We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cyclists welcome - very welcome indeed!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Yew Tree House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Grassington
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Yew Tree House
Save
You added Yew Tree House to your Saves list
4.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   Scar Street | Grassington, Yorkshire Dales National Park, Grassington BD23 5AS, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 21 Grassington B&B and Inns
Yorkshire Dales National Park, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Cyclists welcome - very welcome indeed!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2011

Three of us arrived after getting caught in the heavy downpour at the end of a ride up to Grassington. Immediate garaging for the bikes, and five minutes later the wet clothes were drying over the Aga. Five more minutes and a pot of tea for three plus lemon cake and biscuits was waiting for us on the wide landing area, where comfy seats and heaps of literature made it a good place to chat. Lots of DVDs we noticed.

Where to eat? Well taht was booked for us whilst we showered, bedrroms very comfy, toiletries natural and plentiful, TV and DVD player with Freeview, and the lovely touch of a pair of wine glasses and corckscrew if you wanted to drink in.

Breakfasts were fab, two great Yorkshire cooked and a proper veggie cooked as well. Lots of fresh fruit and yoghurt, a printed weather forecast (yet more rain - proved correct too...) and heaps of tea and fresh coffee. Nothing amiss at all, shame we had to cycle away.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

52 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    50
    2
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
5
34
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Scarborough, United Kingdom
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2011

many thanks again for a super 4 days at your perfect b and b,andrew and julie you excel on all counts great breakfast clean accomodation and excellent rooms,i can recommend this accomodation without reserve,thanks julie & peter

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JulietNorthYorkshire, Owner at Yew Tree House, responded to this review, September 9, 2011
Thank you very much for your positive review. We particulary enjoy seeing our returning guests (as well as meeting the new ones!) and are very pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us. Hopefully see you again before too long

Julie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2011

Probably the nicest room I've ever stayed in at a B&B (even a motion-sensitive light in the bathroom) in the delightful town of Grassington. Very friendly and welcoming owners, and accommodating for walkers trekking the Dales Way which is a few hundred yards away. Nice quiet street. Evening meals available at the various pubs down the hill.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JulietNorthYorkshire, Owner at Yew Tree House, responded to this review, August 7, 2011
Thank you very much for your positive review. We are glad you were comfortable and enjoyed your stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheshire
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2011

We stayed here on our 1st night cycling the Way of the Roses C2C. We were hot and tired but what a lovely warm welcome from our hosts. Large jug of iced elderflower cordial brought to our room. The room was lovely, immaculately clean, very comfortable bed and breakfast the next morning was superb (all locally produced high quality food and lovely fresh fruit. Our bikes were locked away overnight in the garage. Could not fault this wonderful B&B. We will return!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JulietNorthYorkshire, Owner at Yew Tree House, responded to this review, June 10, 2011
Thank you for your feedback. It was great to meet you both and we are so glad you enjoyed your stay at Yew Tree House. Happy cycling and we hope to see you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Keswick, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2011

We stayed for three nights and found it excellent. Our bedroom was lovely, with plenty of space to move around in and very clean and comfortable. The breakfasts were very filling and kept us going during our days on the bike. Andrew and Julie were very friendly and helpful with suggestions where to eat in the village and there were several places only a few minutes walk from the house. They also provided a secure garage for our bikes which is definitely a plus. We shall certainly go again.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JulietNorthYorkshire, Owner at Yew Tree House, responded to this review, August 7, 2011
Thank you very much for taking the trouble to give us some feedback. We do try to provide our guests with 'home from home' comforts and we are glad you enjoyed your stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cas vegas
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
80 helpful votes 80 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2011

We stayed at the yew tree for 2 nights and had a lovely stay, we had a lovely room with decent facilities and had a nice lie in as the b&b is in a nice quiet location in the village but still within a 2 min walk of all the pubs & shops.The owners are very attentive to all your needs and make a great full English to set you off for a days walking. I would recommend this B&B to anyone wanting a lovely Yorkshire Dales break.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2011

We stayed here with our two teenage children during the half term holiday. What a treat! It was one of the loveliest places that we have ever been to. Absolutely spotless with lots of little extra touches like luxury shower gel and a caffetiere on the tea tray in our room. The kids loved the Wi Fi and the delicious breakfasts. Very friendly hosts - nothing was too much trouble. Will definitely go back!!

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JulietNorthYorkshire, Owner at Yew Tree House, responded to this review, March 7, 2011
Thank you very much for your review, we are delighted you enjoyed your stay and we appreciate your feedback. We enjoyed meeting your family too and we look forward to seeing you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Yew Tree House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Yew Tree House

Address: Scar Street | Grassington, Yorkshire Dales National Park, Grassington BD23 5AS, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Yorkshire Dales National Park > Grassington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 21 B&Bs / Inns in Grassington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Yew Tree House 4*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Yew Tree House is an excellent base for exploring the Dales on foot or by bicycle, car or public transport. We have ample parking and, whilst situated in a quiet location, we are two minutes walk from the main village square. We offer a warm welcome together with quality, spacious and comfortable accommodation. There are three bedrooms - one with a standard double bed, one with a king sized bed and one with a super-king bed that can alternatively be configured as a twin. Each bedroom is complete with an en-suite containing a walk in shower, hand basin and WC. One en-suite also has a full size enameled bath. All the bedrooms have generous tea/coffee making facilities, flat screen colour TVs with separate CD/DVD players, and iPod/iPhone bedside docking stations incorporating alarm clocks/FM radios. There is on-site car parking, and guests have use of a comfortable sitting room where there is a large display of local books and tourist information. We also offer a high speed WiFi network, available in all rooms and free of charge. Vegetarian, gluten and/or dairy free free breakfasts provided if required. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Yew Tree House Grassington, Yorkshire

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Yew Tree House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.