We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just exquisite! A memory of a life time.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Lake Tarawera Water Taxi & Eco Tours

Lake Tarawera Water Taxi & Eco Tours
Tarawera Road, Lake Tarawera 3076, New Zealand
+64 7-362 8080
Website
Improve this listing
Certificate of Excellence 2014
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Our ecotour at Lake Tarawera, Rotorua includes Hot Water Beach and the Natural Bush Hot Pool. You will experience its unique geothermal wonders and relax in crystal clear warm water, under a canopy of unspoilt forest. Other tours take you to the Tarawera Falls, one of NZ's outstanding short walks or other popular walking tracks. All tours include commentary on the amazing local maori cultural, and volcanic history. All weather boat. We have regular summer summer services to Hot Water Beach Campsite.
Skanor, Sweden
1 review
“Just exquisite! A memory of a life time.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012

I travelled on my own with my 10 and 7 year old daughters from Sweden to New Zealand in order to attend a wedding in Napier for a dear kiwi friend. We stopped at Pounamu lodge on the way down from Auckland and I cannot begin to tell you what a wonderful welcoming we received there and how well looked after we were in a home away from home when we really needed that little bit of extra warmth and kindness. David offered to take us in his water taxi to the hot water beach across the lake the following morning and we were delighted to accept. For all three of us I can honestly say that ( apart from the actual wedding of course!) it was the absolute highlight in every way of our adventure down under! Experiencing this magical country in such a personalized way was more than I could ever have wished for in particular for my two girls and we are all left with truly amazing memories of a life time. To complete the warm swim we tasted Karen's delicious lemon cake on the way home and needless to say we could not have felt more well! Thank you so very much indeed!! We look forward to coming again as a whole family of seven sometime in the not too distant future! With love, Eva, Diana and Catarina

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
watertaxiRotorua, Owner at Lake Tarawera Water Taxi & Eco Tours, responded to this review, November 29, 2012
Greetings to you and the girls. I was privilege to be able to take you three out on our Lake Tarawera ecotour and have you stay at Pounamu Lodge. You guys were easy to have and were like family. Would love to meet the rest of your family and to be able to share our special area with them also.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

132 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    122
    10
    0
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Fabulous Family Outing for Melbourne Mob of 9!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

When in the Tarawera area this is a 'must do'! While away for our mum's 70th birthday we were always on the look out for activities that suited 3 generations, this had it all. David was both informative and entertaining and his water taxi clean and comfortable. We boarded the vessel for a leisurely trip to hot water beach that encompassed spectacular views, a great guide who imparted legends, historical facts and local information and an unforgetable experience of sinking our feet into sand (briefly) which was hot enough to cook your dinner in! Time allowed us,the kids & grandparents a good soak in the hot water pools followed by a thrilling dive/bomb into the cooler lake from a rock used by the locals in the summer. Thanks Dave for sharing the beauty and amazing things about your local area with us-lovely relaxing time had by all!

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
watertaxiRotorua, Owner at Lake Tarawera Water Taxi & Eco Tours, responded to this review, November 12, 2012
Thanks for your feedback. It is really appreciated. It was great to be able to take your whole family out, all the generations. You guys were fun to have aboard.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Standish, Maine
2 reviews
“Magical experience!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012

This is one of the very best tours in NZ and the most magical way to experience the wonder of the geo-thermal hot pools. David made the tour so interesting explaining the history and geography of the area. The boat trip to the pools was spectacular and the pools themselves are a marvel of tranquility. A very memorable and special experience-highly recomment it!

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
watertaxiRotorua, Owner at Lake Tarawera Water Taxi & Eco Tours, responded to this review, November 12, 2012
Thanks for your awesome feedback. I enjoyed taking you out and sharing our paradise.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
14 attraction reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Exploring the lake and hot water pools”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012

What a great service .. off to reach the lakes hot water beaches and pools. I have told so many people about the water taxi that I hope they tell you I sent them! I know one couple who will be taxiing in to the DoC campsite and then hiking out a few days later ... they want to cook a fish or chicken in the hot sand!

I loved soaking in the hot water pool and would never have known it was there without your help so many thanks David ( PS loved staying at Pounamu Lodge too)

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
watertaxiRotorua, Owner at Lake Tarawera Water Taxi & Eco Tours, responded to this review, November 4, 2012
Thanks for your feedback on our Water Taxi ecotours and for telling your friends about us and Lake Tarawera. It was also great that you could experience Pounamu Lodge's maori cultural experience. All the best with your future world travels. Look forward to seeing you up this way again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rotorua, New Zealand
1 review
“WOW that was unforgettable”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

Thanks Dave for such a fun couple of hours on the Hot Water Beach and Bush Pool Journey. I am a Rotorua Local and feel very privileged to have experienced the splendour of our natural surroundings on your trip . Your commentary made such a difference to my undersatnding of the past and present history and Tarawera area.
So thanks once again.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
watertaxiRotorua, Owner at Lake Tarawera Water Taxi & Eco Tours, responded to this review, October 31, 2012
Thanks for you kind comments and for bringing your friends along to see and experience the splendour of what we have at Lake Tarawera. You guys were great.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lake Tarawera Water Taxi & Eco Tours also viewed

 
Rotorua, Rotorua District
Rotorua, Rotorua District
 

Been to Lake Tarawera Water Taxi & Eco Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lake Tarawera Water Taxi & Eco Tours, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.