We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay on east cape of Baja” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Baja Bungalows

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Cabo Pulmo
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Baja Bungalows
Save
You added Baja Bungalows to your Saves list
Cabo Pulmo, Cabo Pulmo, Mexico   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Cabo Pulmo
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Philomath, Oregon
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great place to stay on east cape of Baja”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2010

Off the beaten track. Owner, Kent, is a great host and has toys for use of guests like boogi boards, snorkel gear, off-road jeep, kayaks, beach chairs. This is a place for the adventurous traveler who also wants a comfortable bed and bath at the end of the day. Kitchens are well-equipped, but good restaurants are close by. We particularly enjoyed sharing the communal kitchen with new friends. Wireless internet is via satellite so uploads are slow and Skype is spotty.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

130 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    108
    20
    0
    1
    1
See reviews for
15
79
11
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2010

We just completed a 6 day stay at the Baja Bungalows in Cabo Pulmo. This is a very unique experience, but not for everyone. The accomadations are clean, comfortable, but this is not a resort experience. I loved it. Electricity comes from solar power so fans and lights are available. There are propane refrigerators and gas stoves. We drank water from the faucet as it comes from a clean well. This was a first scuba dive trip for my 13 and 15 yr old kids and they loved the village and the diving. We left our doors unlocked in our bungalow as the village is very safe. Diving was great and the we found the service at the Cabo Pulmo Beach resort dive shop to be excellent. The bungalows are in a small compound with beautiful grounds. We stayed in a 2 story bungalow with the adults upstairs with a view of the ocean and a great breeze and the 2 kids downstairs. Restaurants in town were excellent but plan on leisurely dinners as everything is made fresh. If your kids need video games and you want nightlife and bars this is not the place for you, but for an experience of a friendly Mexican village, pretty beachs close by, snorkling and sea kayaking, in a relaxing safe environment, I think you will love it. PS the road is dirt for the last 5 miles or so and a little rough but easily driveable in a rental car, but get full insurance on your rental. I found a huge pothole at night lets just say my insurance saved me thousands of dollars. We plan to return next year. Contact the owner and he is very helpful in answering any questions.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bowie MD
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2010

Disconnect from the hype--reconnect with reality. My husband and I had never been to Cabo Pulmo before, or Baja for that matter. But we had such a great time, and for globetrekkers like us to say we'll be coming back means a lot. We haven't seen stars like this (on moonless nights) since we lived in rural Maine. The diving was terrific; the desert hikes gorgeous; and the hospitality at Baja Bungalows perfect. We made our own schedule, leaving the day to day of our jobs behind. We enjoyed cooking our own feasts in the well-equipped (and clean) kitchen in our bungalow, and we enjoyed the exceptionally good fish tacos at La Palapa and breakfast at Los Caballeros.

We hope to be back next fall, when we hear the diving isn't just good (as it was in January), but great!

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alberta, Canada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2010

Had a pleasant stay at his accommodation. The object of this vacation was scuba diving but, as an added bonus, the stay was exceptionally enjoyable. Kent the owner is one laid back host but is very conscientious of his guests needs. The unit was lacking nothing and any problems would be quickly fixed, I'm sure. Kent is very knowlegeable of the area and will point you in the right direction for anything. Baja Bungalows is way, way off the beaten path and primarily for visiting the national marine park and its related activities.
No electricity but solar power and was not an issue if one is conservative and aware of power consumption. Propane for hot water and stove/oven. Would definitely travel back to this location and stay again at the beautiful Baja Bungalows. Thanks Kent for a great 4 days!

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Takoma Park, maryland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2010

Four of us rented the house(both upper and lower units) at Baja Bungalows. There are also smaller units for rent. The house was fully equipped, extremely comfortable and had a magnificent view from the upper unit's deck. . Owner Manager Kent is very friendly and knowledgable about the whole area, including best snorkeling beach ,best hikes, etc. His notes, sent to us by email before we arrived, were thorough and quite helpful in preparing our stay. Cabo Pulmo is a small village but extremely close to nature. We saw more than ten different species of birds just from the upper deck of our house.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2009

After 3 nights of Cabo San Lucas busy nightlife this was an escape from reality. It is located in a rustic and remote area with beautiful beaches nearby and great diving/snorkeling. The views from our room were great and the bungalow had everything we needed.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oregon
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2009

I researched for a tropical dive and snorkel destination that offered solitude and other adventures inc. hiking, We found heaven! No matter what the weather or ocean conditions this is paradise! The bungalows themselves are beautiful, well equipped and a fabulous host. I love the outdoors not tourists- people here play hard and party hard and I am so happy to have found this perfect place! You won't be disappointed! Safe,fun,fair and beautiful! Follow Kents directions on BajaBungalows website and upon arrival enjoy the gear (snorkeling-inc. wetsuits- chairs,umbrellas etc.) he has available in the garage instead of carrying it all with you. The host seemed to know what each guest needed.and would always point you in the right direction for a hike,snorkel,dive dinner or star gazing. Simply a lovely space to be in. This is a great place to find other adventureous spirits or enjoy peace and tranquilty. Oh and by the way the snorkeling off shore 2 and 5 miles south was awesome! I'll be back to dive more and enjoy everything Baja Bungalows has to offer! If you are going to rent a car try Dominics Los Cabos, It was quick,simple,comparable(he knew we were going off pavement, he just asked us to take care of his car) and he gave tips on how to avoid the timeshare vultures in the airport.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Baja Bungalows? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Baja Bungalows

Address: Cabo Pulmo, Cabo Pulmo, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Baja California > Baja California Sur > Los Cabos > Cabo Pulmo
Amenities:
Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Cabo Pulmo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 8
Also Known As:
Baja Bungalows Hotel Cabo Pulmo
Baja Hotel Cabo Pulmo

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Baja Bungalows, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.