We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A GOOD TIME HAD BY ALL” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Black Horse Hotel

Black Horse Hotel
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Black Horse Hotel to your Saves list
Black Horse Hotel
4 Garrs Lane, Yorkshire Dales National Park, Grassington BD23 5AT, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Grassington
Accrington, United Kingdom
1 review
“A GOOD TIME HAD BY ALL”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2010

We stayed at the hotel on Saturday 20th November, along with 14 friends, for our annual 'Christmas do' making a welcome change from the usual night out. A couple of friends had already stayed the evening before & as we'd arrived early we planned to leave our luggage in their room. On arrival John showed us straight to our room which was very much appreciated. The rooms were very clean & tidy with everything provided to make our stay comfortable.
In the evening we ate in the restaurant, waited on by Steve, who couldn't have been any more accommodating. The standard & quality of the food was excellent & good value for money as was the full English breakfast on Sunday. This is a traditional village pub which may not have the frills of a fancy boutique hotel but is warm, comfortable & friendly. We are already planning next year's trip if John & family will have us back!! Thanks for a great weekend.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bhgrass, Owner at Black Horse Hotel, responded to this review, January 17, 2011
Delighted to read your commment. Thank you for your kind words and we look forward to welcoming you again.
John
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

193 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    105
    50
    18
    10
    10
See reviews for
17
99
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Killinghall
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2010

From the moment we arrived at this lovley little hotel we recieved a very warm welcome by the barman (Stephen) who took us straight to our room and explained everything we would need to know during our stay and on leaving us to unpack told us his name and said if we needed any further help during our stay to let him know. We felt very assured that this was completely sincere and not simply something he was told to say which makes a refreshing change.

On arriving downstairs for a drink and something to eat the landlord John was equally as welcoming, his infectious friendly nature rubbing off not only on his staff but also on the other people in the bar, both locals and other guests. Our dog was made very welcome in the bar area but was not allowed in the dining room despite other trip adviser comments, some people are just dog unfriendly and like to exaggerate.

The room was basic and yes the tv was not flat screen but why would you go to such a lovely place as grassington to watch tv? The bed was comfy, lovely clean white fresh bedding and towels with complimentary toiletries. It was nothing flash but if you are looking for posh interiers, modern decor, pretentious staff and other guests then its not for you but if you are looking for a very welcoming, friendly, honest, clean and special stay which offers excellent value for money then you will find the Black Horse is what you have been looking for.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bhgrass, Owner at Black Horse Hotel, responded to this review, January 17, 2011
Thank you for your comments, especially regarding pets. We have, as I have written before, no pretensions. We are a typical, we hope, Dales Hotel and our aim is to provide an enjoyable break in magnificent surroundings. We are, therefore, delighted and grateful for your comments. Thank you.
John
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wigan, United Kingdom
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2010

Had a twin room which was woefully lacking. The bed I slept in was extremely uncomfortable because of the state of the matress. I was informed that it was relatively new ,so can only question it's quality. The springs or wires, which was what they felt like, were very prominent and, after 2 nights, I could not have spent another night on it. The television was an old one , not a flat screen one, that was quite small. In order to see a decent picture, personally , I had to be closer to it than the distance to the bed.This was very uncomfortable as there was only one chair in the room which was a wicker chair which didn't even have a cushion on it and it was impossible to sit on it for any length of time. The on line advertisement stated that the room had "toiletries". so I didn't take any of the usual shower gel, shampoo etc. only to find that it had just 2 small, boxed soaps. Hardley toiletries !!! The room didn't even have a bed-side lamp or a lamp of any kind, just the main light which switched on and off at the main switch near the door.Not exactly near the beds.I think for the money we paid ie: £70 per night b&b it did not represent good value, in fact , for me, it was very poor.
We spent 2 evenings eating in the bar downstairs, trying to support the hotel and it's staff. The food was o.k.but there are some locals who prop up the bar who obviously have drink problems and whos language can be quite offensive. We didn't stay ther long.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bhgrass, Owner at Black Horse Hotel, responded to this review, November 25, 2010
So sorry to read this review, as I felt and was assured that we were doing o. k. The lady did mention the bed on Saturday morning, and I examined the mattress with the housekeeper. As was said, it was quite new. So the mattresses on the two beds were turned and swapped from one bed to the other, Knowing that the lady,s friend had slept well that night. On asking if it was better on Sunday, I was told 'yes'. As to the toiletries, all rooms are given soap, shampoo, conditioner, shower gel, body lotion, all x 2, and a shower cap. As I showed the ladies to their room, I can't believe I would have missed such an error. I have just checked the room, and there's a cushion on the chair. If it was absent, I apologise and cannot understand where it was hidden at the time. Point well noted for the bed-side light, thank you. It has been rectified. However, most or all of these points would normally be expressed at the time, amd any member of my staff would be only too happy to correct any problem or oversight. They can happen anywhere, anytime. Such a piy it becomes a public discussion after th event. We DO try to please everybody. It isn't always successful, and maybe never will be but we'll keep on trying!
John
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2010

This is a nice pub with good beer and the landlord is a very charming man. Our room was cmfortable and compact,. There were staff problems at the time of our stay (I think sqme of them had gone on holiday) and meal times could get a bit fraught, so coditions were not typical. One or two things niggled, like dogs being allowed, particularly in the dining room and the eternal problem of parking legally in the square. But we enjoyed our stay nonetheless.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bhgrass, Owner at Black Horse Hotel, responded to this review, November 25, 2010
Although not over-critical, I am disappointed that our creed i.e that our first and main aim is that every guest enjoys their stay, wasn't fully met. Regarding staff problems, these should not even reach the customer. We did have an absence (through sudden illness) but the replacement was every inch as capable and is not (nor should ever be used as) an excuse.
Dogs are part and parcel of Dales life, and guest's dogs are provided for. They are NOT, however, allowed into the dining room except for breakfast, and always on a lead and under control. If this wasn't so, I apologise, it is rare.
Parking is a perennial problem here an elsewhere by definition of the Dales. We usually cope, and I do provide tips to guests if there are problems. It disappoints me greatly that you wouldn't reccommend us to a friend, and can only hope that one day you'll give us a chance to show our true colours, as many have testified on these pages.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Keighley, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2010

We had the best weekend in the hostel room at the Black Horse. The staff were welcoming and really helpful and the landlord John was legendary. The food was excellent and the room clean and comfortable. Grassington is beautiful with lots of lovely walks and the locals are friendly and fun. I'm sure we'll be back.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bhgrass, Owner at Black Horse Hotel, responded to this review, November 8, 2010
Your 'score' is so welcome, and much appreciated. Thank you.
John
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockport, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2010

After trying to find somewhere on spec for a stop off point we ended up in Grassington. After trying the pub across the way which had the "Rooms available tonight" sign outside, only to find they were full, my husband informed me he had stayed at the Black Horse previously.

The Tourist Information very kindly telephoned ahead and booked a room for us. Great Value.

The room was quirky to say the least, but what do you expect from a 17th Century Inn. The food would have been well served by the likes of Gordon Ramsey or Jamie Oliver. Fantastic.

There was nothing that was too much trouble for the staff. Everyone was friendly and happy to help. We will definately return - but will phone first to book - we don't want to be disappointed!

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bhgrass, Owner at Black Horse Hotel, responded to this review, November 8, 2010
Comments like yours make it so worthwhile. Thank you.
John
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2010

Me and my husband stayed at the black horse hotel for a weekend away/ wedding.
We stayed in a king room with free-view tv that we found to be clean, nicely decorated, with tea and coffee making facilities, shower and bath and obviously a toilet which sounds standard however, I looked at alot of accommodation in and around the area and for the same price maybe more you don't have your own en-suite.
The staff made you feel really welcome and could not do enough for you we received excellent service throughout our stay.
The breakfast which comes with the price of the room was really nice and it came with never ending top ups of tea and coffee, we were spoilt for choice with the menu.
Although the black horse hotel does not have its own car park we had no trouble parking the area has a few places to park and we didn't find this to be a problem.
You only have to read on here to see that if you are looking for a clean room, comfortable, with tv, bath/shower toilet and a lovely brekkie with welcoming and friendly staff then the black horse hotel in grassington is most definitely the place to stay.
"enjoy your stay"

Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bhgrass, Owner at Black Horse Hotel, responded to this review, November 8, 2010
It certainly is! No pretensions, and in a wonderful place. Thank you.
John
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Black Horse Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Black Horse Hotel

Address: 4 Garrs Lane, Yorkshire Dales National Park, Grassington BD23 5AT, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Yorkshire Dales National Park > Grassington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Grassington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A 17th-century coaching inn in the heart of the Yorkshire Dales. 15 en-suite rooms - twin, double, king-size, 4 poster (with a magnificent view into the Dales), even hostel bedrooms. Typically Dales in its interior with nary a level floor or wall in sight! Cosy bar with a log fire, and an equally cosy restaurant with a la carte or traditional fayre dishes. Plenty of superb walks in the immediate area. 50 yards from Grassington square. A full refurbishment of the bedrooms, with new bathrooms, was completed in April, as was the restaurant, complete with carvery meals at the weekends. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Black Horse Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Black Horse Hotel Grassington, Yorkshire

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Black Horse Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.