We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“GET THERE EARLY” 5 of 5 stars
Review of St. Michael's Mount

St. Michael's Mount
King's Road, Marazion TR17 0EF, England
+44 1736 710507
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 5 Attractions in Marazion
Type: Castles, Islands, Gardens, Outdoors
Activities: City walk sightseeing, Walking
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Cross the causeway where a legendary giant once walked. Follow the footsteps of pilgrims or boat hop to an island where modern life meets layers of history. Discover an evocative castle, a sub-tropical garden paradise and a close-knit island community.
Useful Information: Activities for older children
Alsbach-Haehnlein, Germany
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
20 attraction reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
“GET THERE EARLY”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2013

We visited on July 19, 2013 and arrived at around 11 am. Charge you 3 Pound for parking. We were lucky to be able to cross the passage way with the flood just coming in. Took the boat for the return at 2 Pound per person.
You must see St Michael's mount which I was surprised to find in such good condition for a building that age. Rooms are partly overflowing with people...... Make sure to visit the garden also even at the extra charge - we had National Trust Touring Pass and got in for free

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,301 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    880
    347
    49
    16
    9
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tamworth, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“good place to visit”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013

liked the shop and the mount itself and loved watching people try and walk along the causeway before the tide had gone out

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
147 reviews 147 reviews
45 attraction reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
“Beautiful views, but not a great place if you have mobility problems”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013

We took a boat over costing £2.00 from Marazion, and got dropped a the harbour of St Michaels Mount. The boat ride was lovely. On enlighting the boat the pathway to the payment kiosk is cobblestones and quite uneven, so bear this in mind. We paid to see the garden and the castle. The Gardens are beautiful and are located on the side of the mount so it really is a hike. If you have severe mobility problems and are wheelchair bound then perhaps not a great place to visit. The hike upto the castle was difficult very uneven and no hand rails in places, and at the top you have to climb over boulders to reach the entrance, I am disabled and although I enjoyed my visit, and dont get me wrong, the castle once inside was stunning I wont be visiting here again. In my opinion not A great place to visit if you have mobility problems.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nantwich, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“St Micheals Mount”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013

What a great place to see and visit. It is also a good place for you holiday photos. The best time for this is when the sun is setting.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
28 attraction reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
“wonderful place to visit when you are going to Cornwall”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013

St. Michaels Mount is one of the best places to visit when you are in Cornwall!

One thing to bear in mind if you are taking small children (baby), I do not recommend to take them on a buggy, because it is quite hard to go walk through the stone path....

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed St. Michael's Mount also viewed

 

Been to St. Michael's Mount? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage St. Michael's Mount, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.