We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Everything we Wanted” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Chambres d'Hotes de charme La Galerie

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Chambres d'Hotes de charme La Galerie to your Saves list
Chambres d'Hotes de charme La Galerie
route de Lherm, 46150 Catus, France   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 2 Catus B&B and Inns
Sunderlnd
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Everything we Wanted”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013

We stayed at La Galerie for a week at the beginning of August. We were allocated a bedroom near to the pool which was beautifully furnished and sparklingly clean. With a kettle, lovely bathroom and Sky freeview channels we were set fair.
Breakfast is a treat. The hosts, Rod and Sandra provide as much home made produce as they can, including the croissants, bread and jam. I don't think they grow the tea or make their own cheese, but who knows
The pool is fantastic and maintained daily by Rod, the owner. It is furnished with two types of sunbeds and pool towels are provided in the bedrooms. The gardens are very well kept stocked with a variety of flora and fauna including birds and wildlife such as deer and wild boar.
Close to the property are several very good restaurants, including the outstanding "Le Gindreau" in nearby St Medard. Not cheap, but worth treating yourself.
Altogether a very good holiday and a smashing place to stay!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

103 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    67
    23
    0
    5
    8
See reviews for
15
71
3
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Ekeren, Belgium
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2013

a very enjoyable, and restful 3 days stay in these beautiful surroundings, with very amiable and hospitable owners. Everything, from the beautiful room, en-suite bathroom, dining area was just perfect. The swim in the beautiful pool, a deer that appeared in the garden during breakfast.......What more can I add to all the excellent reviews LA GALERIE receives ????? There was helpful information on the LOT area, good tips for restaurants and help with reservations was very much appreciated by us. La Galerie is the obvious choice for a stay in this area. Thank you Sandra and Rod for a very, very enjoyable experience.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2013

I have no hesitation in recommending La Galerie. The property is a delight, attractively gardened and has a very appealing pool. Our rooms and bathrooms were lovely, and the friendly hospitality of the owners a joy. Breakfast was good too, with the inclusion of boiled eggs, and home baked croissants. It appeared that nothing was too much trouble for our hosts, and hope one day to return.

Lyn Cooper, Qld, Australia

Room Tip: We enjoyed the room closest to the pool, which was very private.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Catus, Midi-Pyrenees, France
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013

We stayed at La Galerie several times while looking to buy a house in the beautiful village of Catus. Our stay could not have been more comfortable. I am always slightly concerned about "country" hotels/chambres d'hotes. I had no need to worry about this abode: the rooms are spotlessly clean with sun-aired and ironed linen. Everything smelt of pure air and spring flowers. Absolutely wonderful. Sandra and Rod are first class hosts with equally top class knowledge of the local area: beauty spots, viewing points and restaurants. They booked several restaurants for us while we stayed with them and because of their personal contact with the restaurant proprietors I am sure we were given preferential service, or that's how it seemed. In addition to all of this Rod bakes the breakfast croissants and bread on the premises - the scent of fresh baked bread as we entered the salon for breakfast was unbelievable. House rules are minimal and merely request manners and respect for fellow guests ensuring a fantastically peaceful and restoring stay in this secretly wonderful part of France. Do book - you're missing something very special if you don't.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Settle
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012

We had a great week based at La Galerie. Never been to the Lot before but fell totally for its charm. We went to breakfast with a plan for the day but usually left with some alteration following really helpful [but totally unobtrusive] chats with Rod about routes, villages, viewpoints. Great breakfast with fruits from their garden and the bedding and towels changed every other day. Usually came back at 5-ish to a wonderful pool before an evening stroll and food on a nearby hilltop or riverside. You have your own front door and outside table to snack on and use of a small kitchen to prepare a picnic and use of fridge [no cooking] as well as the gardens and pool.
We didn't 'do the Dordogne' but this is a great centre for both valleys.
We came away totally relaxed and having to return - loved it. Thank you Sandra - Rod and you have high standards in all aspects of hosting and provision.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2012

We recently stayed at the La Galerie in Catus for two nights. It is well situated with easy access to the places of interest in the Lot. Its grounds are vast and the front garden is very pretty. The rooms are very clean and comfortable with access to wi fi and being on the ground floor meant we did not have to carry our suitcases up the stairs. Sandra and Rod Jackman were extremely hospitable and looked after us very well. We had two excellent meals in the local restaurant and at the Michelin starred La Gindreau in the next village. Highly recommended for a short or longer stay. ChanB

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2012

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at La Galerie, Sandra & Rod are great hosts and very knowledgeable on the spectacular points of beauty & interest and restaurants to see. Our room was very comfy, clean and cool as well as very pretty, surrounded by grape vines. Pool is fab and well looked after. We recommend La Galerie.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Chambres d'Hotes de charme La Galerie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chambres d'Hotes de charme La Galerie

Address: route de Lherm, 46150 Catus, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Midi-Pyrenees > Lot > Catus
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Catus
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
La Galerie, luxury chambres d'hotes situated in the south of France, stylish en-suite bedrooms with satellite TVs, Wi-Fi and heated swimming pool. In two hectares of landscaped, flower filled gardens in quiet, peaceful countryside 1 km from the pretty village of Catus. Numerous outstanding restaurants nearby to sample and enjoy the local wines and gastronomic delights of the region. There are many beautiful villages, chateaux and historic sites near-by. We would be delighted to welcome you to our home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Chambres d'Hotes de charme La Galerie reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chambres D'Hotes De Charme La Galerie France/Catus

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Chambres d'Hotes de charme La Galerie, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.