We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Food is FANTASTIC and a lovely atmosphere too.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Kings Arms

The Kings Arms
The Square, Marazion TR17 0AP, England
+44 1736 710291
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #5 of 19 Restaurants in Marazion
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $0 - $2
Cuisines: Seafood, British, English, Gastropub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Description: The Kings Arms at Marazion is a small, friendly pub that serves great food every day of the week alongside a selection of real ales from St Austell Brewery. Our menu, created by enthusiastic head chef Andy and his team, features only the best ingredients from local Cornish sources with all meals freshly prepared for you to enjoy. We have a comfortable, intimate bar with a warming log fire for colder evenings. Our outside seating area is a fantastic sun trap in the summer months and a very pleasant place to sit and chat with friends or enjoy a meal from our extensive menu. You will find the Kings Arms right in the heart of Marazion, just five minutes from the beach.
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Food is FANTASTIC and a lovely atmosphere too.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014

We ate here last year and came back two nights in a row again this year. It's only a small place so booking is definitely recommended, but it's a lovely pub/restaurant with a great atmosphere right in the centre of Marazion. The food was consistently brilliant, very fresh. The best fish pie I have had in a restaurant, would definitely recommend, and the chips I stole from my other half's plate were extra special. Proper home made food with reasonable prices. As for the deserts... again one of the best cheesecakes I have encountered. Staff were so friendly and couldn't do more to accommodate you. A must visit if you are eating in Marazion.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

293 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    164
    88
    24
    7
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Aylesbury, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Disappointing and Lacklustre”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014

Having spentg 4 days in Cornwall we were keen to make sure we packed in as much as we could so we visited St Michael's Mount in Marazion. We had a coffee at the little "hut" in the main car park and the young lady there recommended we try the Kings Arms for lunch as the food was good and the large Godolphon Hotel was recently re-furbished and not as good as it used to be. We arrived in the pub at abour 2.10pm. There were no seats outside so we went inside and there was one other customer in there and 2 young girls behind the bar, who were very polite. I ordered sandwiches and apparently we had got in just in time as they stopped serving at 2.30pm. Considering most places at this time of year offer food all day that was suprising. However, the sandwiches came after a little while. The "garnish" was mainly watercress and a couple of bits of cherry tomato smothered in honey and mustard dressing - it certainly looked similar it definitely had wholegrain mustard in it. I forgot to say "no dressing" on the salad if you serve it with the sandwiches. Not everyone likes their salad smothered in dressing. Anyway, on closer inspection I realised that 60% of my watercress was yellow and clearly well past the date when it should be placed on a customer's plate! It was most off putting as I wondered what sort of "chef" woule be happy to send that out of his kitchen! A young lady came to collect our plates and asked if everythign was all right clearly expecting an affirmative, so when I pointed out that whilst my "garnish" or "salad" was not the most important part of my lunch and the sandwiches we had were very nice, it was disappointing to be served watercress that was certainly not fresh and that any chef who was happy to send that out to a customer was a worry. It was appalling. The young lasdy was most apologetic and said she would mention it to the Chef. However, as she turned to take our plates back to the kitchen this voice came back to me saying "how appalling" and some other comments I did not catch as I had my back to the bar.. My husband was facing them and seemed to think that it was a young man who could well have been the said "chef". He clearly worked there. I suggested to my husband that to comment would not be worth it and to leave it. I had stated our case and that was that. How anyone could think that mocking your customers just because they have pointed out a problem, which they are entitled to do, was incredibly rude and a mark of the person who clearly thought he was being clever and showing off.to anyone who was listening. We visited on 16th July in case anyone managing this Pub is at all interested. I would not recommend this pub to anyone - ever - and felt that I had not paid hard earned money to this establishment to be treated in such a way! I have worked in large hotels as a Front of House Manager and I am,catering trained and also worked in lubs abnd restaurants. I will always give credit where credit is due, but there is never an excuse to be rude to a customer,no matter what!

  • Visited July 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mariehamn
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Nice lunch”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2014

Nice restaurant in the centre of Marazion with generous helpings of Fish & Chips to help us climb the path to St Michael's Mount.

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ely, Cambridgeshire
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Small Pub, big flavour! ”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2014

Tried to book a table on Wednesday, but we're fully booked, tried again the following evening and we were in luck. Quaint unassuming pub offering a good selection on the menu of seafood and others. The family had Cornish Bratwurst, Scampi and fish (Hake) and chips, whilst I went for Skate Wing. Absolutely fantastic. Everyone thoroughly enjoyed their meals, well worth the second attempt to go there. Staff were very friendly and professional. So, if your in the Marazion area, make sure you book and a make sure you go! Excellent

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Proper. As they say around here. ”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2014

I find it very difficult to write a review of a pub/restaurant I've been to so many many times. And one I want to go to again, and get a table! The Kings is not trendy, it's got no car park and it's not large, so do book. And there are others locally with better views. And a since I first went there have been changes, yet it never disappoints. The food it's intimately better than pub fare, cooked in house. Good menu, local seasonal fare and good service and a great pint. Great value too. Highly recommended.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Kings Arms also viewed

 

Been to The Kings Arms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Kings Arms, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.