We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous Views” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Godolphin Arms Restaurant

Godolphin Arms Restaurant
West End | Godolphin Arms, Marazion TR17 0EN, England
+44 1736 888510
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #8 of 19 Restaurants in Marazion
Price range: $15 - $26
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Scenic view
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Delivery, Late Night, Reservations
Description: Food served throughout the day Eating at the Godolphin Arms is a relaxed and informal affair and we offer an all-day menu to be enjoyed whatever the occasion or mood. Our food philosophy is simple; we want to provide freshly cooked food that tastes delicious, is beautifully presented and showcases the quality and seasonality of local Cornish produce. From hearty Cornish breakfasts to relaxed lunches and intimate dinners, our menu is inspired by living and working by the sea and produce grown and farmed locally. Fresh daily bakes of the most delicious desserts and cakes are also offered up, to be enjoyed alongside the perfect cappuccino or latte. Where to eat? Lots of natural, light bathed and restful spaces - all with far-reaching views out over Mount's Bay and St Michael's Mount. Sit in the new glass and zinc extension, with doors that open out for al fresco dining during the summer months. Celebrate with family or friends around the intimate Captain's Table that seats 9 or alternatively, relax in our upper deck that has easy sofas, comfy chairs and a logburner. On the lower deck, walk straight in off the beach to the colourful and chilled-out beach bar and dining area. Outside, the beach terrace remains a place to linger, absorb the astonishing views and simply watch the world go by.
Kidderminster, England, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Fabulous Views”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2014 via mobile

The place has been outstandingly refurbished and really makes the most of the views for dinners. The food was well presented and delicious. We went on Sunday evening and we intend to go again before our weeks holiday is up. Prices seem to be in line with other local restaurants.

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

729 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    269
    233
    116
    70
    41
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
65 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Lovely Place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2014

Great views , lovely furnishings , helpful staff , we really enjoyed our lunch here after a morning on St Michaels mount . The fish and chips were very good indeed and the mushy peas very unusual.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chichester, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
“Sparkling cocktails over a shimmering sea”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2014

Some how, we managed to get to Marazion an hour too early for our meal at Ben's, so we thought we'd check out the newly refurbished Godolphin for a drink... wow, this place is beautiful, in a very natural and fresh way. The view over St Michael's Mount is obscenely beautiful, especially at sunset and the wonderful thing about this place, they don't take bookings (unless you are a resident in the hotel). Don't let that put you off, it's to your advantage, as we managed to slip into a sea view very easily as one couple left.

The cocktails are heavenly, I experienced two basins of Seabreezes and they were the perfect blend of sharp grapefruit and refreshing cranberry. The food coming out of the restaurant looked gorgeous, especially the beer battered cod - this was no ordinary cod, it was huge, juicy and I had to keep reminding myself I was going to be eating at the brilliant Ben's in 45 minutes !! Otherwise I'd have ordered too, I was so hungry from walking. The staff are immaculate and faultless, with a sense of humour too.

We have booked to stay over Christmas, we loved it that much and I am looking forward to reviewing that experience too :))

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Great view, good food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2014 via mobile

Had lunch at the Godolphin. Modern and stylish restaurant. Enjoyed the view and the excellent service. Big portions of lovely food. Would definitely come back.

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
“Fabulous location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2014

We had lunch here whilst staying nearby in our motorhome. We were welcomed by staff who were very helpful. Sat by window with fantastic views of St Michaels mount. I had smoked haddock chowder[£6] with a large chunk of very good quality bread,it was scrumscious. My partner had burger and chips which was also good. We returned one evening onto the outdoor terrace for a drink again with views to die for. It was busy and took some time for drinks to arrive ,very relaxing watching a young man frolicking in the sea with seaweed draped over his head.
We will definately return when in Cornwall again.

    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Godolphin Arms Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Godolphin Arms Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Godolphin Arms Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.