We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Something Different” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Buried Village of Te Wairoa

Buried Village of Te Wairoa
1180 Tarawera Road, Lake Tarawera 3076, New Zealand
+64 7-362 8287
Website
Improve this listing
Book ahead on Viator
Small Group
$199*
and up
Rotorua Eco Thermal Small Group Full-Day Tour
Type: Historic Sites, History Museums, Cultural
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Owner description: Experience New Zealand's most visited archaeological site where stories of the 1886 Mt Tarawera Eruption come to life! Violent and unexpected, the volcanic eruption was one of New Zealand's greatest natural disasters burying the peaceful village of Te Wairoa and ending more than 150 lives. Today at the Buried Village encounter the world class Museum of Te Wairoa, explore the Archaeological Site which once housed the people of Te Wairoa, experience the unique insights of stories from our tour guides, and take the Waterfall Trail which showcases the stunning Wairere Falls.
Flinders Island, Australia
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
24 attraction reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Something Different”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2014

We really enjoyed our visit to this "Ye olde worlde" attraction.
The display recreating the volcanic catastrophe of 1886 was very well done.
We enjoyed Annette's guided tour providing a great insight into Maori culture and the fate of the village after the eruption. The walk along the waterfall and river was most enjoyable.

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pam M, Public Relations Manager at Buried Village of Te Wairoa, responded to this review, March 2, 2014
Thanks for such a positive review. Buried Village aims to provide the history of the Mt Tarawera Eruption story. That is very good news for Annette I shall pass this on. We value our guides as they provide such great insight in stories of before, during, and after the eruption. The Waterfall Trail is one of Buried Villages highlights and glad you could experience it.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

466 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    208
    171
    65
    15
    7
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chester, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Very interesting visit”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2014

Very good tour guide Lyn Williams who enhanced the whole experience . She was very knowledgeable about the village, events and Maori culture. Really enjoyed the visit, highly recommended

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pam M, Public Relations Manager at Buried Village of Te Wairoa, responded to this review, March 2, 2014
Oh what great news for Lyn, I will pass this on as she will be very pleased! The Buried Village of Te Wairoa is such as sacred place and it is great to we can share this experience with you. Thanks very much for the five star review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clutton
Top Contributor
138 reviews 138 reviews
67 attraction reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
“Well presented”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2014

After the geothermals everything seems a bit quiet but this was very good as a follow on having understood something of the volcanoes in the area.

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pam M, Public Relations Manager at Buried Village of Te Wairoa, responded to this review, February 27, 2014
Thank you for your time in responding! Yes we are not a geothermal attraction! However we link in very well with telling the story of the Mount Tarawera Eruption in 1886. Our Tarawera Legacy packages offers the full story including visits to the Rotorua Museum, Whakarewarewa Village, and the Buried Village of Te Wairoa. In this moving story of strength, courage and resilience you will encounter legendary Tuhourangi ancestors, discover their warm culture and traditions, and become part of the dramatic event that changed the course of history for the Rotorua region.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guildford, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“insight into the geological dramas NZ has suffered”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2014

Decided to do this on the spur of the moment and was very pleased with the experience. Good walk around the remains of the village and lots of information on what happened there. Well worth the visit.

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pam M, Public Relations Manager at Buried Village of Te Wairoa, responded to this review, February 24, 2014
Thanks for your time in responding it is always a pleasure getting positive feedback. The Buried Village of Te Wairoa is always a good way of filling up a morning or afternoon. Such a tragedy took place here but we are glad we can share one of New Zealand's greatest natural disasters with the world!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
16 attraction reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Great Scenery”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2014

This place has an interesting story and some interesting artifacts. Although I think the real attraction here should be the scenery. There is a beautiful walk along a running stream and a wonderful view from a lookout.

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pam M, Public Relations Manager at Buried Village of Te Wairoa, responded to this review, February 24, 2014
Thanks for the great review. Our aim for Buried Village is to make the stories of the 1886 Tarawera Eruption come to life and glad this happened for you! The nature trail is one of spectacular features of the Buried Village that should be voiced to the world! Many people who visit the Buried Village believe it is just the archaeologist site; however, there is so many more aspects we offer!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Buried Village of Te Wairoa also viewed

 

Been to Buried Village of Te Wairoa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Buried Village of Te Wairoa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.