We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not even average...” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Godolphin Arms Restaurant

Godolphin Arms Restaurant
West End | Godolphin Arms, Marazion TR17 0EN, England
+44 1736 888510
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #8 of 19 Restaurants in Marazion
Price range: $16 - $26
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Scenic view
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Dinner, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Description: Food served throughout the day Eating at the Godolphin Arms is a relaxed and informal affair and we offer an all-day menu to be enjoyed whatever the occasion or mood. Our food philosophy is simple; we want to provide freshly cooked food that tastes delicious, is beautifully presented and showcases the quality and seasonality of local Cornish produce. From hearty Cornish breakfasts to relaxed lunches and intimate dinners, our menu is inspired by living and working by the sea and produce grown and farmed locally. Fresh daily bakes of the most delicious desserts and cakes are also offered up, to be enjoyed alongside the perfect cappuccino or latte. Where to eat? Lots of natural, light bathed and restful spaces - all with far-reaching views out over Mount's Bay and St Michael's Mount. Sit in the new glass and zinc extension, with doors that open out for al fresco dining during the summer months. Celebrate with family or friends around the intimate Captain's Table that seats 9 or alternatively, relax in our upper deck that has easy sofas, comfy chairs and a logburner. On the lower deck, walk straight in off the beach to the colourful and chilled-out beach bar and dining area. Outside, the beach terrace remains a place to linger, absorb the astonishing views and simply watch the world go by.
Cornwall
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Not even average...”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2013

Went here back in January,

Bar looks nice, drinks are fresh and the view was lovely, but unfortunately the food is awful and the service average at best.

Ordered their seafood platter which was filled with breaded "whitebait" as it's so cheap, and just a few scampi and 2 tiny crab cakes. It all tasted of burnt oil where they haven't changed it for a long time.

It's also worth noting that the "sample menu" on their website, wasn't the one we received.

My medium steak was between blue and rare, really tough and sinewy. The chips tasted again of burnt fat frier oil and the final straw was that there was no garnish other than a piece of tomato and some mushrooms.

Very much a let down so worth looking around at the other options in Marazion.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

627 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    222
    209
    98
    62
    36
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Market Harborough
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Good lunch with a view!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2013 via mobile

We popped into the GA for lunch on a Saturday. We were quite early (pre 12) but as my 2 and 1 year old were hungry it seemed a good safe bet. We were pleasantly surprised with the overall experience. We were seated in the window seats overlooking St. Michaels mount (this is a must), our waitress was outstanding and looked after us really well, the food was good - my curry from the specials was great the other dishes ranged from average to good.

This place is worth a visit for a good lunch and a great view.

    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
“The Best Pub View Ever!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

My boyfriend and I first came across this pub in April of last year. We had planned to walk across to St Michael's Mount but had not checked the tide times. When we arrived the causeway was under water so we were forced to sit in the pub to wait for the tide to go in- yep it was a real chore!

We were fortunate enough to get a seat that faced out of the window, looking directly out at the Mount. Words cannot express how amazing the view was. Even my boyfriend was speechless (and that never happens). The bars and waitressing staff are very friendly and chatty making the experience even more enjoyable. The bar stocks a good range of drinks including Betty Stogs. I have not eaten a main meal yet, only a snack, but all of the food looks very nice. It was an amazing sight to watch the tide gradually go in, revealing the causeway. We took some great photographs.

We revisited the pub on our recent trip to Cornwall and enjoyed it just as much. I feel this will become a regular haunt on all future holidays. I strongly recommend a trip to this pub for the view alone.

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cornwall,ENGLAND
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Good average food with great views”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

Nice modern feeling pub/restaurant which serves a slightly better than average standard pub grub, great for just a drink or a snack/meal. Sunday carvery is good value with great views over St Michaels Mount/ Mounts Bay/ Marazion Beach. Service is ok but it can get busy during the holiday season. Gig bar below is nice for a few beers.

  • Visited March 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxted, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Great Views and good food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

very nice location, make sure you get a St Michaels Mount window seat to watch the ever changing skyline. Food is good quality and the staff were very friendly. Good value for money and you really can't beat the view.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Godolphin Arms Restaurant also viewed

 
Marazion, Cornwall
 

Been to Godolphin Arms Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Godolphin Arms Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.