We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Yorkshire gem - very enjoyable” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Devonshire Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Grassington
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Devonshire Hotel
25-27 Main Street, Yorkshire Dales National Park, Grassington BD23 5AD, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 2 hotels in Grassington
Leeds, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“A Yorkshire gem - very enjoyable”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2010

Great staff, great food, great location! We stayed on the "two night Yorkshire break" and it was excellent value for money.. Food was fantastic and portions VERY generous!

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

136 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    44
    47
    19
    12
    14
See reviews for
20
78
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Scotland
Top Contributor
104 reviews 104 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2010

Called in on spec and booked to stay for a couple of nights. Really pleased with our find. Great location on village square with off road parking. Nice wee rooms -all named after breeds of sheep. 'Blackface' looks out over the square and has a window seat - so you can sit with a book/magazine and watch the world go by. Food in bar and restaurant excellent - good portions too! (seafood platter starter for two is a meal in itself). Real ales and good atmosphere in bar area - popular with locals. Hope to return, perhaps for a week next time.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2010

We stayed at the Devonshire Hotel for two nights as we were attending a wedding in the nearby village of Burnsall. Our room was quite small but very comfortable and had everything we needed for our stay - the bed was really comfortable, the bathroom a bit dated but serviceable.

We ate in the restaurant on the Saturday night and really enjoyed our meal and the breakfast was good both mornings. The bar was busy without being packed and had a good atmosphere and the tables outside were constantly full with people enjoying the views across Grassington Square.

Everyone we met was very friendly and overall we enjoyed our stay. We'd certainly consider staying here again if we had reason to be in the area.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bromley
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2010

The Devonshire is a traditional county Inn, on the high street at Grassington, ideally located to explore the wonderful local scenery. The rooms are all named after breeds of sheep, very educational! Our room was very comfortable. The bar was pleasantly buzzing at night, and the restaurant was superb. The DBB deal is extremely good vale, as you can choose whatever you want from the a la carte menu. The standard of the food was excellent; the sweets were particularly amazing, and the breakfast one of the best we have ever experienced. There was some noise coming from the outside seating area below our window in the early hours, but this may just be a one-off, and to a degree to be expected from a village Inn. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2010

Great food and friendly staff. Watch out for shower - bit of a hit & miss with warm water

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Umbria07
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2010

we spent three nights at the "Dev" earlier this month, the staff made us feel more than welcome - very much "part of the family" from the moment we arrived, nothing too much trouble and the quality of food and wine offered throughout our stay was incomparable. many thanks to Stuart and his team. If you are around on a Sunday what a fantastic sunday lunch - spotted Steve Coogan and Rob Brydon on our last visit to Grassington, wouldn't be suprised if they were visiting to eat at the Dev.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sunderland
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2010

stayed here for midweek break ,great value,staff very friendly and efficient especially mo and rosie.lovely food great beer,cosy fire and relaxing atmosphere,locals nice and friendly.very clean and functional bedrooms.manager stuart approachable and promotes a lovely atmosphere along with his staff,even down to the guy who makes the excellent english breakfast.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Devonshire Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Devonshire Hotel

Address: 25-27 Main Street, Yorkshire Dales National Park, Grassington BD23 5AD, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Yorkshire Dales National Park > Grassington
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 hotels in Grassington
Also Known As:
Devonshire Hotel Grassington
The Devonshire Hotel Grassington, Yorkshire

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Devonshire Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added The Devonshire Hotel to your Saves list