We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“not in great shape” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Vila Gaivota

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Vila Gaivota to your Saves list
Vila Gaivota
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Vale da Azinhaga, Ferragudo 8400-276, Portugal   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Ferragudo
Carlisle, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“not in great shape”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2011

Stayed here last year had a had a decent apartment for the money, this time not so good. The wardrobe's full height mirror door was broken and off the track, if we'd had small children I would have been worried. The kitchen wasn't in great condition, the fridge was rusty, the drawers in the cupboards in the lounge were glued in as they were broken. The cleaners weren't great, we had to ask several times for clean towels. We couldn't have a sun bed for the balcony as they didn't have enough to give every apartment one sun bed each.
On the upside the staff are really nice and friendly and always helpful. There are some great restaurants round about and the restaurant at the beach is great for snacks. The beach itself is fabulous.
It looks to me as if the owners keep tarting up the outside of the buildings to make them look attractive in the photos but don't do any improvements to the interiors.
The holiday itself wasn't expensive but on reflection I think I would rather pay a little more and have a decent apartment, which is a shame really as the Vila Gaivota is in an ideal situation if you want to just chill.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

36 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    6
    10
    6
    10
    4
See reviews for
15
15
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Porto, Portugal
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2010

It is not 4 stars for sure (maybe in the past).
Some of the kitchen appliances were in poor condition.
They tried not to clean the apartment on the second day claiming new rules…
There is no air conditioning or fans, even in the restaurant, which is unpleasant on very hot days.
Choosing half board you are not allowed to dinner in the outdoor area of the restaurant, even with free seats, a rule not previously announced, which is very unpleasant on hot evenings

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2010

This ended up being a bit of a nightmare. We arrived quite late, the reception was fine and pool area looked lovely, the place was a little tricky to find and we had satnav!! We checked in, got our keys and made our way to apartment. The apartment was clean but was also very dated and boiling hot!!! It took us the time that for our son to have an Asthma attack to realise there was no air conditioning or even a fan - it was unbearable. We walked straight out! The reception staff were understanding and helpful and did find us alternate accomodation although we had to pay for it!!!!

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandwich
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2009

You must have a hire car to stay here cannot STRESS this enough there is nothing there!!
some apartments are privatelty owned and then let out by the hotel so it is very hit and miss what you will get, some have brand new kitchens when others are 15 years old! however they are all large even a one bedroom is plenty big enough for a family of four and all balcanies seem very large.
Rooms don't get cleaned often if at all sheets not changed once in eight days! had to buy own loo rolls even though we had asked several times for more than one very small roll between four!!
The restaurant at the hotel is awful do not go there it really is very expensive and quite frankly is one of the worst meals I have ever had, there are a few places neaby I think two we did not bother and choose to go to the supermarket and over indulge in large prawns and rose!! yummy!! very cheap way to dine expensively would cost an absolute fortune in the UK but it was not our intention to eat in all the time when I do that at home but we had little option. Beach is good steep walk down a hill to the beach is is usually packed and even worse coming back up the hill, the views from our apartment really where stunning.
Staff at the hotel were not very friendly and did not seem to care the apartment did not cleaned!
This was a cheap holiday for us and to be fair for the price I propably would go again the kids enjoyed it for eight days for two adults two children and one infant we paid for the apartment £500 we found booking the flights seperate with easy jet a cheaper option which cost another £450 in peak holiday time a very cheap week away if we had booked as a package holiday it would have cost a total £1750 for only seven nights so we stayed an extra night picked the flights we wanted and saved £800 so do your research.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
N Ireland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2009

I was not allowed to take my tea after breakfast to sit outside the restaurant. I asked for a 2nd ashtray and I was told that only one ashtray permitted per apartment. I am disabled and need to rest in the afternoons and asked if the cleaner could come before 2.30. This was acknowledged for one day but the cleaner insisted on coming at 4pm and kept ringing the bell even though she was in the apartment already and I had put out the rubbish. Apart from taking the rubbish and putting the mop over the lounge she did nothing else except give us fresh towels on 2 occasions. The sheets were never changed even though we were there for 9 nights. The good points were that it is in a lovely location and the apartment had 2 balconies and a verandah. I do not think it is 4* although I think it might have been at one stage. I would not go again during the school holidays as we couldn't get near the pool for children and they were running wild all day and late into the evening. I had to go out and buy basics like salt etc. The boiler kept going out and the oven didn't work.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, Scotland
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2008

Arrived early afternoon, our room was not ready waited a few hours the `engineers` couldnt fix our hot water boiler and we were taxid to alternative accomadation a few miles away we returned next morning as we were assured room would be ready,guess what? Not ready.Waited 4 hours by poolside and eventually got to our apt.The accomadation was fair maybe a bit tired but we did get it cheaply enormous veranda (35 ft) with stunning views of ocean.5 days later boiler broken down agian 1 day with no hot water. Vla Giavota is quite remote and is 2 miles outside Ferragudo car hire advisable

  • Liked — stunning sea views
  • Disliked — a bit dated and tired wonky water heater/boiler
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
northampton
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2008

We were one of those Freedom Flights' customers and the day we were going to go to Egypt we simply did not..

Anyway we booked Portugal straight away as it was our second choice. When reading some reviews before I read one when someone was saying that beds made their holiday being disaster..I remember thinking "what a snob!.." I know now what it means. I am 24 years old and traveled a lot in my life, sleeping in sometime s really bad hostels and so on. Vila Gaivota however is nothing to compare to them! It was unreal, terrible experience! They were hard as rock and loudest of laud. Three last nights we slept on the floor! We returned two weeks ago and both still feel our backs!

Apart from beds, place is lovely. However do not expect going out night time because there is nothing there apart from the hotels. And remember take the currency because there is only one bank which does exchange and it is 15 miles away, so are shops (even food shops).

Hope you find it helpful.

  • Liked — beach
  • Disliked — accomodation
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Vila Gaivota? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vila Gaivota

Address: Vale da Azinhaga, Ferragudo 8400-276, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Ferragudo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Ferragudo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Vila Gaivota 3*
Number of rooms: 48
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Cheap Tickets and TripOnline SA so you can book your Vila Gaivota reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vila Gaivota Ferragudo, Portugal - Algarve
Vila Gaivota Hotel Ferragudo

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Vila Gaivota, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.