We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place with good size rooms” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Restaurant La Placa

Save Saved
You added Hotel Restaurant La Placa to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Restaurant La Placa
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Placa de l'Esglesia 2 | Garriguella, 17780 Garriguella, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 2 hotels in Garriguella
Asker, Norway
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Nice place with good size rooms”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2012

Stayed at La Placa with two kids. Loved the two level rooms. Great restaurant and nice, small, pool. The town is a bit out on the country. Can recommend the tortoise farm which is within walking distance from the village.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

63 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    32
    20
    6
    4
    1
See reviews for
12
42
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Weston super Mare, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012

La Placa, Spain
A ‘small but nice’ hotel situated on one corner of the small, though picturesque, village square.
The room I had was towards the back and had a mountain view. It was a little smaller than I had expected it to be and very sparsely decorated but it was fine for the few nights I spent there, with a comfortable bed and air-conditioning that got the room temperature down to a level that sleep was possible. Free wifi was available in the room with a reasonable connection after I managed to connect (not sure if this was a hotel system problem or my laptop). The bathroom was fitted out with a refreshing hydro-massage bath that was certainly welcome, given how poor the shower was..
Breakfast was made up of toast, a few cuts of meat, sausage and cheese, croissant, juice and coffee or tea. All tasty but not too much of it and having no choice available to at least have a change for one day left me a little bored with it by after the first 2 days.
The hotel has what it calls a swimming pool. Possible for a 3 year old to swim in it, I guess. That said, I also imagine it can be of good use to cool off if you were to sit on one of the surrounding loungers during the heat of the day but, having come to this area to do some hiking, I did not use it. During the evenings, I made a little more use of a chess set they have handy, while sitting in a comfortable room just off the restaurant. This restaurant served very good looking food but I did not actually eat there so cannot say whether the taste matched. The diners looked pretty happy though.
English speaking was quite limited but I got by; they seem more geared up for French guests.
I expect to return to this wonderful part of Spain in the future but, honestly, I was a bit ambivalent about the hotel and am unlikely to return here

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2012

We booked a room here, the 'tramuntana', for three nights to relax with our boys 2 and 5 after too much socializing and driving around Catalunya. This was just what the doctor ordered, a lovely room on two levels with the children tucked upstairs and a big double bed for us. There was access to a tiny, high walled, private terrace from the room, but sadly it was sandwiched between two air conditioning units and was more of a gesture than a usable space.
Very friendly staff, traditional catalan breakfast with tomato toast and local cheese and meat products, or you can stick to croissants and coffee. A small swimming pool which was great for the kids and for cooling off, and a nice lounge with a few children's toys and games for the siesta hours. Didn't try the hotel restaurant although it was frequently busy and things smelled good.
Garriguella is sleepy and hot at the end of july, and there is deliciously little to do here, but nice to explore the village, visit the nearby tortoise sanctuary, take the short drive to Figueres or down to Llanca or Roses on the coast (also close) and then head back and wander down to the local cooperative in the evening, which serves local produce on big platters with the wine practically thrown in for free - brought to the table icy cold and all very inexpensive. The cooperative also has a great shop with all kinds of things that make good edible gifts. All in all a great stay.

Room Tip: have a look on the website which shows each of the very individual rooms and suites in detail
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
France
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2012

This a fantastic place and I don't say that because the owner is french.... We were with the kids in the "refugi" room : large, very nice, very fun for children with its little hut wood room upstairs ! The swimming pool is tiny, just to refresh, but this is particularly clear in the hotel website. The food was delicious and perfect for the price. Special mention for the gastronomic single dish for kids (10 euros !). Sure we'll return once.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fife
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
96 helpful votes 96 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2010

Had a very relaxing 2 night stay here at the end of a family holiday. Very peaceful, excellent food costing no more than in the hotspots on the coast. Rooms simple but comfortable and service friendly and efficient. Close to Figueres for the Picasso Museum, waterparks, the coast, the hills etc.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madrid
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2009

Lovely hotel, comfortable & clean rooms, kind service, delicious food... We felt at home. What can we say? We'll be back!

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
High Wycombe
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2007

The hotel has only been open for some 2 years and is a delightful place to stay and eat in a simple quiet Catalonian village, set in the vines in the foothills of the Pyrenees.
Rooms are well appointed and the standards high. If you want palatial lounges it's not the place to go but their al fresco area is great in the summer and provides pleasant sheltered outdoor dining.
The set lunch is great value and the evening a la carte menu provides a good choice of well presented and tasty dishes - certainly not overpriced. Having eaten there many times we've never been disappointed nor have friends to whom we have recommended it.
A good centre for exploring 'Dali country' with the Dali Museum in Figueres nearby and Cadaques/Port Lligat easily accessible by car. Take time to explore the wine growing area too, including the Castell Perelada.

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Restaurant La Placa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Restaurant La Placa

Address: Placa de l'Esglesia 2 | Garriguella, 17780 Garriguella, Spain
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Girona > Costa Brava > Garriguella
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 hotels in Garriguella
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Restaurant La Placa 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our hotel is located in the village of Garriguella: relaxation, charm and fine cuisine define it. It has nine rooms. Rooms with lounge, with mezzanine, terrace, solarium, whirlpool bath, private outdoor jacuzzi ... Situated 7 km Golf Peralada, 7 km from the beaches of Llançà, 10 km from Roses. Hotel and restaurant open all year. Restaurant closed on wednesdays. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Hotel Restaurant La Placa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel La Placa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Restaurant La Placa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.