Dartington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Dartington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The famous Cott Inn in Dartington is one of the oldest thatched inns in Britain. It is reputed to have been built in the reign of Edward II (1307 to 1327) and has been an Inn / Pub since 1320. More information here.Situated in the village of Dartington near Totnes with beautiful countryside all around, The Cott Inn is a charming traditional family run pub. We are proud to serve excellent locally sourced seasonal food, fine wines and well kept ales, including daily fish specials and fabulous Sunday roast lunches. Perfect for romantic dinners and evenings out with friends, The Cott Inn is also a great venue for private parties with a separate dining room for up to 30 people. Come and enjoy the relaxed, friendly atmosphere, with cosy log fires in the winter months and a large, pretty garden and patio area in warmer weather. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, BookingOdigeoWL and Priceline so you can book your The Cott Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Cott Hotel Dartington
The Cott Inn Dartington, Devon - Totnes

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Cott Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.