We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Usual Good Standard” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Black Horse Hotel

Black Horse Hotel
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Black Horse Hotel to your Saves list
Black Horse Hotel
4 Garrs Lane, Yorkshire Dales National Park, Grassington BD23 5AT, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Grassington
Farnham, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Usual Good Standard”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2014

Another good stay at the Black Horse. We chose a room at the back (because it is quieter). The breakfast was very good. Right in the centre near the main square - one of the 3 or 4 local pubs in the village.

Room Tip: Rooms at the back are quieter. There can be noise from the street at the front.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bhgrass, Owner at Black Horse Hotel, responded to this review, May 3, 2014
Thank you for the nice comments. The score perturbs me, we clearly need to improve to increase that. All comments are welcome from guests, we can only get better with detailed feedback. We look forward to your next visit. John
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

193 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    105
    50
    18
    10
    10
See reviews for
17
99
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
bradford
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2014 via mobile

Stayed here after buying a groupon deal. The owner kindly extended the date so we could stay at a date to suit us. Lovely old hotel, beams everywhere..so homely. We stayed in the room with the four poster bed and it was just so pretty. Decor in bedroom nice, new bathroom with bath. Beautiful soft bed and duck feather quilt..slept like a log. There was some noise from down stairs as it was karaoke night...but this is to be expected as the rooms are over the pub and it stopped at 12. Owner was present until late at night...then early next morning. Brekkie was tasty. We had a nice relaxing break..thankyou!

  • Stayed March 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bhgrass, Owner at Black Horse Hotel, responded to this review, April 24, 2014
And thank YOU for the generous comments. We always aim for full satisfaction, and mostly provide it. When we miss my staff are always upset, so we try hard not to! Thanks again, especially as a lot of the Groupon visitors seemed to be self-appointed hotel inspectors on the cheap. Some, however, like you were appreciative and charming. Thanks again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheshire, Connecticut
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2014 via mobile

Just stayed for the weekend at the Black Horse with a party of 18 to celebrate a Golden Wedding , John the owner could not have been more helpful and did everything he could to make us all feel welcome and comfortable. As John has just taken on a new local chef the food was fantastic the steak cooked to perfection everyone really enjoyed their meals nothing was too much trouble for all the staff, the best weekend we have spent there yet ,we have been many times over the years and have booked again for later in the year ,the Black Sheep also went down a treat!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bhgrass, Owner at Black Horse Hotel, responded to this review, April 24, 2014
Thank you, Annette, for your kind comments, always welcome. As are you and your party, never a dull moment and great company. John
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2014 via mobile

This was our 4th trip to the black horse and was the best yet! Great check in great food great room! Thank you to all for a lovely trip we look forward to seeing you for the 5th time :) I'd encourage everyone to give this little gem a go you won't be disappointed

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bhgrass, Owner at Black Horse Hotel, responded to this review, March 13, 2014
You most certainly are! and we're deighted to see you, always. Thanks, and see you again soon.

John Wain
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2014

Just arrived home from a night at the Black Horse. Called in very last minute and they had a couple of rooms spare we went for room 6 sky light room absolutely fine for a night away very clean the bed was very comfortable bathroom had all you need. We had a meal in the pub Pie and gammon both large portions cooked and presented well. Breakfast on Sunday morning wasn't huge but was very tasty poached egg was perfect. All staff are very attentive and friendly had a nice chat with the owner and would definitely go back again. Find it hard to understand some of the negative reviews. Would have given a 5 if nachos had sour cream etc... This said we weren't charged for them.

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bhgrass, Owner at Black Horse Hotel, responded to this review, March 13, 2014
Thank you for your nice comments. I'm sorry about the error, and the kitchen had informed the servery. The message didn't get through on change of staff. Sorry again.

John Wain
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2014

I booked this hotel after buying a Groupon voucher. When my husband and I arrived we were told that we had a twin room, which seemed fine given that we hadn't paid full price. However when we got into the room it was actually a dorm room with bunk beds. Not at all what we expected, the member of staff working said that this was what they classed as a twin room, if we had been told in advance we wouldn't have bothered coming! We left shortly after as we hadn't anticipated staying in what looked like a youth hostel room. Staff were unapologetic.

Fantastic location, but I wouldn't chance it again.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bhgrass, Owner at Black Horse Hotel, responded to this review, March 13, 2014
Let me begin by saying that the 1st words uttered by my staff member were "I'm sorry". The next point is that the room is exactly as the rest i.e. fully en-suite, LCD Freeview tv, tea/coffee facilities, exclusive occupancy. Does that sound like a typical 'youth hostel'? However, we do provide rooms with bunks for cyclists and walkers. This is one of them. The error was in the oversale of rooms in the time provided on Groupon. I had to extend bookings 2 weeks (at my expense) to cover the demand. I'm sorry this happened to you, seriously, but please keep it in context, and factual.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2014

We stayed here for one night as a groupon deal. There was an issue with trying to find somewhere to park but it was a Saturday afternoon and grassington is a tiny little village with limited parking. We managed to find a cheeky spot and later moved the car once spaces came available at shop closing times. The pub itself was very welcoming and we were treated really well. Free wifi is always a bonus. We had the Art Deco room which was very cosy with a bed so comfy I didn't want to leave it. Bathroom was small but this is a quaint b&b so expected.

We had a couple of drinks downstairs and to my own fault I ordered a glass of wine without asking for a price list and chose a £7 glass but soon switched to he house for a better price of £5 a large glass.

We didn't eat here instead opted for the little curry house round the corner which was amazing. Went back for drinks though and the karaoke which was a treat! The atmosphere was great and everyone so welcoming and friendly.

Breakfast the next day I was concerned about after reading other reviews but wow it was fab! I opted for scrambled egg and it was amazing and the food was fresh hot and service again friendly and efficient. I thought filling in a sheet the day before was a great business idea and ensured you weren't waiting around too long for a hearty breakfast. Unlimited tea coffee and juice and cereal! Fab!

Really enjoyed our stay here thanks so much!

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bhgrass, Owner at Black Horse Hotel, responded to this review, February 25, 2014
And thank you so much. Delighted you had an enjoyable stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Black Horse Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Black Horse Hotel

Address: 4 Garrs Lane, Yorkshire Dales National Park, Grassington BD23 5AT, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Yorkshire Dales National Park > Grassington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Grassington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A 17th-century coaching inn in the heart of the Yorkshire Dales. 15 en-suite rooms - twin, double, king-size, 4 poster (with a magnificent view into the Dales), even hostel bedrooms. Typically Dales in its interior with nary a level floor or wall in sight! Cosy bar with a log fire, and an equally cosy restaurant with a la carte or traditional fayre dishes. Plenty of superb walks in the immediate area. 50 yards from Grassington square. A full refurbishment of the bedrooms, with new bathrooms, was completed in April, as was the restaurant, complete with carvery meals at the weekends. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Black Horse Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Black Horse Hotel Grassington, Yorkshire

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Black Horse Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.