We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An excellent vegetarian cafe” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Retreat

The Retreat
Main Street, Yorkshire Dales National Park, Grassington, England
Improve this listing
Ranked #8 of 12 Restaurants in Grassington
Cuisines: Vegetarian
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch
England
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“An excellent vegetarian cafe”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

Good quality food in Grassington is difficult to find, but The Retreat certainly delivers it. Simple cuisine, good quality ingredients, well cooked with pleasant service.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

67 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    41
    15
    5
    2
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Good food & Service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013

We were walking round this lovely village and we came across the Retreat. Do not let the fact that this is a vegan restaurant put you off trying this lovely place. The food is excellent, freshly prepared and there is a good choice. The portions are of a good size and my husband was very pleasantly surprised by how good the vegan sausages were as this was the first time he had tried a vegan meal.The staff are very friendly and helpful and the restaurant was spotless. I would recommended anyone to please try the Retreat for themselves I am sure they will not be disappointed.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Perfect Vegan Food & Drink”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2013

We were in the middle of a day of travelling back down the country and were recommended to eat here and we were not disappointed. We had the brazil nut, mushroom and vegetable pie with salad and chips and the vegan burger with salad and chips, followed by huge slices of a delectable chocolate fudge cake with soya cream and large soya lattes. The owner was exceptionally friendly and even provided an extra thin slice of cake for our little one!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Amazing veggie and vegan food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013 via mobile

Nestled in the pretty village of Grassington in the Yorkshire Dales, The Retreat is a lovely little friendly cafe serving fantastic veggie and vegan food at reasonable prices.

I had the veggie burger and chips, and this was the best I'd ever had - a proper burger style with salad, mayonnaise and soft bread - delicious, and miles ahead of the usual vegetable burger.

My girlfriend had Brazil nut, mushroom and vegetable pie and she said it was very tasty.

I finished with a cream tea, a lovely scone generously topped in jam and locally sourced cream - delicious!


The staff were great - attentive and helpful, service was amazing, food served quickly and efficiently, and the prices were very reasonable too.

Inside it was very clean, with a warm and friendly atmosphere.

Really can't fault it and we'll definitely be back. :-)

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Attleborough, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Good food, and great service!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

After a hard walk around Wharfdale we found ourselves in Grassington in search of a food, and we are so glad we chose the Retreat!
Such a friendly welcome, courteous, pleasant surroundings, very clean, and most of all excellent food.
A great choice of traditional hearty food, plus the added temptation of home made cakes!
Many thanks!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Retreat also viewed

Grassington, Yorkshire Dales National Park
Grassington, Yorkshire Dales National Park
 
Grassington, Yorkshire Dales National Park
Grassington, Yorkshire Dales National Park
 

Been to The Retreat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Retreat, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.