We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointing” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Waterloo Arms

Waterloo Arms
338 Waterloo Street, New Hamburg, Ontario, Canada
Improve this listing
Ranked #8 of 18 Restaurants in New Hamburg
Cuisines: British
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Kitchener, Ontario
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2014

We've been here 3 times. And each time we've been less than wowed. Food is so so. Lacks flavour. Frozen fries thrown in a deep fryer. Not appealing. Nice atmosphere and good beer choices but the food is what brings people back. And it won't be us I'm afraid.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

28 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    3
    16
    2
    7
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Wellesley, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Good service, cold beer, meh food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2014 via mobile

Definitely dont have the tomato grilled cheese. Its 90% tomato and processed cheese slices. Not worthy of a menu or childs snack. For easy deep fried food this is where to go. Great beer choices! Nice staff

  • Visited March 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Hamburg, Canada
Top Contributor
140 reviews 140 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
“Just average”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2014

We tried this restaurant several times... but the truth is we always came away finding that the meal had been lacking something. Flavour, size, quality... for the price we pay... we expect a little more. We just gave up back in the fall... we will not be returning. There are better places to go locally.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Quebec, Canada
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“A friendly Neighborhood Pub”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2014

Very nice setting. A little bit of a getaway to Scotland on a Sunday afternoon. Very friendly and the food is okay for a Pub style atmosphere.

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Hamburg, Canada
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Personality Plus!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2014

We are regular patrons at the Waterloo Arms and every visit has been excellent. I have had several different meals and never been disappointed, often cannot finish them, ample food. We have dinner every Friday night before catching the Ranger Express.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Waterloo Arms also viewed

New Hamburg, Region of Waterloo
New Hamburg, Region of Waterloo
 
New Hamburg, Region of Waterloo
New Hamburg, Region of Waterloo
 

Been to Waterloo Arms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Waterloo Arms, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.