We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It was a great stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Chambres d'Hotes de charme La Galerie

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Chambres d'Hotes de charme La Galerie to your Saves list
Chambres d'Hotes de charme La Galerie
route de Lherm, 46150 Catus, France   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 2 Catus B&B and Inns
Heerenveen, The Netherlands
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“It was a great stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2011

We arrived on a Sunday and Rodd welcomed us. Normally his wife Sandra does these kind of things. Unfortunately she was not there but Rodd was great. Informed us about all kinds of things. Gave us a nice bothle of rosé. The room was very nice. Clean, nice decorated, the beds wer good! We enjoyed our stay a lot. Rodd was good for his guest. We hope they are both well and we will come back to Catus.

Stefan and Desirée, Heerenveen

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

103 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    67
    23
    0
    5
    8
See reviews for
15
71
3
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Whitley Bay, United Kingdom
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2011

Rod and Sandra were very helpful and friendly throughout our visit of eight days. They provided a quiet and restful atmosphere and were always ready with helpful advice to enable us to get the most out of our visit.
The room was spacious, spotless and comfortable with high quality fittings which were well maintained. The pansies and wisteria that framed the view from our window of the immaculate grounds was a special treat.
Ideally located near Catus and the Lot Valley the area is renown for the Malbec grape which makes the black wine of Cahors.
The heated outdoor pool was well used in spite of the season; kept under a cover which Rob removed each day to reveal sparkling warm water.
The excellent breakfast is taken in a room surrounded by interesting paintings and artwork from which La Galarie takes it's name.

Room Tip: The room on the end with the view of the grounds.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South of Engalnd
2 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2011

We have just returned from France having stayed several days at La Galerie. We last stayed there in 2008 and we wondered whether it would live up to our expectations once again. We were not disappointed. We had a very relaxing and peaceful visit. Rod and Sandra made us feel extremely welcome. the quality of accommodation is very high and the grounds are lovely. And the sun shone! This is a delightful part of France and La Galerie adds to the enjoyment.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vremde
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2010

Our hosts were wonderful, charming people, who had put and still did, their heart and soul in their bed&breakfast. You could tell by the way everything was taking care of. Our room with bathroom was very nice and always clean, same thing for the pool and the garden. You could ask just anything, they were very helpful in giving information about the region, choosing a fine restaurant and even making the reservation.
If there is one little remark, we stayed for 2 weeks and it would have been nice if there was a bit more variation in the breakfast. It was very tasteful but there was always the same bread, the same eggs and fruit. The coffee was excellent!
A very good location to explore the region and the hosts give their honest opinion in what's worth to see. We've recommended this address to many people. We had a splendid stay with a warmful welcome.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belcarra B.C.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2010

We stayed with Sandra and Rod for a short stay after finding them on the web . The accomodations were all we asked for . Clean , modern , and very quiet so we had a good relax and a great breakfast each day . They even arranged an evening meal at a close restaurant nearby and gave us directions to make sure we found it easily . My GPS probably would have struggled . They also arranged another evening wehre they were hosts , cook/sous chef , server , Storyteller , comedians - it was memorable . The only problem was - we eventually had to leave for the remainder of our holiday . Would we go back for another stay - ABSOLUTELY !!! the price was also very acceptable . The only prickly point - it was too cool for me to try the great looking swimming pool .

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2010

We arrived at La Galerie in mid May and were greeted warmly by Sandra and Rod. What a plus to find an English speaking couple in such a remote corner of France. They immediately made us feel welcome and answered the many burning questions which needed answering after only a few days of travelling in France.
La Galerie is set in a pretty garden which immediately attracted my attention. The accomodation is charming and of country style. My husband was pleased to find plenty of room for parking our car which cannot be said of many places in France.
Our bedroom and bathroom were decorated in pretty fabrics and were spotlessly clean. Sandra efficiently cleaned our bathroom each morning while we were having breakfast which made the room a pleasure to return to while freshening up for our days activities.
Breakfast was served in a charming dining room which overlooked the pretty garden. We were treated to juice, cereals, cheeses, cold meats, fresh fruit and tea and coffee. It was delightfully set out and very tasty.
Sandra and Rod were most obliging recommending places of interest we might like to visit and different restaurants we might like to try. They also supplied maps and pamphlets for us to read which were convenielntly located in our room.
La Galerie is situated on the outskirts of Catus which is a tiny but very French village in the Department of the Lot. Catus seems to have one or more of every type of store you require including a market which is frequented by travelling locals selling their produce.
Catus itself, is well located for driving to various points of interest. We visited many of the beautiful and extremely old local villages including the amazing cliff top ones of Saint Cirq Lapopie and Rocamadour. It is also within a short drive to Cahors which is the main city of the department. Cahors has an amazing bridge which is well photographed. We drove to nearby Pech Merle which is the site of fascinating ancient cave paintings dating back to prehistoric times.
I particularly enjoyed sampling the local French cuisine, even the famous fois gras and now understand the importance of so many courses!
Our stay of four nights at La Galerie offered us the real French experience we had been seeking and the beauty of the Department of the Lot has to be seen to be truely appreciated.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2010

I was in Cahors on business. Never did I expect my lodging to be so magical! I loved sitting at the "ice cream parlor" table and chairs under a thick fringe of wisteria writing my postcards and letters each morning while the sun climbed up over the rooftop. The grounds were such a treat. Fish pond, flower beds! I had a great chat one morning about growing garlic and strawberries with the innkeeper as he explained that day's gardening tasks. The room was comfortable and lovely; my stay warm and welcoming.
Although I was doing business in the town of Cahors, which was a bit of a drive, I wouldn't have traded a city hotel for this lovely spot of heaven at all. What a wonderful place! A true sanctuary!

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Chambres d'Hotes de charme La Galerie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chambres d'Hotes de charme La Galerie

Address: route de Lherm, 46150 Catus, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Midi-Pyrenees > Lot > Catus
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Catus
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
La Galerie, luxury chambres d'hotes situated in the south of France, stylish en-suite bedrooms with satellite TVs, Wi-Fi and heated swimming pool. In two hectares of landscaped, flower filled gardens in quiet, peaceful countryside 1 km from the pretty village of Catus. Numerous outstanding restaurants nearby to sample and enjoy the local wines and gastronomic delights of the region. There are many beautiful villages, chateaux and historic sites near-by. We would be delighted to welcome you to our home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Chambres d'Hotes de charme La Galerie reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chambres D'Hotes De Charme La Galerie France/Catus

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Chambres d'Hotes de charme La Galerie, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.