We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“WINTER BREAK IN YORKSHIRE DALES” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Grassington House Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Grassington House Hotel to your Saves list
Grassington House Hotel
5.0 of 5 Small Hotel   |   5 The Square | Grassington, Yorkshire Dales National Park, Grassington BD23 5AQ, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 21 Grassington B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
West Yorkshire
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“WINTER BREAK IN YORKSHIRE DALES”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013

Lovely 2 night break to recover from Christmas and New Year celebrations and a pre 60th birthday treat for husband. Both Grassington and the hotel were very quiet and therefore lacking a little atmosphere but guess it was down to the dates we chose to visit.The staff were very friendly and welcoming. The car parking was a bonus and i guess extremely valuable at peak holiday periods.Our room was a little on the small size with small windows and not much of a view but warm and well equiped for comfort with fresh coffee, homemade biscuits, hi spec tv and lovely toiletries.Breakfast was lovely featuring home reared bacon and sausages and home made museli, jam and marmalade.We chose to eat in the bar area in the evening due to the restaurant being very quiet. We were spoit for choice with a varied menu which also included daily specials.The food was faultless and obviously one of the main attractions of the hotel and i guess very popular with the locals.Would be very happy to make a re visit perhaps at a busier time.

Room Tip: Not able to comment on the other rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

348 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    268
    58
    19
    3
    0
See reviews for
44
220
4
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (82)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Manchester
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013 via mobile

The room was excellent and I couldn't find fault with it, it was toasty warm. The bar staff were a bit mixed on helpfulness, the owners son couldn't do enough for us, even going home to get us a pack of cards! However the other barman wasn't so helpful, when we asked if he could change the music from the jazz that had been on repeat for the last hour, his reply was no as it was 'friendly music' even though we were the only party in the bar! He did however change it 5 minutes later! There is free wifi at the hotel for guests but you had to relog in after 5 minutes which was a tad annoying.
We dined in the restaurant, the service was great as was the food, my only gripe was the very runny creme brûlée. Breakfast again was great. All in all a great little hotel,in a lovely village which we will be returning to.

Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
evelyn190, Owner at Grassington House Hotel, responded to this review, January 22, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to comment, Im so sorry that your request to change the music was responded to in such a negative manor. Had you not taken the time to comment we would be none the wiser and therefore would not have been able address the issue with the member of staff concerned. I can only apologise & look forward to welcoming you back to Grassington House in the future. Susan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
north yorkshire
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2013

We just stayed for a weekend dinner bed and breakfast at this charming hotel and enjoyed every minute. The staff are wonderfully friendly and welcoming and try to meet your every need. The rooms were large and individually decorated- our friends had a bath tub in their room whereas we had a view of the square and hills. The beds were comfortable and the bathrooms were modern and clean.
However the food is the best thing about this hotel. We had eaten here once before and booked a stay on the strength of how we had all enjoyed our meals. The breakfast is fabulous, everything done to an excellent standard and they even have their own pigs to provide excellent bacon and sausage. The evening meals were absolutely gorgeous both nights. I wish this standard of food was available in more restaurants, everything was cooked and presented perfectly. Nothing was too much trouble for the staff and we would definitely go back.

Room Tip: The rooms with views are on the top floor, we had room 10
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stroud, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
211 reviews 211 reviews
58 hotel reviews
Reviews in 99 cities Reviews in 99 cities
111 helpful votes 111 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

A warm welcome awaits at No5 The Square in Grassington. We were shown to our room, with everything we needed to know explained, by a very pleasant receptionist. The decor and fittings are first rate creating a positive vibe. It was an easy decision to take dinner in the house restaurant, and we were not disappointed: the sharing platter starters are excellent and three types of fresh bread rolls were on offer. We had haddock and strips of fillet steak and both were delicious. The batter was the lightest I have ever had, the fish itself stunning and the minted pea mash very tasty - the chips of course were great too! My wife is still talking about her main course two days later!! We took coffee in the lounge bar and the choice of bean is first rate - the same was available at breakfast, and in the room. Service from the restaurant staff was attentive and unobtrusive. Breakfast was looked forward to and again we were impressed by the service and menu choices - the bacon and sausage coming from the hosts own pigs reared locally. The owners try really hard to provide good value and have a range of offers to maintain occupancy rates at a high level. We would certainly return and recommend No 5 The Square to others.

Room Tip: All rooms are individual so ask for the size and specification at the time of making your booking: T...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincolnshire
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

We called at Grassington on a December Sunday hoping to find somewhere for lunch. There were several places but we chose Grassington House Hotel. Luckily we arrived at around noon and were able to get a table - it was fully booked a little later. We both had home made Vine Tomato Soup, followed by traditional Sunday Lunch. The locally reared beef was slow-cooked to perfection and had a superb flavour. A selection of oven roasted and other vegetable plus a Yorkshire Pudding and roast potatoes were served. We were offered more but declined. From the selection of desserts offered, We chose Fruit Crumble with a home-made custard.

The meal was one of the best Sunday Lunches that we have enjoyed and the staff were very pleasant and attentive. We look forward to being in the area again and visiting this restauant. The cost of the lunch was £14.50 for two courses or £16.50 for three courses.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oldham
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

We recently spent another night at the fabulous Grassington House Hotel. From the cosy bar, to the elegantly furnished bedrooms and on to the dining experience, this hotel must tick all the boxes for anybody who requires top class service in a small and friendly environment. The menu is varied to suit all tastes, This is only as good as the food that comes out of the kitchen,and believe me, there aren't too many chefs who are as good as John Rudden and his team, who deliver every time! Front of house is run by his wife Sue, who along with her team provide an equally top class service for guests. If you are in the area,try it out, you will not be disappointed.

Room Tip: Front rooms overlooking the square.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
halifax
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012

We visited Grassington House at the Dickensian Weekend, we had made our booking while at the previous Dickensian weekend a year before. We weren't disappointed, the food and the service were excellent..

The mulled wine is the best i've ever tasted! Well worth a visit.

We didn't stay, we just dined here but the hotel looks lovely too, small and friendly.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Grassington House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grassington House Hotel

Address: 5 The Square | Grassington, Yorkshire Dales National Park, Grassington BD23 5AQ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Yorkshire Dales National Park > Grassington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 21 B&Bs / Inns in Grassington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Grassington House Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Grassington House Hotel,an award wiining hotel & restaurant & a place for everyone. The Grassington House Hotel is one of the most impressive and historic buildings in Grassington's cobbled village square, the hotel now offers discerning locals and visitors a high quality, stylish new dining venue right in the heart of this ever popular Wharfedale location. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Grassington House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grassington House Hotel Yorkshire

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grassington House Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.