We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“fantastic place” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Black Horse Hotel

Black Horse Hotel
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Black Horse Hotel to your Saves list
Black Horse Hotel
4 Garrs Lane, Yorkshire Dales National Park, Grassington BD23 5AT, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Grassington
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“fantastic place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013

we have just spent 2 days at this hotel and although i was a bit dubious after reading a couple of bad reviews once booked in my mind was put to rest. All i can say is what do you people want ? . This hotel is warm and comfortable the rooms and hotel are spotless the staff are really welcoming and friendly and the food is very good. We also took our dog who was made more than welcome, i must point out however to the non dog people the fact that this hotel allows dogs in no way impacts on the cleanliness of the hotel or any of the rooms. I would highly recommend a visit to my friends and will be returning this summer. Thankyou to all the staff for a lovely couple of days.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

193 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    105
    50
    18
    10
    10
See reviews for
17
99
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Huddersfield
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013

Just got back from black horse, it was fab very friendly clean and such a lovely little village, went for our wedding anniversary, and was lovely, the food was spot on, cannot fault anything, defo worth a stay, and would defo go again, thank you so much to all the staff x

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huddersfield
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

This is our 3rd trip to this little gem and it won't be our last. The rooms, food and staff are all wonderful. The only slight downside was that on the 2nd night, there wasn't any hand pulled beer available but this wasn't a massive problem as we went to another pub, it just meant that sadly the Black horse lost our custom that night.

Thanks again to John & team.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newton Le Willows, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

Stayed as a party of 10 for a bargain, out of season, weekend: great weekend, tremendous value. The hotel was very comfortable, room was fine with sets of toiletries (which I somehow didn't expect), an abundance of coffee/tea/chocolate/milk, a comfortable bed and fluffy soft white towels. Nothing was too much trouble for the staff who genuinely seemed happy to help. As we were a sizeable party we ordered evening meals a short while beforehand, which meant we were all served at the same time. On the first evening one couple were unfortunately very late in arriving, after the chef had finished, but they were given sandwiches and salad which were declared delicious.
The only drawback - inevitable in an historic little village such as this - is the parking. There is none at all at the hotel and the small square close by was full when we arrived. We went up the hill and found a spot by the town hall, and there was additional parking further up. If you have much luggage though it might be awkward if you've been unable to stop close to the hotel.
All in all though a great place to go! We're hoping to make a return visit.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

Enjoyed a weekend break with 14 friends for only £120 per couple including breakfast and evening meal on Friday, can't get cheaper than that!
Great food and quality beer, if you've not been to the dales your missing a treat, scenery spectacular and walking exhilarating.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Albans, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

Lovely hotel and our room (#15) had the 4-poster. Very comfortable, good sized bathroom and view of the village from the bedroom window. It snowed heavily on the Friday night but early next morning, all the roads had been cleared so we could drive, wander down to the shops, get out easily for walks and drive to Ripon and Skipton. Mine Host was very helpful and kept us well fed and watered. His staff were also very attentive and our crowd of 10 all had an enjoyable stay there. If you are visiting Grassington for the rugby at Wharfdale, you will find everyone in the village seems to be a member of the club and will make you welcome.
Recommend the hotel

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013 via mobile

Had a great stay in the black horse nice food comfortable rooms friendly staff and an excellent pint of black sheep Emma the barmaid couldn't do enough for you and so did the stand in manager as John was on holiday.we booked next day to stay at Christmas I can't understand why certain other hotels around cant serve a pint of black sheep as good as this hotel.

Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Black Horse Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Black Horse Hotel

Address: 4 Garrs Lane, Yorkshire Dales National Park, Grassington BD23 5AT, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Yorkshire Dales National Park > Grassington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Grassington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A 17th-century coaching inn in the heart of the Yorkshire Dales. 15 en-suite rooms - twin, double, king-size, 4 poster (with a magnificent view into the Dales), even hostel bedrooms. Typically Dales in its interior with nary a level floor or wall in sight! Cosy bar with a log fire, and an equally cosy restaurant with a la carte or traditional fayre dishes. Plenty of superb walks in the immediate area. 50 yards from Grassington square. A full refurbishment of the bedrooms, with new bathrooms, was completed in April, as was the restaurant, complete with carvery meals at the weekends. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Black Horse Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Black Horse Hotel Grassington, Yorkshire

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Black Horse Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.