We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We have had a great time and would recommend to others.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Wheal Rodney Holiday Park

Save Saved
You added Wheal Rodney Holiday Park to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Wheal Rodney Holiday Park
Gwallon, Marazion TR17 0HL, England   |  
Hotel amenities
devon
1 review
“We have had a great time and would recommend to others.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2013 via mobile

We have just returned from a short break here with our 2 dogs and it has been fantastic. We stayed in one of the lodges and it was immaculate. It had everything inside that we needed. The staff are very friendly and the location is within easy walking distance of the town. We would definitely recommend it to our friends.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sian L, General Manager at Wheal Rodney Holiday Park, responded to this review, October 14, 2013
Many thanks for taking the time to review Wheal Rodney. We are all please to hear that you enjoyed your stay and found your lodge to be clean and well equipped. The holiday park is ideally located to explore our local area and is also within easy walking distance to Marazion town too. We hope to see you again in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

166 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    126
    30
    9
    1
    0
See reviews for
59
69
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Chichester, England
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013 via mobile

camping pitches did not comply with fire regulations. And no choice offered Facilities were not clean at all times. More checks could be made. Reception staff friendly.excellent location, 5 minutes to nearest public house. Indoor pool good for children's warm for adults. Not a lot to do if raining in marazion

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sian L, Owner at Wheal Rodney Holiday Park, responded to this review, October 2, 2013
This review is libellous in our view. We take fire regulations very seriously, we had our inspection in June this year and passed with flying colours and because of this we also gained a higher percentage in our AA inspection. All of our electrical certification are up to date and are available at reception for the public to view. We have fire extinguishers placed in correct areas around the site, and also emergency lighting that has been put in this year so we are very up to date.

No choice of pitch can be offered if we are fully booked. I am afraid that it is first come first serve, but at the same time this should not matter as all our pitches are of the same high standard. If you wanted to move and we had the availability we would have been more than happy for you to do this.

Our camping facilities are thoroughly cleaned twice daily and checked at least six times a day to make sure they are as clean as can be. It is more difficult to keep the complex spotless when it is heavily raining as more grass can be brought in, but we do try our best at all times and are sorry if you did not feel this.

We are glad that you enjoyed our indoor pool and found our staff very helpful and friendly. If you came to reception and asked we could have given you a list of things to do. There is a lots available nearby.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Braintree, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013 via mobile

Really lovely campsite! Friendly staff, which were really helpful when we broke down and got there really late!

Swimming pool is free to guests which is a really nice touch.

The woman's showers were amazing and the whole place is absolutely spotless! My husband said the men's weren't so great and at one point the pressure got so great that the shower head blew off and he was left showering with a hose, this wasn't of any real concern though and from what I understand they are putting in new one, and if they are anything like the woman's they'll be fab!

Nice walk into the town and there is a lot of places that you can take dogs!

Definitely would recommend this campsite, take some warm clothes though gets a little chilly at the campsite - where as the town is like a sun trap and was like being on the med!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sian L, Owner at Wheal Rodney Holiday Park, responded to this review, October 2, 2013
Thank you for such a positive review. We are glad that you found our site to be 'lovely' and that you found the 'whole place to be spotless.' The new showers were put in for this season so we are pleased that you loved them so much.

Marazion on the whole is a very dog friendly place and we are happy that your dog also had a lovely holiday. We hope to welcome you back in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Neots, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2013

Excellent campsite , friendly staff , well looked after , facilities great , the showers were the best i have used with plenty of hot water , I did not use the swimming pool so i cant comment on that but im sure it was great just like the rest of the site , I couldn't find anything to complain about only that its 360 miles from where I live otherwise I would be camping there a lot more next summer , my partner & I stayed for 6 nights the first week of sept & had a fantastic time & we will defiantly be visiting again next year , thanks
Darren Peters

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sian L, Owner at Wheal Rodney Holiday Park, responded to this review, October 2, 2013
Thank you for your review. We do try and make every visitors stay with us as great as we can, and we are so pleased to find that we made this happen for you. Next time you come you should definitely use the swimming pool.

We will see you next year. If you want to come in peak times and you have a specific pitch that you would like then we do recommend you book quite far in advance.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2013 via mobile

Facilities excellent, very clean. All the staff were friendly. We had a great time camping and would definitely stay there again. The only thing that would make it better would be a small bar for the people staying there.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sian L, Owner at Wheal Rodney Holiday Park, responded to this review, September 28, 2013
We are delighted that you found our campsite to be ‘excellent’ and that are facilities are also outstanding. The main reason we do not have a bar on site is that we are a small quiet site and this is what our regulars love about us. They are not worried about their children or themselves being woken up by noise. We also thought it would be unnecessary as just a 5 minute walk up the lane is our local pub which you can enjoy a drink in until late at night. We hope to welcome you again and thank you for your kind honest review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
south wales
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

This was a lovely little holiday park, chalet was lovely and clean and well presented. The staff were very friendly and helpful and we thoroughly enjoyed the swim in the indoor heated pool. Very good facilities and a lovely little spot to stay. We only stayed overnight on the way home from St Ives. Would definitely recommend this site.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sian L, Owner at Wheal Rodney Holiday Park, responded to this review, September 26, 2013
Even though you had a short stay with us we are glad that you had a lovely time and enjoyed all we had to offer. We do make sure that the lodges are of a high standard of cleanliness and that they are presented well, this makes a guests stay that more enjoyable. We are open all year around so come and visit us again sometime.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exmouth, United Kingdom
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2013

We do not do camping, but what a find.
We stayd in one of the lodges,very comfortable,clean and everything you need,including ironing board and iron.
We stayed hubby, mum and brother on thursday 12th september.
Staff very helpful, on site shop had the basics and not a rip off.
Hubby and i would normally stay 3 4 or 5 star accomodation,no complaints at all.
Well done to the team.

Room Tip: all you need is your hairdryer
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sian L, Owner at Wheal Rodney Holiday Park, responded to this review, September 25, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review us and leave such lovely comments. We are glad that you came and stayed with us and had a great experience. We try to make everything available to our customers so that they are as comfortable as they can be whilst staying with us.

We do have hair dryers in reception that can be borrowed whilst you are staying with us. We don’t provide them automatically to save on storage space in the bedrooms.

We hope to welcome you back sometime in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Wheal Rodney Holiday Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wheal Rodney Holiday Park

Address: Gwallon, Marazion TR17 0HL, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Marazion
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Specialty lodging in Marazion
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Wheal Rodney is a beautiful campsite and caravan park. It is just a 10 minute walk to a stunning view of Saint Michael's Mount, the local pub and the shops and centre of Marazion is just a 15 minute walk down the hill. Wheal Rodney has a very warm and well maintained swimming pool on site which kids and adults alike love. The site is very family friendly and quiet and also welcomes dogs. We provide some great off season prices and our self catering bungalows/holiday cottages are always very popular so book early to avoid disappointment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Wheal Rodney Holiday Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wheal Rodney Holiday Park Marazion, Cornwall

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Wheal Rodney Holiday Park, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.