We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relais Falisco” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Palace Hotel Relais Falisco

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Palace Hotel Relais Falisco to your Saves list
Palace Hotel Relais Falisco
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Don Minzoni 19, 01033 Civita Castellana, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Relais Falisco”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013

We booked this hotel as a stopover on the way to Tuscany after flying into Rome. Civita Castellana is a great introduction for those interested in experiencing the "real Italy" away from the usual tourist locations and the Relais Falisco is an ideal place to stay. It is only an hour and a quarter by road from the airport, the rooms are spacious, the staff very helpful and we had a pleasant dinner in the restaurant attached to the hotel. When we were unloading our car, we discovered that we had left a small travelling bag with our camera at the airport. Gabriella at the hotel was particularly helpful and spent a lot of time on the phone trying to locate this bag which we managed to retrieve the next day.
We only had booked one night at the Relais Falisco but the town and hotel merit a longer stay. The town and its massive fortress are located in a spectacular position overlooking a gorge. We visited the fortress which is being converted into a museum with extensive exhibits dating back to pre-Roman times. We were interested in taking photographs inside this fortress but it was a bit puzzling why this was not allowed.
Staff at the hotel told us that they get groups of artists staying at the hotel from time to time and the location appears to be ideal for such activities.
Civita Castellana is involved in the production of ceramics and we visited the studio and shop of Vincenzo Dobboloni where we saw him at work and where we purchased some decorative plates.
Other places close by include the small town of Nepi which also has a long and interesting history.
In summary, the Relais Falisco and Civita Castellana deserve a much higher profile and those passing through the area will be well rewarded if they decide to stay a few days.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

88 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    43
    39
    5
    1
    0
See reviews for
4
43
3
26
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Halifax, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013

Visit Civita Castellana on business regularly - this is a great place to base yourself. The hotel feels very traditional but has been very cleverly refurbished several years ago. The location is in the centre of Civita, an old town but not particularly beautiful by Italian city standards. The approach and ambience is very peaceful.

The service at this hotel is first class - the staff all speak several languages and cannot do enough to help. The rooms are very spacious and quite traditional. The TV channels could do with having more than BBC World for international visitors but this is a minor point. Breakfast is served in a pleasant small room and the choice adequate. The bar area is very pleasant as well as the courtyard area where you can sit and enjoy the sunshine whilst having a cool drink.

There are several good restaurants nearby including La Scuderie which is 'on site' - reviewed separately. An average experience compared to previous visits. There is also the Pan e Pomodoro 100m away which is great value and lively for Civita.

The gym though is a bit dated to say the least!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

I've had several opportunities to work with this hotel, as I sometimes reserve it for guests on my small group tours of the area. (www.italianexcursion.com) The hotel staff is top notch. They speak Italian, English and French and are all kind and accommodating, making guests feel very welcome. The building, a significant historic one, in the center of town, is charming. Some of the rooms can be a bit dark and are not too large, but are well appointed with comfortable beds and linens. They serve an excellent breakfast and the rates for the rooms are very reasonable. There is a new restaurant, in what was once where the horses were kept, when the building was a palace, hundreds of years ago. It is adjacent to the hotel and it has gotten very good reviews, though I've yet to try it.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, Scotland
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013

Booked this hotel in a hurry as a stopover before flying out of Rome and didn't really pay too much attention to what it was like. Was very pleasantly surprised when we arrived to see what a gorgeous place it place it was and what a fabulous little town Civita Catellana is (though not that near Viterbo). The receptionist (?Georgina) was exceptionally helpful and professional and gave us a lovely room overlooking the courtyard with a heavily scented wisteria overhanging one of the windows. The room had bags of character but was also very comfortable with a huge bathroom. It was tempting just to stay there but we asked advice on where to go in town and were signposted to the key points of interest which included a tour round the fort which includes the town museum. I'd already been round 5-6 provincial museums but this was by far the most impressive with a great display of Faliscan, Etruscan and Roman artefacts. The main square, cathedral and gorge were also all very impressive. Breakfast was fairly standard but we really appreciated the staff setting it up half an hour early to accommodate our early departure. Landing up at Falisco was a real bonus and a great way to round off our holiday.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013

Very nice palace in the center of Civita Castellana, a small town near Viterbo. I was ther for the annual running race "Tre Comuni" and I enjoyed the hotel: huge interiors, fire places, a nice lounge bar. The room was a little bit tiny and even if it had an hand painted wood ceiling (beautiful!), walls were not completely "white" and the TV was too small for a 4* hotel.
Anyway, it was a very clean room. The reception service was very excellent and the breakfast very good. Moreover, tha place is at 100 meters from the Duomo. I recommend it!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

Located in a lovely traditional Italian village. We loved the place although we didn't see another guest at all in the evening. The one staff member we came in contact on check in was very welcoming, friendly and gave us a great recommendation for dining out. She also doubled as the barmaid. The room was amazing with very hot water and fabulous pressure something we had been missing at many other hotels.
Breakfast was a basic buffet and I am guessing this hotel is frequented by traveling business men and women that check in late and out early as there was no one ithere but buffet was stripped with only a meager amount of items left.

Room Tip: Coming from Australia we were astounded as to the wide range of designer glasses, the amazing prices...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlon, Belgium
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2012

Good hotel, friendly service, nice location in the historic part of Cività Castellana. The only disappointing point was the fitness room, which only contained very old equipment, most of it not functioning properly anymore.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Palace Hotel Relais Falisco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palace Hotel Relais Falisco

Address: Via Don Minzoni 19, 01033 Civita Castellana, Italy
Location: Italy > Lazio > Province of Viterbo > Civita Castellana
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Civita Castellana
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Palace Hotel Relais Falisco 4*
Number of rooms: 43
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Near from Rome, in the historical center of a small art city, relais falisco, 17th century palace, is a 4 stars hotel, skilfully restored, which offers 43 rooms including 8 suite, 3 conference rooms and a fitness center. Relais falisco is situated at only 20' from the motor-racing track of vallelunga, the golf club "le querce" and less than 1 hour from Rome int.l airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Palace Hotel Relais Falisco reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palace Hotel Viterbo

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Palace Hotel Relais Falisco, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.