We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A quiet paradise” 5 of 5 stars
Review of El Encanto de Cabo Pulmo

El Encanto de Cabo Pulmo
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Cabo Pulmo
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
El Encanto de Cabo Pulmo
Save
You added El Encanto de Cabo Pulmo to your Saves list
Cabo Pulmo 87476, Mexico   |  
Hotel amenities
Portland, OR
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“A quiet paradise”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2012

This beautiful compound has 3 'rentable' areas. Because it was over Christmas vacation and there were two couples, we rented the whole compound, which was perfect! We stayed in the main house with the completely stocked, totally modern kitchen, living room, stereo, TV if you wanted it. Our frends stayed in the Vista room with the marvelous view, sunny deck, coffee maker. No one stayed in the casita, but we enjoyed the outdoor fireplace that is in front of the casita. The grounds are stunning, the yard art is whimisical and different. If you only rented one of the areas you would need to decide if you wanted to cook or not. And if you rent only one area there is limited privacy. Each area had it's own entrance, but you would not be able to control the noise factor of other people.

Cabo Pulmo is hard to get to (down a dirt road 6 km - after 20 km of rough pavement - about 90 minutes from the airport) and when you do there is not much there. But there are 3 or 4 good restaurants/bars, diving adventures, and a marine reserve for snorkeling. AND that is what makes the place so super - it is totally quiet at night, it is off the power grid so the stars are fabulous. I/we simply loved the place.

Our friends had been there twice before and we feel really priviledged to share their discovery. There are plans for big hotel projects and possibly a coastal road from San Jose del Cabo, hopefully that will take a long time to come. I would hate to see this Cabo paradise ruined by progress!

Room Tip: Take 6 people and rent the whole compound
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

17 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    13
    2
    0
    2
    0
See reviews for
2
10
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2011 via mobile

Very unique in it's styling, which adds to it's charm. It was v hot when we stayed, so if I had the choice again, I'd rent the house with the upstairs balcony with the cool breeze (this might also be a separate rentable section of the accomodation - not sure).

Email booking was easy, efficient and friendly.

Word of warning, I couldn't find a listing for Nancy's on Trip Advisor. It is a restaurant with good reviews in Lonely Planet. It was the worst place I've eaten at in a long time. We felt thoroughly ripped off and I feel it deserves a mention so that it doesn't taint your experiences of the fabulous Cabo Pulmo.

  • Stayed July 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ganges BC
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2011

El Encanto is stunningly, uniquely, and artistically beautiful. Great cactus/succulent garden, wonderful sculptures and beautiful colours throughout. Cloistered, and sheltered from Cabo Pulmo's winds but just a short walk from the beach. Created by and for people seeking an aesthetically rewarding experience. We stayed at the lovely little Casita and had the luxury of complete privacy since the main house was unoccupied. We would have preferred a harder bed but that's our only complaint. Nothing makes us more comfortable than seeing and feeling all the care that has gone into the place we're staying in and that was our experience at El Encanto.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montana
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2010

Stayed 3 nights in the Vista suite and absolutely loved it, from the design to the grounds and sculptures. This place is the perfect spot to stay in Pulmo and we cannot wait to plan our next trip.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakland, California
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2008

I don't really know how to add to the last review. El Encanto is a fabulous house in Cabo Pulmo. The photos are for real but maybe don't really show just how wonderful this place is.

The caretakers/managers Karl and Kimmie are lovely, lovely people who will make sure you have a great time. They will make sure you have clean towels (beach and bath) and ice.

There are snorkels (we took some with us but I think they have 3 or 4 sets there), noodles, chairs, umbrellas, coolers, etc. Each room has a good bed, ceiling fan (forget the AC, experience the time outside there), colorful and nice bathroom and space to put your things. The central areas are great and the upstairs outdoor patio is wonderful for evening cocktail hour and sunset watching. Also the best place for connecting to the Internet.

We were a party of 6 so we rented the whole place. Everyone had space and lovely areas to hang out either together or as a group. There is beautiful art and all the comforts of home.

We all love to cook so we had our shopping list planned when we arrived in Mexico. Off to Mega we went (really pay attention to the directions and yes you go backwards to get there). We did pretty well with our planning (experience with week long camping and house boating trips helped) but did not buy enough beer and other essential beverages. Don't count on buying fresh fish in CB or anything else really. I would recommend that you get some of the boxed milk if you go during a hot time so it doesn't go bad. There is a nice refrigerator but if it is really hot it just doesn't get as cool as at home.

The house has great cookware, lots of dishes, coffee pots, sharp knives (now that is a first for a rental) and everything you need. You can have lovely dinners at the outdoors dining area but there is also a more "formal" dining area inside.

Get bottles of water to freeze and take with you to the beach but you REALLY can drink the water.

Don't plan on eating out a lot and certainly not for breakfast. CB is SMALL and there are only 4 places to eat that you can walk to. The Palapas is on the beach, good basic food with great fish tacos and very cold beer but not open all the time. The Cabo Pulmo Dive Center has a restaurant on the top floor with pretty decent food. I would never eat at Nancie's just on appearance alone. One other place I can't even remember the name of but may be fine.

Take flashlights but there are some there. I would also pick up some candles. You may need Deet depending on when you go. If you are looking for "activities" you will have to make them happen by yourself other than diving or hiring someone to take you out on a boat to fish or snorkel.

We are all great friends who spend good times together and this was perfect. I don't know if I could have had such a great time for a whole week with just my husband and myself (I don't dive) but i will most certainly want to return.

The drive in is 6 miles on a dirt road, you do not go to town for just a loaf of milk. It is not a nice drive at night because the cows do stand in the road.

If you have questions, happy to answer. Loved this place and the people. Not for folks who want a "hotel" or daily maid service. Kimmie will cook if you ask in advance and she is a great cook! Photos are available

The gang from Oakland, CA
Enjoy

  • Liked — Beautiful place, great beaches, quiet, interesting, diving
  • Disliked — we were there during a really hot time. No screens
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NYC
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2008

el encanto is a great little property in the middle of nowhere. ok, in the middle of cabo pulmo, which is a tiny little village, in the middle of nowhere. the house consists of three rooms...two in the main house and one in the casita where we stayed. its a lovely little room, with a ceiling fan, mosquito nets, and basic porch. there's loads of cool art around the place...the owners have really done that well.

the main house has more facilities, with tv/computer/stereo and more importantly, a kitchen. but the casita works nicely if you're not worried about the modern conveniences. but they do hook you up with a couple of kayaks, beach chairs, towels, snorkeling gear and everything else you need to kick it on the beach.

there are only a few restaurants in town, a tennis court and a couple of scuba centers...and not much else. but this place rocks if your'e looking to get away from it all. no nite life. no grocery stores. no electricity. me gusta cabo pulmo!

  • Liked — art around the property; incomparable stargazing; close to beautiful beaches
  • Disliked — bees near the house
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Barbara
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2008

In my quest for some peace and quiet, I planned a trip with a good friend, who is also a fellow teacher. We chose Cabo Pulmo because of the lack of anything going on besides snorkling, swimming and sunbathing....the ideal vacation for me!

My boyfriend had suggested the place he stayed the year before however, when I looked online up popped El Encanto...the pictures were just beautiful so of course I thought it was just too good to be true....I contacted them via the number that was given as well as sent an email. I was contacted very shortly afterward by the owner who answered all my questions...They were very helpful and worked us in for the dates we had planned. We did all of the transactions via email....piece of cake.

Furthermore, the caretaker, Karl, contacted us with "directions and expectations..." So helpful in easing our minds because lets face it, it's easy to get, well, for lack of a better description, screwed over, when you're booking a vacation on blind faith....and online....After a few more emails with even more questions, we booked our flights and off we went...

The adventure begins with the drive in...most car rentals will say you can't drive on dirt roads, etc....so you might want to skip over that fact when renting...but do rent a VW Crossfox...which is perfect for this terrain....but DON'T rent it from ACE Car rentals....they tried to charge us extra for a spare (we did get a flat, which was changed and handled by Karl, the caretarker...aka...nicest guy in the country...). ACE tried to tell us we violated our contract by going to CP....this is from the same guy, who a week before, confirmed our directions there!!) This all went down upon our rental return...just an hour before our flight lift...nothing like being told "Well then I can't let you leave..." by the manager....we worked it out...without paying, mind you....no, no Kung fu was necessary, just a little thing I like to call the "Guilt Card..." MEXICO.....! Anyway, the drive can be sketchy, there are no shoulders on the sides of the road...and the people drive like maniacs...just be careful and probably plan to drive during day light...oh and watch out for cows and goats who like to stand in the middle of the road...

Once you hit the dirt road...the fun begins....! The desert is beautiful and you are smack-dab in the middle of it...you go for about 6 miles and it seems like you are in the middle of nowhere....oh, wait, you are....just keep going and you will eventually see some beautiful glimpses of the Sea of Cortez, some ramshackle huts, a few ragged tents and a small sign that points you to CP....keep going....

The town is titty bitty...which is perfect, no street venders, no shop owners promising you "50% off"....none of that...just a dusty road, a horse we named Che and a few restaurants sprinkled about....you'll see a few of the locals, just chillin....it's paradise....Follow the directions to El Encanto.....Pull into the driveway and prepare to be blown away....

You'll be happy to just get out of the car.....walk through the gates guarded by the Bandito...(it will all make sense) and stand in the midst of garden...filled with buzzing bees, birds and other natural wonders....we were told there'd be a walkie-talkie on the table, there was...we called Karl...and waited for a response....because we didn't know what time we'd actually be arriving, we ended up being shown in by the woman who was renting the Vista Suite, Stacey. Stacey assured us, that we did indeed, have the "whole house"....yes, the pictures were all true...the colors, the furniture, the paintings....it was all there....and yes, not only did we have a really beautiful room we DID have the full house...the gourmet kitchen, the living room....the DVD player....the whole lower level....I felt like a kid in a candy store! We took our time and explored the whole place...just amazing...all the details, all the fixins....a home away from home!

There is filterd water, ice, salt and pepper....all you need to bring is the food....which you should get BEFORE you start your journey to CP...go to MEGA in SJD....super easy to find....its on the way to CSL....it's a huge place, they don't call it MEGA for nothin'....stock up on food, drink and snacks....

The restaurants in CP are few....we liked the one on the beach with the palapas....Ask Karl...but if you're like me, you'll soon tire of the Mexican fare and want pancakes or something homey...you have the perfect kitchen to whip up your favorite homecooked meal....plan ahead!

The bedroom has AC...in fact all the bedrooms in each suite have AC....depending on your needs....you can't go wrong....the Vista Suite (where Stacey stayed) is gorgeous...great for a couple who don't need a full kitchen...the Casitas is darling and so well decorated...same deal...if you don't want a TV or a kitchen...the true escape...but since Santa Barbara was on fire just days before I left...I was very happy to have the Fountain Suite just for the wireless signal alone....

So, you will LOVE this place...from the hospitality of Karl and Kimmie to the DVD collection to the very curious hummingbirds...this place is for sure, a slice of paradise!!! I
hope you enjoy it as much as we did!!

Stayed July 2008
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to El Encanto de Cabo Pulmo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El Encanto de Cabo Pulmo

Address: Cabo Pulmo 87476, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Baja California > Baja California Sur > Los Cabos > Cabo Pulmo
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Specialty Lodging in Cabo Pulmo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Artful, luxury view home with generous patios and private landscaped grounds. Three charming suites ideal for multiple couples or family gatherings. Suites available individually, or as a complete house. Close to beach, restaurants, dive center and other local services all in easy walking distance. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
El Encanto De Cabo Pulmo Hotel Cabo Pulmo

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage El Encanto de Cabo Pulmo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.