We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not Bad, Not Great” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sueste

Sueste
Travessa da Ribeira 91, Ferragudo 8400, Portugal
282 461 592
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #22 of 34 Restaurants in Ferragudo
Price range: $21 - $37
Cuisines: Portuguese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night
Description: By the Arade river, near the sea and the beach. Very good grilled fresh fish and local food. Near Portimão town. We have a taxi boat to pic-up people from Marina de Portimão to the restaurant, free of charges
Dorset
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“Not Bad, Not Great”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2012

If you like fish this may be worth a try. We arrived at about 8>30 and most of the fresh fish was gone. We

We were offered 2 large fish to feed 6 of us. It was plenty and nothing to complain about but nothing to rave about either. Fresh grilled fish, chips or potatoes and salad. Nothing much more to comment about.

The service is good and it is right on the harbour so has a decent view.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

175 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    61
    56
    28
    17
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Lee, United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Not for our taste”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2012

We had a meal here in a busy Friday night. We thought the service was rushed and not speacial in any way at all. They had a hen party in a table next to us who I am sure had a great time, but it seemed like we were forgotten. Food was average. We had some traditional sardines and they were so heavily salted that it covered the taste of the fish. We also thought the meal was very expensive for what it was for. Not for us.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Porto, Portugal
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Best grilled fish in the world!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2012

In my opinion, Portugal has the best fish in the world and in Sueste we can have the best grilled fish in the world! The fish is fresh as it can be, caught in the sea nearby, and the way it is grilled in charcoal is simply delicious... And we can eat it in a very pitoresque village, seating outdoors in front of the small port.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisbon, Portugal
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Dinner by sunset in a very small fisherman village in Algarve”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2012

Magnificent location in a very small fisherman village in Algarve, opposite to Portimão .
If you like the smell of charcoal grilled fish, it is perfect.
Nice list of Portuguese wines, but no white Porto wine.
Please do not drink “sangria”, give an opportunity to the nice white wines.
Very good and fresh fish, but expensive for Portuguese tourists.
No meat at all.
If you go there once, it is all right, but twice will be “repetitive” ( the food, not the views…in particular by sunset).

  • Visited August 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ankara, Turkey
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Better than most but still?”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2012 via mobile

İt is a nice ambiance a summer open air fish restaurant at a fishing port with a grill outside. But the cooking, level of quality and the taste are not something extraordinary. Salad is also boring. And no cheap by the way. Food in Portugal is really exagerated İ think.

    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sueste also viewed

Ferragudo, Faro District
Ferragudo, Faro District
 
Ferragudo, Faro District
Ferragudo, Faro District
 

Been to Sueste? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sueste, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.