We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent views” 4 of 5 stars
Review of St. Michael's Mount

St. Michael's Mount
King's Road, Marazion TR17 0EF, England
+44 1736 710507
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 5 Attractions in Marazion
Type: Castles, Islands, Gardens, Outdoors
Activities: City walk sightseeing, Walking
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Cross the causeway where a legendary giant once walked. Follow the footsteps of pilgrims or boat hop to an island where modern life meets layers of history. Discover an evocative castle, a sub-tropical garden paradise and a close-knit island community.
Useful Information: Activities for older children
Basingstoke, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
381 reviews 381 reviews
166 attraction reviews
Reviews in 118 cities Reviews in 118 cities
212 helpful votes 212 helpful votes
“Excellent views”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2013

I've been wanting to visit this attraction since I first visited Cornwall in March 2004. In low-season, the attraction is open reduced hours, but we were able to get to the tour on Tuesday morning. Because the tide was in, we took a boat/vehicle across to the mountain. We were shown the way to the guided tour at the top of the castle, and our guide told us about the different rooms and the views. This was very informative.

When we left, the tide was out, so we walked back and got photographs. I enjoyed the visit.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,302 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    881
    347
    49
    16
    9
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Potteries
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Walk to the Mount”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013

Walked over to the mount (tide was out!), unfortunately on the day that we went there was nothing open, not even the castle, so had to make do with a walk around the harbour. Nether the less still a good aday out.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lamorna, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
13 attraction reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
76 helpful votes 76 helpful votes
“Stunning and beautiful”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

My 4 year old daughter thinks a fairy Princess lives in the castle on top of the mount which says a lot about this enchanting place. Remember if you want to visit the house you need to pay and there are a lot of steps! Best to visit when the gardens are fully open for the circular walk to the top. Stunning gardens and spectacular views.
The Mount has been let down in the past by the National Trust who in my opinion are masters at making sterling efforts to create the banal, the tatty shop and the sad cafe on the mount being perfect examples. However I hear, and I hope I am right, the St Leven family will be running these outlets in the future, this can only be an improvement!

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Truro, United Kingdom
1 review
“Spectacular views from the top”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2012

An impressive and interesting place for the whole family. Depending on tides it's fun to get a boat ride one way and walk the causeway the other.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
35 attraction reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
“Drama and history with an ocean backdrop”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2012

St Michael's Mount was high on our must see list, this is an inhabited castle built on a seaside hilltop, which in hightide becomes an island. In low tide one can walk over to the castle via a paved cause-way or ontop the wet beach sand. In hightide one travels over via small motor boat which one disembarks onto a moud of sturdy beach rocks on the Marazion side or the warf on the castle side.
In lowtide the boats "moored" in the tiny quay are beached, having toppled to one side. In hightide they bob confidently with the ebb and flow of the current.
The building is a fine example of sturdy architecture. It is still inhabited by a family as are the few houses on the island. A generous proprotion of the castle is open to visitors, including the family chapel; this is a living, breathing museum.
The walk up to the castle from sea level is not overly long, though some might find it strenous. There are cannons pointing out to sea as a reminder that St Michaels Mount was once part of Enland's denfence against possible invaders. The rooms are decorated with genuine period pieces inherited by the family over the generations, which one needs to be mindful that childern not lean on or touch.
The guide at the front and read entrance was very friendly and helpful. The children were engaged with an "treasure hunt" style activity sheet with questions refering to objects for them to find in each room, at the end of which they received a prize for completing their efforts. My children really enjoyed this challenge.
There are great views to be had in every direction of this place.
There are also a couple of gift shops selling unique local items and a couple of eateries. We had a lovely meal in the tearooms. We had to wait for a little time for a free table, but the tearoom had a lovely atmosphere, so we were happy to wait.
There is ample carparking on the mainland and notification of high and low tides on a blackboard at the entrance so you can time your return for a walk or a boat ride back. Don't miss it!

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed St. Michael's Mount also viewed

 

Been to St. Michael's Mount? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage St. Michael's Mount, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.