We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of the best!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ben's Cornish Kitchen

Ben's Cornish Kitchen
West End, Marazion TR17 0EL, England
+44 1736 719200
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 19 Restaurants in Marazion
Price range: $19 - $56
Cuisines: Contemporary, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
London E17
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“One of the best!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

We come for our main holiday to this part of Cornwall every year and ever since we discovered Ben's we have made a point of having at least one meal if not two at the restaurant. We are non-drivers staying in Mousehole so we have to negoitate the buses but it has been worth it every time. We visited twice this year, once for dinner and once for lunch (fantastic value with 3 courses for £18) eating both times in the newly opened upstairs section of the restaurant. The food was superb coupled with good service. You do worry as somewhere becomes increasingly well known that standards might drop but there is a pride in producing good food for happy customers and we can't wait for next year.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

454 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    398
    42
    13
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
london
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Wonderful food!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013 via mobile

We booked a table here on a recent stay in Marazion on the strength of all the trip advisor reviews & were not disappointed!
I'm vegetarian & so it was good to see creative veggie options for starter & main that were abit different to the usual spinach & ricotta! I had smoked halloumi with divinely cooked veg, my other half opted to treat himself to the Lobster which he felt was exceptionally well cooked & prepared.
We both had the curry desert : Amazing!!! A complete assault on the taste buds, I could have happily eaten another one straight away just to keep savouring the flavours!
Definitely worth treating yourself to eat here if you're in Marazion : book ahead as they were understandably busy all night. If this restaurant were in London it would be triple the price & booked for weeks in advance!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincs
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Best meal of our holiday!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013 via mobile

We visited here whilst on holiday in marazion, can only echo previous reviews, the food was excellent, great choice, fresh food, and the presentation is fantastic! My partner tried the curry dessert and was blown away by the flavours! Thoroughly enjoyed our experience here and recommend it highly, best to book for evening meals as gets booked up quickly!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingsville, Canada
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Unexpected dining pleasure in Marazion”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2013

Recommended by Alison at St. Michael's B&B. Our meals were delicious, as were our wine and desserts choices. Reasonably priced for the quality received. Great spot. We recommend reservations.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Top class food and service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013

Best and tastiest meal of our holiday by miles. We had a chicken main course which was delicious and extremely tender, and a fish main course which was really good. Puddings fab too. Menu changes regularly and has half a dozen options for starters / main / pudding.
Also of note was that this is the only place we ate at all holiday where we didn't feel the need to clean the highchair before our little boy sat in it - so has high standards in all respects.
Service helpful and friendly.
Not cheap but worth it.
Excellent all round. Need to book.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ben's Cornish Kitchen also viewed

 

Been to Ben's Cornish Kitchen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ben's Cornish Kitchen, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.