We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a Place” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Godolphin Arms

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Godolphin Arms to your Saves list
Godolphin Arms
West End, Marazion TR17 0EN, England   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 7 Marazion B&B and Inns
Penzance
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“What a Place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2010

As a birthday treat I decided to take my girlfriend for a weekend break...I booked at the last minute, and right from the word go the staff couldn't do enough to help. We arrived and were shown to our room....which probably has the best view I have ever seen looking out across to St. Michael's Mount and Lizard Point, the room was spacious and clean and the bed was comfy. On our first night we went down for a meal, the menu catered for everyones taste, from fish and chips to fresh fillets of seabass, all of which were very reasonably priced. All of the staff were all very friendly and made us feel really very welcome.
We both will definitely be returning and just wish we had discovered this place sooner!

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

207 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    143
    44
    13
    6
    1
See reviews for
41
122
9
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (75)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Cheshire
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2010

We (my Cavalier King Charles Spaniel, Toby and I) received a very warm welcome when we arrived. We were shown to our room which was very tastefully decorated and spotlessly clean. We walked out of the door straight onto one of the best beaches in the area. We enjoyed great bar food with fantastic views of Mounts Bay and St Michaels Mount. Toby was made to feel very welcome and could even join me in the bar area for dinner and breakfast (the breakfast being exceptional)

Toby and I enjoyed further hospitality whilst watching the Manchester United match in the Gig bar. I enjoyed, hand pulled Cornish Tribute (the best I have ever tasted) whilst Toby munched away on complimentary doggie treats from the very friendly bar staff.

A thoroughly enjoyable, dog friendly place to stay. I would highly recommend it.

Enjoy !
Jeremy (and Toby), Cheshire

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Highland Sassenach
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2009

First impressions, the hotel looked pleasant enough from the outside, and the interior was clean bland and totally unmemorable.
we waited at reception for about 10 minutes being totally ignored as the staff conducted an arguement amongst themselves, it wasnt until we made to leave that one of them decided it might be worth their while seeing if they could help.
The room we stayed in for 1 night was clean comfortable and pleasant enough, although the bathroom was a disappointment having a weak shower and a shallow bath.
The bar / restaurant was totally devoid of character and gave the vague impression of one of thouse out of town retail experiance food chains such as TGI Friday, which was a pitty given the regency style of the hotel structure itself.
The food was the very best (?) that 3663 food service or some such par cooked food supplier could churn out - standard fayre such as fish and chips, scampi and chips, chicken and chips...&etc all brighly coloured and bursting with addatives and preservatives.
Suspecting that the dining experience would not delight we tried to find somewhere else to eat, but with the only other hotel proudly offering identical fayre, the pub having its kitchens refurbished and the restaurant suffering under the misapprehension that pretentious sounding dishes coupled with swiss family Robinson decor, make an enticing venue; We admitted defeat and conceeded that it was after all only "fuel" we returned to the hotel to partake of a meal which exactly met our expectations.
Given the hotels location (overlooking St Michael's Mount) appearance and potential this was a sorry, though all too familure, inditement on what people in the hospitality industry feel they can get away with.
It wasnt expensive , but it was along way off being value for money or somewhere we would stay or eat at again unless we really didnt have any other option.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
plymouth, devon
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2009

Had a great stay at the Godolphin Arms just before Christmas. Took in the Christmas lights of Mousehole and Angarrack with our small children and spent a lovely morning in St Ives.
The Godolphin was great for a family with young children. We stayed in Room 6 which has a huge balcony (only good for star-gazing in December, but still glad we had it!) and a small internal bunk room for the kids. It was really attractively decorated and comfortably furnished. We ate in the bar one night and the food was good pub grub.
The breakfast was particularly good. There was a great selection of fresh fruit and yoghurt to accompany it and the full cooked breakfast was huge (with good quality sausages.) It was really easy to feed the kids. The staff were really pleasant and helpful at breakfast and throughout our stay, without being obtrusive.
We had to abandon our normal December Cornish Hotel because of a complaint after our children woke up early. No such worries at the Godolphin! We wil return, again and again and again I expect!

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cornwall
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2009

Another cheerful and refreshing stay at the Godolphin Arms; good food, very comfortable bed, helpful staff and the ultimately stunning location. Wi fi and early breakfasts available; can-do attitude from staff -what'snot to love?

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blackham, near Tunbridge Wells
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2009

This hotel is mediocre - redeemed only by the stunning location looking across to St Michael's Mount. We stayed two nights in a non sea view room which was clean etc but lacked cosiness and style compared with other places we stayed in Cornwall during this trip. Bathroom had seen better days, with old style shower that dripped water rather than gushed and it was difficult to get the right temperature. Breakfast filling but nothing special and included overcooked scrambled eggs as well as reheated food. At £90 per night B and B we thought it poor vfm overall.

We ate there one night - again nothing special - and had a far better meal the next night at the Kings Arms down the road. Godolphin Arms bar looked in need of a makeover too. Worst of all, staff started hoovering at 2100 in the resturant area (open plan right next to bar area) with no thought for customers who were still eating their evening bar meal. This hotel probably makes a fortune in the summer thanks to its excellent location and views - but frankly I would stay elsewhere next time (there are some lovely B and Bs in the town) and just pop in for a drink on the terrace.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sianmanager, Manager at Godolphin Arms, responded to this review, November 7, 2009
The majority of rooms at The Godolphin Arms have sea views. Our rooms have just been refurbished in January, with excellent quality curtains, bed linen etc. All bathrooms were painted at the same time, and all fittings are in excellent order. Bathrooms are advertised as 'with bath' and the showers are attachments from the taps, apart from one room which has shower only. The Godolphin Arms is renowned by guests for its plentiful and wide choice of breakfasts. A choice of Fresh fruit, Juices and cereal from the breakfast buffet - unlimited coffee and tea, and a choice of 7 types of cooked breakfasts, all served by staff who really do care about our customers. I strongly dispute that any food has ever been reheated. All breakfasts are cooked on order, and this statement made by the reviewer is just NOT correct. The staff would also always be very happy to ask the breakfast chef to cook more scrambled egg if it was not to a guests satisfaction.
Hoovering is also not something that happens in the evening. on this one occasion perhaps they had a particularly messy floor to deal with. I am sorry that these guests did not enjoy their stay as much as we would have hoped. Our staff really do strive to make every visitor have a positive experience which is born out by the responses in our visitors book and many other positive reviews.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Weston-super-Mare
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2009

We had a great room, room 11 family room views of St Michaels mount. On the beach 3 miles Penzance. Was taking part in a triathlon with a very early start, they could not do enough to help especially with a morning breakfast.

Well done guys keep it up will see you next year

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Godolphin Arms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Godolphin Arms

Address: West End, Marazion TR17 0EN, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Marazion
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Marazion
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Godolphin Arms is on the water’s edge of Mount’s Bay along a two mile stretch of beach in the historic market town of Marazion, West Cornwall. It overlooks the beautiful St Michael’s Mount, with one of the most magnificent beachside views in the country.Following a major renovation inside and out, the Godolphin Arms has recently reopened its doors unveiling a warm and welcoming beachside inn – a place to eat, drink or stay and explore the unspoilt beauty of the South West coast.Our stunning coastal location has inspired the design, bringing the natural beauty of the beach outside in with relaxed, mellow living spaces and a stunning centrepiece - a two storey light-bathed glass and zinc dining area opening out onto a balcony upstairs and a terrace downstairs. Walk straight in off the beach to our colourful and chilled-out beach bar, linger on the beachside terrace with friends or relax and unwind on the comfy sofas and chairs by the woodburner. Eating at the Godolphin Arms is a relaxed and informal affair and we offer an all-day menu to be enjoyed whatever the occasion or mood. Our food philosophy is simple; we want to provide freshly cooked food that tastes delicious, is beautifully presented and showcases the quality and seasonality of local Cornish produce.Whether you choose to eat, drink or stay in one of our ten en-suite bedrooms, the team will be delighted to welcome you and will do all they can to ensure your stay with us is both memorable and enjoyable. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Godolphin Arms reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Godolphin Arms Hotel Marazion
Godolphin Arms Marazion, Cornwall

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Godolphin Arms, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.